We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road) to your Saves list
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Daichengqiao Road, Canglang District, Suzhou 215006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 1,021 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta Georgia area
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had a three day stay in late May 2014. This is a very good hotel, with a good location for tourists. The rooms are large, non-smoking rooms are available, each room has daily complimentary 2 bottles of water and fresh fruit, the air conditioner works well. The front desk, concierge, bartenders, most of the restaurant employees speak English. The wifi was fairly slow, but did always work.

You have good security, with gate guards and someone always on the door. Directly out from one of the gates is a trinket street where one can buy low cost novelty items (for Americans, bid about 10% of the opening bid). One block over are many international bars, jade stores, and art stores. A downside for those with children is the many prostitute bars that open around 10 pm, located within a few blocks of the hotel.

I had the breakfast buffet, mostly Chinese dishes with a few western choices (bacon, fried eggs, toast, yogurt, etc.). I was unable to use the restaurant at night, as it was rented for weddings.
My Chinese friends said the restaurant had good Suzhou style food. The bar was well stocked with reasonable hotel prices (30 RMB for Heineken).

Over the years, I have stayed in about 15 Chinese hotels. This one was in the top 2 or 3. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    111
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
52
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

In the heart of the city, is this newly renovated hotel. It has a tranquil atmosphere and is a typical upscale Chinese hotel.
Really nice rooms with a big bathroom and all you need. WI-FI in every room as well.
I really enjoyed the stay and would choose the hotel again if I want to live in the city center.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Luxurious,impeccable hotel , good food, good service what more can you want?

Oh yes it was not expensive either - when they heard we were considering another week they gave us corporate rates just as good as Agoda.
The pool is fantastic, the gym , basic and the grounds are wonderful .
Thank You Roman

Room Tip: We asked for a non smoking room after the first night and got it as there is a non smoking wing . Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A delightful oasis in midst of a bustling city located in an attractive garden with eight historic villas.
Extremely generous and comfortable room, absolutely the best mattress encountered in many many trips and surprisingly quiet once room door shut.
Staff were most helpful (sufficient English to assist) and the location was superb, just across the road from Master of the Nets Garden and a 10-15 minute walk to canalside old street and pedestrian mall.
Breakfast buffet was reasonably extensive and provided more than sufficient for western tastes.
In the immediate vicinity were many small shops, restaurants, bars and tea/coffee places.
We would certainly return here.

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor of Villa 8 which was superbly quiet even if slightly further away from rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We chose it as the hotel's website mentioned its garden and proximity to the master of the nets garden. We were favorably impressed with all the faculty offered, the nice room and good bed compared to the chain hotels in China, the breakfast buffet and it's fat den. Several good restaurants are in the neighborhood, e.g Water Paradise and Bistronomy. The hotel is quiet, the desk staff and bellman are friendly and many are English speakers ( a special shoutout to Bruce who welcomed us on our first day). The downside is the hotel is that it's a good distance from the Garden of the Humble Adminstrator, but taxis are plentiful. Just be sure to get the destination addresses written for you in Chinese to make it easy for you to travel around, just as you should do in any Chinese city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, the Garden Hotel is centrally located on very nice grounds, and the staff - especially the concierge Roman - was extremely courteous and helpful.

However, be aware, the beds are incredibly hard for an ostensible 5 star hotel. At the risk of being "that reviewer" who gives a negative review based on a small complaint, the bed was so hard (and the "non-smoking" room still smelling very much like cigarette smoke) that 2 stars seems appropriate, if only as a warning for potential western/American guests to temper their expectations.

The rooms are large and clean, and we had a few great days exploring Suzhou with the Garden Hotel as our base. However, those benefits were far outweighed by the fact that we were essentially unable to sleep because the bed was so hard. When we tried to ask if there were rooms with a softer mattress, language barriers created a series of fairly hilarious exchanges that ultimately resulted in our coming to understand that ALL of the beds in the hotel are just as hard. The staff provided some extra blankets that we put underneath us, which helped, but only sort of.

Also, while the room was nice, it was non-smoking only in the formal sense - ie, it had a no-smoking sign on the door and my wife and I weren't smoking while we were in it. It smelled as if the last several occupants had not been informed about the room's non-smoking status. The room was clean, but it wasn't new or particularly nice, especially for a hotel holding itself out as a 5-star hotel.

Thus - in sum, there are definite positive attributes (especially the location and very courteous staff), but western visitors should be aware that the beds are rock hard and the place has a kind of slightly used feel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hotel is well located close to downtown and very near to few gardens. Rooms are very good, spacious and comfy. Very courteous staff, good range of food.

Though the hotel is rated 5 star, am not sure if the facilities inside are at that level. But nothing to complain either. Good one for a couple of nights stay for a family.

Just be aware that English speaking staff are very less.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)

Address: No.99 Daichengqiao Road, Canglang District, Suzhou 215006, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Suzhou
#9 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#14 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#34 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road) 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Suzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.