We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crowne Plaza experience, ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.168 Xinggang Street, Suzhou 215021, China (Formerly New Suzhou International Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 1,021 Hotels in Suzhou
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Crowne Plaza experience, ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on business. Spacious and beautiful room, extremely polite staff who are willing to help you out. House keeping was excellent too. I was working in the room one day, and did not want to be disturbed. When I went out for lunch for about an hour and a half, I pushed the "please make room" button, and when I returned, the room was cleaned. WiFi worked perfectly (I rely heavily on internet access for work) and was stressless, and what's better, it's free. I did struggle a bit communicating with a waitress at the bar, but the next day she remembered me and asked me if I wanted what I ordered the night before. I will definitely stay here again for my next visit, business or leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a comprehensive review. You have covered many aspects of your stay and we are especially appreciative about your comments about the room, staff and internet. Your satisfaction is our best reward.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Suzhou in the near future. Thanks again for your recommendation and kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    147
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
34
18
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just for one night on a business trip!
It was one of my best hotel experiences ever!
Arrived at the pick of the rush hour (5:30 pm) and there was too many people waiting to be checked in and the receptionist were extremely busy, the bell boy took care of my stuff and found an available agent for me, someone also brought me a cup of fresh tea... The receptionist was very polite and apologized for the wait, and I got upgraded to a presidential suit on the 8th floor, the room was a two story suit with everything needed for a comfortable stay, Nespresso machine, a ground desk, two 42" flat screen Tv, a sound system , a super comfy bed and a full service bathroom .... And spotlessly clean.
I received fruits and a voucher for soft drink, I got a fast Internet with help of the same reception agent who was very knowledgable and helpful, everybody had very good level of English.
I had international buffet for dinner and breakfast which both were great.
The room was very quiet and I had a pleasant sleep.
The check out was super efficient and surprisingly with the same person I checked in with!
I would stay again if an opportunity raises.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a comprehensive review. We are glad to read that you are satisfied with all aspects of your overall experience from check-in till check-out. Your satisfaction is our best reward. We will spare no effort to provide you with the best of our service and live up to your expectation.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Suzhou in the near future. Thanks again for your wonderful and kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is always my first choice of accomodation when visiting Suzhou and would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting this city for business or leisure . Excellent standards of hospitality from all members of staff from check in to check out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. We are especially appreciative about your recommendation. We will strive to provide you with the best of our service and remain your first choice of accommodation in Suzhou.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Suzhou in the near future. Thanks again for your wonderful and kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

First time to stay in Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou. It was really nice hotel which I had ever seen.
Especially the good serivce of Club Lounge. All the staff there were super friendly and helpful.
Thank you to create a memorable holiday for me. Now this CP will my first choice if i visit Suzhou again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed the stay with us. We are especially appreciative about your kind words of praise on our Club Lounge and staff. We will strive to provide you the best of our service and remain your first choice in Suzhou.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Suzhou in the near future. Thanks again for your wonderful words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I spend an extensive amount of time travelling on business and Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou is a home away from home for me. I appreciate how the hotel staff make my stay comfortable and pleasant. The Club lounge and lobby lounge are great places to chill and chat with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake have excellent views
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the stay, which has been highlighted by the staff, Club Lounge and Lobby Lounge. We will spare no efforts to remain your home away from home and ensure your every stay to be comfortable and pleasant.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Suzhou in the near future. Thanks again for your kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is located in Suzhou on a very nice lake, actually the hotel location is very nice and good for seeing Suzhou, I would certainly recommend it for any business/holiday stay.

The rates are also very reasonable for the quality of the hotel, but the hotel could improve in the following way -

* Checked in as Royal Ambassador Member and given a room facing the freeway, also the beds are so short, only about 6ft long total, so if you are tall expect to sleep with your feet hanging over the bed

* Club Lounge is nice, but during the cocktail hour they have no food! They ran out of food around 630pm, after an hour or so but the cocktail hour is supposed to run until 8pm, when asked if more food was coming they replied the chef is busy and we are not sure, the lounge is busy tonight, but honestly it is now 7pm as I write this review and there are 7 people in the lounge that would hold perhaps 50-75 people comfortably.

So overall the hotel is nice, rooms are nice if you get a room facing the water, but the beds are small, the service in the hotel is a little ma ma hu hu (not so great in chinese), especially the club lounge which has very limited or no food left, all the trays are empty with over one hour of cocktail service remaining.

The hotel has nice pool/gym facilities, nice places to eat in the lobby, a nice bar, etc. I certainly would recommend it, just be aware of the room bed size, the room location facing a busy highway and the club lounge with no food! How much is food in China really? Just fill up the trays with food, they have chicken wings but when they delivered them they had like 6 wings on a big tray hahah they lasted like 30 seconds.

Room Tip: Room facing the water, the view of the road is terrible, the water facing rooms have a nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. It is through continuous feedbacks that we are able to objectively review the facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet our guests' expectations.

Thank you for your recommendation and recognition of our pool, gym, lobby and bar. We also greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring the room and Club Lounge matters to our attention. Mr. Dekker Zhang, our Assistant Director of Rooms hopes to get in touch with you personally. Could you please send an email to dekker.zhang@ihg.com? We will target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

It is my favorite hotels I have stayed in during my travels in the US or Abroad. The hotel staff is very courteous and very helpful. The Crowne Plaza Club Lounge is the best place to hang out and relax and enough some friendly conversation with the Staff. The service by the Club Staff is the best I have encountered. They remember all the guests names and what they like to eat and drink. If you come to Suzhou you have to stay here. Best hotel on Suzhou.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Suzhou and taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the stay with us. We are especially appreciative about your kind words of praise on our Club Lounge and staff. We will strive to provide you the best of our service and remain your favorite hotel.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Suzhou in the near future. Thanks again for your wonderful words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Address: No.168 Xinggang Street, Suzhou 215021, China (Formerly New Suzhou International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#1 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#2 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#39 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 25 minutes by Shanghai-Nanjing Intercity Railway from bustling Shanghai, Crowne Plaza Suzhou ideally located in the Suzhou Industrial Park and set against the scenic backdrop of beautiful Jinji Lake. 10 minutes away from city center and minutes away from the Expo center, Suzhou Science and Arts Center and walking distance from Li Gongdi, Rainbow Walker, Times Square entertainment and shopping areas. Crowne Plaza Suzhou has a choice of 344 spacious and tastefully furnished guest rooms and each room overlook both the lake and gardens. For a diverse and dramatic world of dining experience and take a culinary adventure to from 6 stylish restaurants, bars and lounges with hotel s acclaimed cuisines and personalized service. 12 multi-function meeting rooms and a 1066 SQM pillar-less Crowne Ballroom with 800 SQM pre-function area are designed to seat from as few as 10 to as many as 1,000 guest in a variety of Configurations. We ve put together a comprehensive range of products and services called Meeting Success. Hotel offers an arrange of recreation, from the state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, Tea Tree Spa and marina, guaranteed to leave you relaxed and recharged for your next working day. You'll agree that in the storied city of Suzhou, The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza Suzhou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.