We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax by the Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.168 Xinggang Street, Suzhou 215021, China (Formerly New Suzhou International Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 1,021 Hotels in Suzhou
Shanghai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relax by the Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is beside Jinji Lake in SIP and within walking distance of several restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are bars and live music in the evenings. Interent access seemed quick and smooth. There is 1 indoor (25m) & 1 outdoor pool and a gym.

Good decor and the rooms are well equipped. Nice big shower heads to relax under a hot shower after a days work. The bar in the atrium area is spacious and comfortable for work, emails and informal meetings. They have large function faciltities if you need them.

From here you can jog or walk around the park area of Jinji Lake at your leisure. You could walk to Li Gong Di but in summer it is a bit hot for that.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side are quiet, the glazing is quite good, if you get a room on the lake side the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as you are important to us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and impressed by our staff, rooms, bars, Fitness Center and function facilities. Your satisfaction is our best reward.

Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a cruise-themed hotel set against the fascinating Jinji Lake. The hotel is uniquely designed to bring a different experience to all the guests. Ideally located in Suzhou Industrial Park, it only takes 8 minutes to get to the nearest railway station by car and 25 minutes to arrive in Shanghai by the express train. With the new subway, it’s easy to reach the other end of the city within 30 minutes. With a variety of dining offerings, well-equipped facilities and dedicated services, we spare no effort to ensure that we are The Place To Meet in the storied city of Suzhou.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    147
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
34
18
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eemnes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a great place to stay!!! The entrance is sensational, the restaurant excellent and the rooms perfect. I stayed here for for 2 nights and really enjoyed the hotel in every way. Unfortunately the bar closes a little bit early but overall this was one of the best hotels I ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as you are important to us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and impressed by our entrance, room and restaurant. Your satisfaction is our best reward.

Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a cruise-themed hotel set against the fascinating Jinji Lake. The hotel is uniquely designed to bring a different experience to all the guests. Ideally located in Suzhou Industrial Park, it only takes 8 minutes to get to the nearest railway station by car and 25 minutes to arrive in Shanghai by the express train. With the new subway, it’s easy to reach the other end of the city within 30 minutes. With a variety of dining offerings, well-equipped facilities and dedicated services, we spare no effort to ensure that we are The Place To Meet in the storied city of Suzhou.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the hotel. My room was really nice, spacious with a nice sized bathroom. There was double sink and stand alone bath. The bed was comfortable and there was a pillow menu to order different pillow if you needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a good selection at breakfast, which a nice view of the lake and outdoor swimming pool.
I would stay at the hotel again and recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as you are important to us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the stay with us and impressed by our room, staff and restaurant. Your satisfaction is our best reward.

Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a cruise-themed hotel set against the fascinating Jinji Lake. The hotel is uniquely designed to bring a different experience to all the guests. Ideally located in Suzhou Industrial Park, it only takes 8 minutes to get to the nearest railway station by car and 25 minutes to arrive in Shanghai by the express train. With the new subway, it’s easy to reach the other end of the city within 30 minutes. With a variety of dining offerings, well-equipped facilities and dedicated services, we spare no effort to ensure that we are The Place To Meet in the storied city of Suzhou.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days with 3 work colleagues June 2012. Excellent facilities and rooms. Good location for Western style bars and restaurants near the lake. Only a short walk from the main tourist area on the lake with laser light shows and entertainment every weekend. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely be staying again.
Do take a taxi to Suzhou downtown and the old town area in the evening for a cultural experience.
One word of warning, there are some bar/club areas accessible through the hotel which are not part of the ICG group (privately run) and as such are not under the control of the hotel staff. We were charged 2800 rmb (approx. £280) for drinks and an hour in one of the karaoke rooms downstairs and when we complained to the hotel management at the way we had been treated they said there was nothing they could do, so be careful.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as you are important to us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the stay with us and especially impressed by our facilities, rooms, restaurants and bars. Your satisfaction is our best reward. We also greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring the karaoke room issue to our attention. Though they are not managed by the Hotel, we have informed their management of your complaint and suggested them to review their pricing.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel which has a nautical theme as it is next to the lake. The hotel itself is shaped like a boat is an excellent "theme" and makes you feel like you are on a ship rather than on land. Rooms are good, would recommend a lake view room as not much to see from the other side.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Your satisfaction is our best reward.

Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a cruise-themed hotel set against the fascinating Jinji Lake. The hotel is uniquely designed to bring a different experience to all the guests. Ideally located in Suzhou Industrial Park, it only takes 8 minutes to get to the nearest railway station by car and 25 minutes to arrive in Shanghai by the express train. With the new subway, it’s easy to reach the other end of the city within 30 minutes.

With a variety of dining offerings, well-equipped facilities and dedicated services, we spare no effort to ensure that we are The Place To Meet in the storied city of Suzhou.

Thank you again for your feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable sleep in a very clean hotel with friendly staff, than look no farther. The Crowne Plaza will amaze you with the interior decor. The outside / inside is shaped like a cruise ship; it is right beside the lake.

Only complaint is the restaurant, they have a buffet, just like all of the other hotels. But the quality of the food is not that good. A nice “sit down menu” restaurant would help push this place to the top and stay at the top in Suzhou

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive from our guests as you are important to us.

We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed the stay with us and especially impressed by our staff, interior décor, themed design and the beautiful Jinji Lake. We also greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring the buffet issue to our attention. Our Chef and Food and Beverage Manager have been informed to target problem area and we expect improvement soon.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I switched to stay at this hotel 3 years ago and decided to come back for every of my trips back to Suzhou. This hotel is filled with friendly staff who paid attention to every detail. Just an example, I filled up a particular form 2 years ago and for the past 24 months, the 'special pillow' that I have indicated as my preference is always on my bed when I checked in and this makes me feel that I am sleeping at home for the average 35 nights I spent in this hotel every year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good except for those facing the hotel entrance as it could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah L, Hotel Management at Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are glad to know that you have stayed with us since 3 years ago and have a pleasant stay experience, especially for the “special pillow “service. Your satisfaction is our best reward.

Crowne Plaza Suzhou is a cruise-themed hotel set against the fascinating Jinji Lake. The hotel is uniquely designed to bring a different experience to all the guests. Ideally located in Suzhou Industrial Park, it only takes 8 minutes to get to the nearest railway station by car and 25 minutes to arrive in Shanghai by the express train. With the new subway, it’s easy to reach the other end of the city within 30 minutes.

With a variety of dining offerings, well-equipped facilities and dedicated services, we spare no effort to ensure that we are The Place To Meet in the storied city of Suzhou.

Thank you again for your feedback and support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to spend every night in Crowne Plaza Suzhou in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou

Address: No.168 Xinggang Street, Suzhou 215021, China (Formerly New Suzhou International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#1 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#2 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#38 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 25 minutes by Shanghai-Nanjing Intercity Railway from bustling Shanghai, Crowne Plaza Suzhou ideally located in the Suzhou Industrial Park and set against the scenic backdrop of beautiful Jinji Lake. 10 minutes away from city center and minutes away from the Expo center, Suzhou Science and Arts Center and walking distance from Li Gongdi, Rainbow Walker, Times Square entertainment and shopping areas. Crowne Plaza Suzhou has a choice of 344 spacious and tastefully furnished guest rooms and each room overlook both the lake and gardens. For a diverse and dramatic world of dining experience and take a culinary adventure to from 6 stylish restaurants, bars and lounges with hotel s acclaimed cuisines and personalized service. 12 multi-function meeting rooms and a 1066 SQM pillar-less Crowne Ballroom with 800 SQM pre-function area are designed to seat from as few as 10 to as many as 1,000 guest in a variety of Configurations. We ve put together a comprehensive range of products and services called Meeting Success. Hotel offers an arrange of recreation, from the state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, Tea Tree Spa and marina, guaranteed to leave you relaxed and recharged for your next working day. You'll agree that in the storied city of Suzhou, The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza Suzhou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.