We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller but also good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liu Lingering Garden

Liu Lingering Garden
No.338 Liuyuan Road, Jinchang District, Suzhou 215004, China
0512-65517340,0512-65579466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 200 attractions in Suzhou
Type: Gardens, National Parks
Attraction Details
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Smaller but also good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Smaller than the Humble Garden. But it has everything a Chinese garden needs. Worth to see and make comparison~

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    90
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shore, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Visiting again after 20+ years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of beautiful gardens I ever visited. Years ago when I visited there, I was touched by simplicities and details of the garden. The hidden message/views were embraced so well as if you were actually living there. The structure of houses and landscape are still well-maintained to this date. The differences are the role-play conducted by real musicians who are playing Chinese ancient musical instruments live. When we sit and listened to the music, we could really feel how peaceful and relaxed we are at that moment.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of my favorite spots in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I didn't know what to expect when we saw this on our itinerary but I am very grateful this place was included! It's a beautiful and peaceful garden which made for some lovely photographs. Our guide told us that Chinese gardens don't repeat themselves, so both sides of any section are completely different - which makes it unique and so lovely! A must see!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved Lingering Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lingering gardens is one of the loveliest, most peaceful gardens I've seen. The history of the place is so interesting. Around every corner was another beautiful scene. The combination of buildings, water & plants was so well designed & serene. Even though there were many people there it never felt crowded or noisy! The bonsai plants were very well kept as were all the plants & trees in the gardens. Beautiful water lilies were blooming in the water gardens. The water reflected the trees & plants so it was a delight to stand & stare, or to wander over the bridge & down the paths. We took many great photos here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Covered Walkway! Stay dry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful & well maintained. Also has a covered walkway meaning you can visit the gardens on a rainy day and still stay dry. I particularly enjoyed the range of Bonsai trees, never seen any that big! Entrance was 40Y.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liu Lingering Garden also viewed

 

Been to Liu Lingering Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liu Lingering Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Liu Lingering Garden to your Saves list