We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good blend of East and West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan Pacific Suzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pan Pacific Suzhou to your Saves list
Pan Pacific Suzhou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 259 Xinshi Road, Gusu District, Suzhou 215007, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good blend of East and West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband, daughter and I have just returned home after staying at the Pan Pacific for a short Chinese New Year break. This was our second time staying there. We feel it offers good value and has a nice balance between Western-style accommodation and Eastern style and expectation. It is true as I see other reviewers have noted that there are elements that could be improved - some of the carpets are showing their age and could do with replacing, for example. And yes it is a bit absurd in 2014 to not have quality wireless internet access in-room. That said, for us, it was good to have a bit of a forced 'break' from our devices, as I can't deny that we spend far too much time looking at screens, and not enough at each other.

I know some people find the sprawling layout off-putting but personally I find it rather charming, as it speaks to the vernacular of the traditional local architecture. That said, it is a little strange to have to go outside in order to reach the indoor pool area if you are staying in the Pacific Club wing, especially at this time of year - it is not pleasant to go for a swim, a relaxing spell in the hot tub and the sauna & steam room, to then have to dash outside and across back to the club wing before freezing. (I do recommend staying in the Pacific Club room however, if your budget can stretch to it, as the lounge and other amenities are really very nice.)

Overall, although I have pointed out a few negatives, we have really enjoyed our stays at the Pan Pacific and should we decide to visit Suzhou again - which is quite possible, since it such an easy getaway from Shanghai - we would likely opt to stay there again, since it is in such a convenient location, the staff is really lovely and sincerely helpful, and it is generally good value for money.

Room Tip: Opt for the Club wing if possible, or a room with a view of Panmen Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    335
    68
    7
    2
See reviews for
54
59
23
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Upon walking into the Pan-Pacific, I was expecting to be blown away by my hotel room. The lobby is elegant and beautiful, large and overwhelming. However, when I got to my hotel room, I was very disappointed. My room was on the first floor, overlooking a pond and a pagoda. The view was the best part of the room, as I was not impressed by anything else in there. It was slightly dingy - it smelled as if the room hadn't been aired out in a while. There was not adequate lighting in the room and it seemed like it was in need of a good scrub down.

The hotel layout is a bit confusing, as you have to take elevator banks in completely different areas to get to the guest rooms and lobby. The hotel is built as more of a complex than one large building. There's a great bar up on the 2nd floor of the lobby, and the pool/spa services were impressive. The dining room was very nice but the breakfast spread was not the best I'd had on my trip.

The location of the hotel was very nice - I recommend walking down the street to the Holliland Bakery and buying some of the delicious pastries there. There's also a fruit market across the street to buy some snacks for your room!

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the 1st floor, it's much colder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It is already the third time stay at the hotel, the room is comfortable and clean, service is good and value for money. The highlight of the hotel is the Garden/Resort feel while inside the city, good for family or friends gathering.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your recent hotel experience. It is our pleasure to receive your warm comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a nice surprise. We stayed there in January. Suzhou was very hazy, with major building projects underway, felt dusty and dirty. The front of the hotel is quite striking as was the lobby. The staff were good and spoke reasonable English. We had a room tucked away in one of the outer wings so we had no neighbours. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. As with a lot of places we stayed at in China, the room still smelt of cigarette smoke along with some of the public spaces. The breakfast buffet was well supplied. Overall a pleasant stay in pleasant surroundings.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
The team in the hotel are very happy to receive your comment. We regret the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. We are working to resolve the issue to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel looks like a ancient building, all new though.
Rooms were neat and tidy.
Breakfast was included, heaps to chose from. Got a non smoking room and it didnt smell of smoke which is great.
No wifi in the rooms, lobby only which is a pain. But common in a few of the hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ye Y, Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just here for one night as part of a tour with China Tour. Our original itinerary had us at another hotel, which was in a more remote area of Suzhou. We were glad for the change, as you are more in the city here and there were local restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Hotel is undergoing some renovations, but it is truly pretty cool looking with both the modern lines and the Pagoda in the center. Lobby is on level 3 (I believe). We entered on the first floor. I do have to saw the hallways are a bit winding and it was easy to get lost trying to find our room. Joked about leaving a trail of bread crumbs to find our way back. I believe we were on the 3rd or 4th floor.

Room had a king bed. It was a bit smaller than the other hotels we stayed in. the room was quiet. View was over one of the courtyards. Bathroom was also smaller but had a nice marbled shower. Room was clean. TV was flat screen but the old style. Amenities needed some updating. Hotel in whole needed a bit of an update frankly. But it was clean.

Breakfast was included and it was a nice buffet with many choices. Again a bit of a challenge to find the breakfast area due to the way the hotel is configured.

No free WiFi in the room.....but it was free in the lobby areas.

Check out the Black Jack bar - directly across the street from the hotel. We met one of the co-owners. She was very nice and was recently married to a man from Michigan. He showed up and we chatted a bit with him. Very nice. Seems like an ex pat type of place. It was smoky though! they have a pool table and good selection of American music, plus good beer selection and prices were reasonable.

Overall, it was an OK hotel. I'd probably stay here again, but would hope they upgrade a few things.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions over the last three years and recently revisited after about a 12 month gap. It is located at the SW corner of the historic old city centre of Suzhou, close to the famous world heritage gardens and the main shopping and bar precincts.

I have always stayed in the Club section, which offers generously sized rooms which are well appointed, quiet and very comfortable, with excellent bathrooms. The pool, gym spa and grounds are all first class, and as an added bonus, the hotel has its own private door access into the beautifully landscaped park to its south, which features a lake, traditional Chinese pavilions and a pagoda.

The staff are friendly, helpful, quite young and have good English skills. The Happy Hour in the club room is a wonderful bonus.
The buffet meals are up to standard and the in-house Italian and Chinese restaurants are excellent. The breakfast in the Italian restaurant is particularly pleasant.
This is my favourite small hotel in China.

Room Tip: Always stay in the Club section at the east end of the hotel. I think there are three floors (2,3 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pan Pacific Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Suzhou

Address: No. 259 Xinshi Road, Gusu District, Suzhou 215007, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#5 Family Hotel in Suzhou
#7 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#39 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper your senses at Pan Pacific Suzhou, a private paradise in the heart of a city steeped in Chinese artistry, culture and tradition.Indulge in the culture of this quaint charming city at a sanctuary that fuses the artistry of local architecture with contemporary luxury. Pan Pacific Suzhou offers modern-day conveniences, outstanding service and state-of-the-art amenities. Let us inspire your imagination and heighten your senses with a stay at our 5 star hotel.Flanked by a magnificent backdrop of traditional gardens, our luxury hotel is just a one-hour drive from Shanghai, close to Lake Taihu and Hanshan temple. Spend time exploring Suzhou, savour gourmet meals, tempt your senses at our spa, or experience enchantment in our silk boutique. Discover your own private paradise at the Pan Pacific Suzhou hotel, where tranquility reigns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pan Pacific Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Suzhou Hotel Suzhou
Sheraton Suzhou Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan Pacific Suzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.