We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food, nice selction of import beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ganesh

Ganesh
Building C3, Moon Harbor, Suzhou, China
0512-67639362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 612 Restaurants in Suzhou
3.5 of 5 stars 44 Reviews
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quality food, nice selction of import beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have eaten here couple of times this year. It's nice place, tasty and good quality food. Nothing too fancy about it and not the cheapest place around. Beer selection is a big plus. If you're looking for Indian food in this end of SIP, this is a very good choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Mediocre Indian food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We live very close by in Suzhou and decided to give this place a go. Having lived in India for several years, we have pretty high expectations for Indian food, and this just wasn't up to the level we are used to, especially for the price. You can get food that is miles above this for next to nothing in India at any hole-in-the-wall eatery.

In particular, I wasn't impressed with the speed of service or the organization here. The food took ages to arrive. The drinks came after the food, which should have taken only a few minutes to prepare and service. The naan and rice came much later on, well after our curries were on the table.

I suppose the atmosphere is nice enough being right on the lake and you can sit on the floor if you're able to get one of those tables, but if the food isn't up to the mark, everything else is irrelevant. I wouldn't return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“lamb & pumpkin curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Make the trek all the way to Ganesh if for no other reason, just to enjoy the rich, tasty, spicy lamb and pumpkin curry. Some of the best I've ever had. The service is poor. The location is lovely, sitting lakeside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zapopan, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food was lovely, specially the spiciest dishes. I heard that service is slow, but on the day I went, I didn't have to wait long for my order and the restaurant was very busy. Waiters speak English, so they are very helpful if you are clueless.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Still Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Ganesh hasn't changed a bit: still good food, slow to respond, and average prices.
Yes, the servers are a bit slow to respond but I've found this to be not uncommon in most Chinese restaurants I've visited since I've been coming here in 2004.
Food was good and on par with most Indian restaurants in the U.S.
Prices are higher when compared to Chinese or Western restaurants in Suzhou but I've found this to be a common occurrence in many Indian restaurants. I will tell you that I've made Indian dishes before and needless to say if I had an Indian restaurant I'd be wealthy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh also viewed

 
Suzhou, Jiangsu
Suzhou, Jiangsu
 

Been to Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.