We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu to your Saves list
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.60 Baita East Road, Canglang District, Suzhou 215006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 68 Reviews
new york
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

we were very happy with this hotel...lovely rooms and great breakfast..we sat out in the garden to eat... My only complaint is that there was a smell in our room...we had been upgraded to a suite...had to keep the windows and air on...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
23
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for our short trip to Suzhou. The hotel is centrally located in the old town of Suzhou so it's very convenient to walk to PingJiang Walking Streer and Humble Administrator Garden. The room was elegantly decorated, clean, and quite. The breakfast was also very good. But it'll be a bit challeging for guests who don't speak any Chinese as the front desk staff's English was quite limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although I was not able to stay at this hotel, I did enjoy very much visiting here with my local colleague for tea during my stay. A wonderful, quiet solace in the midst of the city, great for talking about research, students, and general perspectives on systems engineering. I would enjoy the opportunity to stay here at another time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Not a typical hotel for Americans but it's very good. Excellent food with very nice entertainment, Chinese singers. Close to local sights. Room was excellent. Staff is very friendly. If you want something a little different, this is it. When I'm in Suzhou, this is my hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

reading all the reviews from this site, we decided to book a room in july, which was quite expensive compared to other same class hotel in hangzhou or shanghai. or maybe i had the bad luck here. the interior of the lobby and garden was indeed beautiful, but my room was not what i expected to get with the price i paid. the carpet was very old and looks dirty and worn out. the bathroom got rusty and very small. related to location indeed very close to some big gardens like lion grove, humble administrative garden, ping jiang road, but when we need to take taxi, one to tongli and going back to train station, it was very difficult. and the hotel staff cannot help us call taxi. so we have to wait at the road side a long time (about 30 min) and even took some walk. it really depend on the coming taxi with passengers coming to pingjiang road or to the hotel. if i return, would for sure look for other hotel option

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Found this hotel on the small luxury hotel worldwide list and decided to give it a try given it's not very well-known hotel operator! The experience was excellent from the moment we arrived in hotel! First, perfect location, it's right next to several must-go places, walking distnace so you don't have to suffer the traffic! The service was also outstanding ... we arrived early and the frontdesk staff let us check in early without any issue and give us suggestions as where to go and see. The hotel garden is large for kids to run around, very nicely design! Will return next year in Spring!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to get a feel of Chinese Garden, that's the place you would have it. Staff is friendly and helpful. Walking distand to nearly tourist attractions. There is not enough parking lots, so its a bit messy to see many cars parked in the yard...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu

Address: No.60 Baita East Road, Canglang District, Suzhou 215006, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.