We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a Bar Street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shiquan Street

Shiquan Street
Canglang District, Suzhou 215000, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 199 Attractions in Suzhou
3.5 of 5 stars 20 Reviews
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“More than just a Bar Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place is famous mostly for the Bars but if you have time try visit it during the day. It is one of the ancient streets of Suzhou with stone pathways and the canal. Very good opportunity to take pictures.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“There are better walking streets to enjoy-”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If your time is limited you can skip this street. I heard it had been renovated recently but I couldn't tell. Once we were dropped off we really thought the driver had made a mistake because it was lackluster and simple.
I saw some stores that I really liked but the prices were outrageous. Not competitive with other shopping areas in Old Suzhou.
Yang Yang restaurant was the only part of the afternoon worth mentioning.
We did see many bars that might be decent at night but I likely wouldn't migrate back to the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“shopping street at day time, drinking heaven at night time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

shiquan street in the old part of suzhou is nice for shopping on day time although many shops are totally overprized.
there is a good choice of clothes for man as well as for women.
there is also a great choice of restaurants and bars.
many of this bars are so called "girlie bars" so guess what you can expect there!
most of the bars there stay open till late and offer good variety of alcoholic beverage to affordable prices. the street itself is a bit worn out and dirty but still OK to go to.
if you travel there as a couple or family check the bar before you enter....you might be disappointed because some of them are very dodgy!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old and Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the center of the old city, and there are a lot of shops and restaurants, but it feels run down, and the streets are too crowded with taxis and e-bikes. The street is dirty and there are horrible smells coming from all directions. My friends say it's China, but I've been all over China....this is bad for any country!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Shopping/Drinking street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This street is FULL of places to shop and bars with ridiculous names. I loved them.
I was there on a rainy day, so it was kind of dead. But I'm sure it picks up on nights when it's warmer and drier. The whole street seemed like it was just itching for a party to start.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiquan Street also viewed

 
Suzhou, Jiangsu
 

Been to Shiquan Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiquan Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.