We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful,Bright,comfortable and great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Soul Suzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Soul Suzhou to your Saves list
Hotel Soul Suzhou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.27-33 Qiaosikong Alley, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215005, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Vacation Package
Ranked #10 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 178 Reviews
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Colourful,Bright,comfortable and great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was recommended of this hotel and I wanted to try this out. There is a free shuttle available which needs to be booked in advance and if you are travelling via speed train then do exit via the South Square. Except for William at the Reception (during the early evening at around 3pm) who spoke English, others did not but that did not stop the excitement. The hotel is all very brightly doneup,quirky but really uplifting as this is very unconventional.The lifts are amazing as they are bright and all 3 lifts in the lobby have great interiors.One focusses on the rich cultural past with images from Xi'an terra cotta soldiers, one focusses on art and culture and the third on the dream of man to go to space and hence designed like a space shuttle. The room was very big and very comfortable, Some great books to read. The hotel is located near to some places like the GuanQian pedestrain street and attractions like Humble Administrator's garden and the Museum. William from the hotel had suggested a boat tour of the river in the evening. It was supposed to start at 7pm but it started at 7:30pm and it was a good experience with traditional Suzhou live music being played as the boat took a one hour trip on the river along some old sites.Something to try in better weather though.The staff otherwise are helpful - Special mention of Cherry from 101 Brasserie , she was very responsive to taste, preference of food and also suggested some good cuisine. I wish the hotel had some tour packages with an English guide as there is so much of history and culture to see and absorb. On Saturday there is a traditional Suzhou music during high tea and it is a great place to absorb some culture.

Room Tip: -Book the free hotel shuttle in advance -Ask for a room facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy L, Hotel Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and glad that you find the hotel location convenient.

Your comments regarding the service level of our staff and suggestions are extremely valuable. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest. We will share your praises with our team.

We are also delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our thematic décor, our facilities and activities that we were provided. Every Saturday night is “Pingtan Night” at our Chinese restaurant Ying Fook Court which is a traditional Suzhou music integrating the art of storytelling and singing. The special performance giving our guests to experience a touch of this long and rich part of Suzhou traditional history with our sophisticated dim sum under the Suzhou style garden scenery décor.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward to be of service to you again should you be visiting Suzhou in the near future.

With warm regards,

Eddy Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    72
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
58
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good thing of this hotel is it is located at the location, of which is near to the GuanQian walking street and they provide transport to and from train station.
Room given was located at a corner of 3rd floor facing the street and it's a bit noisy as can hear noise coming from the street in the morning. Corner room was very spacious but I find the lighting was a bit dim. Similarly to the toilet, although spacious, but all floor and wall tiles were in black, making the room looks darker with dim lighting. Breakfast was at average, don't expect too much for the price paid for. Overall, good location for the price paid for.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy L, Hotel Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We are pleased that you found the room is spacious and that you appreciated our convenient location and our shuttle bus service. It is grateful you shared your experience with us.

This quarter we are embarking on some new enhancements to our Lighting System to illuminate effectively. We are hopeful you will return soon to enjoy our new and remodeled areas.

With warm regards,

Eddy Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the price, this is a super hotel in the middle of the great city of Suzhou. It is just off the busy roads; the rooms are large, clean, and quiet; and the staff folks are helpful and friendly -- what more could a solo, older guy want?

I thought the "quirck-i-ness" that other reviewers mentioned is simply the Hotel Soul being fairly new and wanting to be modern and unique. It's all good.

For those reviewers who found the breakfast mediocre or wanting -- For the price of the room, I thought the breakfast was superb! (for USA people: this breakfast is WAY above the usual Hampton Inn, etc.). Eggs cooked to order, actual baked bread (hard to find in China), and plenty of other fresh, healthy food.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy L, Hotel Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We are pleased that you found the room was comfortable and spacious and that you appreciated our thematic décor, the convenient location and food that were provided.

Your comments regarding the service level of our staff are extremely valuable. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward to be of service to you again should you be visiting Suzhou in the near future.

With warm regards,

Eddy Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Location was convenient, near a pedestrian street, although the taxi driver from the railway station had difficulty finding it, although we had the hotel name and address in Chinese. The staff was very pleasant, although seemed a little inexperienced. The modern style was very appealing with interesting elevators as previously described. The room was very spacious with modern bathroom facilities and a comfortable bed. Although they offer "free shuttle transportation" to/from the hotel/railway station, in fact this is a set schedule, leaving the hotel hourly from 9:00 to 5:00 PM and the rail station at half past the hour. Although we emailed several days in advance about a pickup, the hotel never replied. When we called the day of arrival, we were told they could not pick us up at our 5:25 pm arrival. However the taxi was only 15 RMB. Overall, it was good value for the price paid despite the minor issues noted above.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy L, Hotel Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and glad that you find the hotel location convenient.

We are delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our thematic décor.

We value your feedback, we will consider to extend our shuttle transportation service time in order for continuous improvements to be carried out. It is grateful you shared your experience with us.

We hope to be given another opportunity to impress upon you to stay at Hotel Soul again should you be visiting Suzhou in the very near future.

With warm regards,


Eddy Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Hotel owned by Hong Kong owner. which practiced Hong Kong style Highway robbery hotel pricing.
They raise the hotel price dramatically if the occupation rate of the hotel is high on certain day of the week.
(this is widely practiced by hotels in Hong Kong to rip-off unsophisticated Mainland travelers). let say the advertising price of the hotel in March on their internet price is $45.
But for some reason the hotel or hotel around the area are book-up 60%, the hotel will immediate increase it price double let say ($90), if the booking rate of that day continues to be up (they called it " Tight" , " very tight!") their room will even go for $180 etc.. So in Hong Kong you want to book a room normally go for $85 per nights they will told you "Our rooms are very tight, so we will charge you $220 per nights, But the second nights we are super tight (higher occupation rate of the hotel) so we are going to charge you $330 per night, so for 5 nights it go $220 per night but the second night they charge us $330 per night, in a hotel that in a $85 per nights market.( this is my personal experience and the rooms was booked by a friend for my behalf who is a travel agent in HK with many years experience)
Hotel Soul catered to Chinese Touring Buses customer, this is their bread and butter, on the same normal day you can book the same room $45 that is if you book when their occupation rate still low, the Touring Bus customers will pay much less than you will pay (big volume booking). And if the room get "tight" on that same day, now their room rate become $180 per night which is the same price charged by Crown Plaza in Suzhou on the same day.
Hotel Soul is as best rated 3 1/2 stars in the Chinese Hotel rating scale, while Crown Plaza is a solid 5 stars hotel in town.
I noticed two large hotels located in the same area beside Soul Hotel practice this king of pricing and one of the hotel was charging $400 per night in a normal day they charge less than $45 and is a lower rating hotel than Hotel Soul.
Now you been warm!
I was told by the manager of Hotel Soul their hotel is own by Hong Kong's hotel owner.
I hope this kind of practice never will be wide spread in China.
Now in Hong Kong all hotels had this kind of pricing practice the manager read the occupation rate of all the hotels in Hong Kong daily to adjust their pricing.
I can understand if some special event in town or high-season or even weekend rate but raise room rate dramatically about your advertising room rate and have the power to coordinate the whole town hotel room rate just because they have the information today allow them to practice this kind of Robbery is very troublesome.
Can you imagine all the bakeries in your hometown monitor each other volume daily and raise the price when less bread are available. One thing for sure your town will never run out of bread because the last 10% of those bread will sale for 10 times the normal price and all they need is to sell 1% of the last 10% to made the same money and threw the 9% left over in the garbage can. That exactly how this practice are going on in Hong Kong and spreading this practice to China and many other other towns like San Fransisco in United States.

Room Tip: Book your room to this hotel as early as possible, months in advance is the best and don't even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy L, Hotel Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in sharing this feedback and glad that you find the hotel location convenient.

However, I do regret your impressions about our room rate that we did not meet your expectations.

You may be noticed that the APEC CHINA 2014 had been held in November. There was a strong travel and hospitality demand all over in China especially from 7th Nov to 12th Nov. The room rates in Suzhou surroundings were generally higher than normal days. In fact, there is a typically low season travel in Suzhou during March. It should be easily to understand the reason why the room rate was different between March and November.

We always welcome our guests to make an early bird booking to enjoy the best rate offer. If you come to Suzhou again, please contact us directly so that we can provide the appropriate package to fit your needs.

With warm regards,

Eddy Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Hotel Soul (苏州苏哥利酒店) is a great boutique hotel.

The location is good. It is about a 10 - 15 minute walk from Leqiao metro station (乐桥站). Take exit 6 from the metro station, turn left (i think so) and walk along the main road. Upon seeing Shaomozhen Alley (邵磨针巷), turn left. Walk all the straight to Ping'anfang (平安坊) and you will see Hotel Soul signboard in purple.

Love the elevators. Each elevator had a unique theme - spaceship, terracota warriors etc. The corridor was a bit dark though, probably in line with the boutique hotel concept.

The hotel room is quite a good size. The beds were soft. The rooms and bathrooms are clean too. They had cable tv channels such as HBO, National Geographic.

The day before going to the hotel, you can call the hotel to arrange for a shuttle bus pickup at the Suzhou railway station in advance. You will need to specify which railway station as Suzhou has a few railway stations. However, as the shuttle pick up is only hourly and has limited space, do call and reserve for the pick up early. The day before departure if you are heading to the railway station, also let the front desk know earlier.

Overall, Hotel Soul is good and I would probably stay here again for the next trip to Suzhou.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy L, Hotel Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We are pleased that you found the room is comfortable and spacious and that you appreciated our thematic décor, the convenient location and our shuttle bus service. It is grateful you shared your experience with us.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward to be of service to you and your friends again should you be visiting Suzhou in the near future.

With warm regards,

Eddy Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Strange, kitsch styling, especially the elevators. Clean, quiet, close to centre of Suzhou. A good buffet breakfast was included. Helpful staff who spoke good English. Soft towels & toiletries provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We are pleased to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us together with the facilities that were provided.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward to be of service to you again should you be visiting Suzhou in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Soul Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soul Suzhou

Address: No.27-33 Qiaosikong Alley, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soul Suzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Soul Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Soul Suzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.