We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel rules!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Soul Suzhou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Soul Suzhou to your Saves list
Hotel Soul Suzhou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.27-33 Qiaosikong Alley, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215 000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Amazing Package
Ranked #11 of 1,021 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This hotel rules!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is seriously awesome. We sadly only had one night but absolutely loved our deluxe room. Comfy, funky looking, spacious. Lonely Planet says this place is lacking soul, and they are WAY off the mark. Each floor has its own theme and my fiancé and I took some money photos of how the hotel and elevators were decked out. Location is good, value is brilliant. Can't imagine there is anywhere in Suzhou that is under 100 bucks and a tenth as good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    81
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
60
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located within 2 minutes from the shopping street in Suzhou. However, most taxi drivers refuse to turn into the street where the hotel is located and would choose to stop you at the main road which is about 5 minutes walk away. Service was cold and impersonal throughout our two nights stay. Nobody offered to help with the luggage and none of the staff would greet or at least smile at you whenever you return.

Room was clean and spacious and bed was big and comfortable. Amenities in the room were modern. There were little details like the fact that the toiletries were not replenished that bothered me. If you're okay with the lack of service then this hotel would be for you. Prices are reasonable for the size and location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stay there for two nights, very good location, very big room. Go out the hotel and the turn left can arrive the shopping street of Su Zhou, there are many restaurants right there. But the in room internet is quite unstable. But still recommend this one because it is easy to access any tourist attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel's location is awesome, right in the center of the town. The rooms are pretty big and clean, the bathroom is ok, altough the door was not closing at all...the thing we liked most was the bed, which is big and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet doesn't have much varieties and it's mostly chinese/asian cuisine but it was eatable;) hotel's service is good and the receptionist speaks english:)
The hotel is close to many historical places and also has a lot of restaurants nearby. If you get tired of chinese food, go to the Tex-Mex place, which is located at the entrance of the Guanqian street.
Oh and the windows in the room can not be opened...not good

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Soul Hotel is well located with clean and modern spacious rooms. The bathroom was modern and clean but lacking in finished details as well as exhibiting shoddy construction that is often so typical of Chinese hotels. For example, the faucet handles kept coming off when turned and the shower did not drain properly. However, the major problem we had with the Soul was the the absolute lack of service provided by the front desk or the concierge who did not speak even basic English.I was under the impression that the Soul claimed to be an international hotel. Fortunately our basic Mandarin was sufficient to take care of business. The first room we were shown had no functioning air conditioning. We called down to the front desk and were assured that someone would be up right away to fix the problem. After forty five minutes without a response we went downstairs to ask for a room with a working air conditioner. They agreed to move us. However, our new room also had the same problem initially but eventually over the next hour did start to cool. It turns out that in the Soul Hotel,and in some of the other hotels we subsequently stayed in in Southern China, the air conditioning for the whole floor is not turned on to conserve energy. The Chinese guests apparently are happy at 28 degrees C. Needless to say, they turned off the air conditioning in the middle of the night. In addition, while the hotel claimed to have WiFi, this was barely functional or intermittent. The breakfast buffet served in the morning proved adequate but not spectacular, consisting of the usual Chinese hotel breakfast fare of dumplings, steamed buns, stir fried vegetables, baby clams, sausages, etc. We were happy to also see our favorite which is congee ( rice gruel or soup) with pickled vegetable toppings. There was even an attempt to please the Western palate to a certain degree, but shame on those who cling to their breakfast comfort foods and are unwilling to go native. Local foods should be an integral part of the total cultural experience. After breakfast, the concierge was unable to help us with restaurant reservations, directions or even provide us with a map of Suzhou, which was (as it turns out) easily obtainable at the information booth by the Humble Administrator's Garden. Every other hotel we have stayed in in China has happily provided us with a map of the city. The final touch was when we asked the front desk to have a taxi called for us for our departure. We were told to simply walk with our luggage to Ren Min Rd. (10 min walk) where we could hopefully hail a cab. I don't know about you fellow traveler, but for me service counts for at least 70-80 % of a hotel experience and here the Soul is clearly lacking. On the other hand, if you are looking for a hotel close to the action,and are willing to put up with the shortcomings mentioned, then the Soul just might be your cup of tea since it is located just a block or so from Guanqian Street, the prototypical Chinese walking street found in every large Chinese city. Guanqian Street (closed to vehicular traffic) is full of activity, bright lights at night, shops, restaurants and countless Chinese tourists on unknown missions. It is worth a look, certainly at night. If you are a tourist, you may be here to visit some of the highly touted Chinese gardens. Regrettably, most of these were destroyed by the Red Guard hooligans in the 60's and only a few dozen are still in existence. After reading your guide books you might be tempted to visit the Humble Administrator's Garden in the north east corner of old town. I would suggest that you save your money and time. This sad and dusty garden is an pathetic parody of what a real Chinese garden should look like. The smaller Master of Nets Garden in the south east part of the old city is much more beautiful and representative as is the Lingering Garden just west of the old city. If you have come from Shanghai, you hopefully visited the Yu Garden in old town, which is probably one of the more beautiful and intact Chinese gardens outside of Beijing. If you have a bit more time, a trip to Ping Jiang Old Town and especially Pinjiang Road is worth the effort. Pinjiang Rd, a cobbled stone street closed to traffic with shops and buildings from Suzhou of the past reflects the city as it might have been in the past century. The Couple's Garden Retreat, a small Chinese garden a few blocks to the east is worthy of a look if you are in the area and the fees won't empty your wallet especially if you are an 'old timer'. If in fact you are said old timer (over 70 years old) you are probably aware that in China most tourist sites waive the entrance fees as a reward for having made it so far. Just show your passport. Ping Jiang Street is an easy 15-20 minute walk east of the hotel if you do decide to stay there. Personally I would look for other accommodations on a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed there for one night during our visit to Suzhou in May this year. This modern designed hotel is within walking distance of the historical district - Guan Qian Street, the major shopping and dining district in the city. It is close to the major attractions in Suzhou - Xuanmiao Temple, Lion Grove Garden, and Suzhou Museum.

The room we stayed was very big and clean, almost 400sqft, with a queen size bed and chic furniture. Because the hotel is located at a quite side street off Guan Qian Street, there was no noise for a good night sleep.

The hotel staffs are very friendly. Every time we come in and out the hotel, the reception greets us with a big smile. Service provided by housekeeping is also outstanding.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. We will come back to this hotel if we visit Suzhou again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Located right in the city center near tourist street.
Has an underground parking nearby with discount for hotel guests (or even free?) (could be full).
Excellent interior:
- lots of space
- extremely clean (even for me)
- modern furnishings
- comfortable and very well equipped bathroom

Note:
- when driving to it watch road signs carefully - area around hotel has mostly one-way streets so if you miss the turn you might be going sideways before you get back to the hotel.
- breakfast could be somehow confusing - a combined Western / Chinese version of everything, but still will do OK.

Room Tip: could be "no-view" room facing building across the street, so ask before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Soul Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soul Suzhou

Address: No.27-33 Qiaosikong Alley, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215 000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,021 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soul Suzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Soul Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Soul Suzhou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.