We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pingjiang Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pingjiang Lodge to your Saves list
Pingjiang Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No.33 Niujia Allay, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 180 Suzhou B&B and Inns
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our favourite hotel during our trip to China. The hotel is 400 years old and has wonderful antique furniture. The staff arranged our onward train tickets for a small fee. The hotel is located along a pedestrianised area with no access for cars. The hotel is signed up clearly and just a couple of minutes walk. It's such a pretty area and great for people watching. Close by is the Humble Administrators Gardens and all the other attractions. There's a great tourist info centre on the bridge.
There is a metro station located left outside on the road. It's newly opened and goes to the mainline station if you're travelling on from Suzhou to other areas of China.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    76
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
45
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked 2 nights at this lodge hoping for a traditional Chinese experience at the end of our 15 day stay on China. We were sadly very disappointed. Our room was on the ground floor just after the lobby/reception area. It was dirty and dark and very poorly utilised. The rain shower was broken and the toilet did not flush easily. The wooden bath still had water in it from previous occupants and the base was quite slippery. The curtains were dark and dingy and the bedding slightly damp. The a/c motors outside the room were extremely noisy during the night. Breakfast was the worst we experienced during the trip and not inexpensive.
The lodge does have authentic antique furniture etc but this did not make up for the overall dirty feel of the room. This lodge is overpriced as we had much better accommodation elsewhere for similar prices. I would strongly not recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilkRoadHotel_Mgt, Manager at Pingjiang Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment and we regret to learn of your unpleasant stay at Pingjiang Lodge. We are now looking into the matter. Although Pingjiang Lodge is a historical building, we always strive to bringing to our guests a unique experience of ancient culture while enjoying modern comfort. We are very concerned about your needs were not well attended to during your stay and that the hotel did not change the room for you. We will take this matter seriously and strive to avoid the same problems in the future. We thank you again for your patience and kind understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We took the advice of our Chinese friends in Guangzhou, and didn't regret it. In fact, we were wowed by the results of the owner's efforts to make this small hotel simple, traditional and comfortable. Not 5-star luxury, but close, if you could imagine it came with the service, speaking of which, you get a wifi unit (after paying a deposit) and nothing much after that, not that you notice. For there's much to explore and to enjoy in Pingjiang, a canal village in Suzhou. Take your time too by staying a few days. We only had two and we wished we stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely hotel in complex of old buildings. All mod-cons, including wifi and A/C in the room. Great position in old Suzhou - just left out of front door, across bridge over canal and left again to find a pedestrian street full of shops, snack places and restaurants (pedestrian in the Chinese sense that it still has electric scooters and bikes but no cars.....). Staff very helpful but with differing but adequate English. Taking breakfast outside and just over the road by the canal side was very good, with the local population taking children to school or off to work passing by.
Only problems were lack of comfortable seating in room as the sofas were lovely old Chinese-style ones but not the most comfortable to collapse into after a hard day sightseeing but this was sorted by asking for extra pillows (which appeared very quickly) and making a nest of them, and also that the shower curtain and tray did not contain the flow of water but the bathroom floor was more like a wetroom floor and the supply of towels coped.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed one night. It was an experience staying in this old charm.
However, the room can be cleaner.
I believe there are other lodges along Pingjiang road with a similar set-up.
Staff was helpful. Aircons were working.
Complimentary wifi, but must put deposit to collect a modem to plug into room adsl.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Nicely situated on the main canal street this is a traditional courtyard hotel. however somehow relies on this without attentio to customer service which was much better in other hotels we stayed in. its not that the staff were rude. Just that there was absence of smiles, a warm welcome and a feeling you were an inconvenience. Also the breakfast is extra and too expensive for a limited menu. much cheaper places outside the hotel on the opposite side of the canal.

Nice place. staff need to go on a customer service course.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I think the highlight of our stay in Suzhou was this hotel! A certain experience and almost like travelling in time in Chinese royalty or so! Beautiful, old style yet very comfortable rooms... Situated by the canal, you will find beautiful long walk ways with coffee shops and dessert places and ofcourse a boat ride through the canal itself. Its a perfect break from the busy cities we all probably live in. A must stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pingjiang Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pingjiang Lodge

Address: No.33 Niujia Allay, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215001, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pingjiang Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pingjiang Lodge is converted from Suzhou ancient complex of houses in Si-jin style (literally means "four times of entry"), a traditional Chinese architecture that contains different compounds of courtyard and rooms to form a main axle. It was once the Residence of the Fang Family in Ming Dynasty and has a history of more than 450 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Pingjiang Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pingjiang Hotel Suzhou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pingjiang Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.