We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel
No.28 Pingjiang Road, Suzhou 215005, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 193 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Love the authentic look of the place. It was close to the museum, shops and other sights and this absolutely lovely tea house just down the street. Beds comfortable and area is quiet. The cafe they have though was overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    79
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
5
27
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Situated along a picturesque canal lined with cobblestone pavements, the hostel is great for first-time leisure visitors to Suzhou who want to be located near the tourist sights and don't mind the kitschy tourist neighbourhood of Pingjiang Street. We were a little disappointed by the cramped and dark (there was only a single uncovered bulb suspended from the ceiling and a small, rather ineffective table lamp) double room we were assigned to. Our private bathroom also smelled, as do most bathrooms in older Chinese buildings across the country, but fortunately, we spent very little time in the room. Wifi is also intermittent and only works in the lobby area. On the flip side, the hostel is down the street from great cafes, restaurants and teahouses. There is also a wealth of narrow alleyways and classical Suzhou gardens to explore in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hostel, away from the noisy main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

my review in a nutshell:

-no welcoming or helpful staff
-frustratingly bad wifi
-minimal room amenities
-no bikes for rent ('Sorry, they are all broken!')
-no computers to use ('Sorry, all three are broken!')
-no appealing ways for guests to interact

(Go to Minghantang International Youth Hostel instead. )

My girlfriend and I booked this hostel mainly because it had such great reviews right here on tripadvisor. We had actually cancelled our booking at the Pingjiang Lodge since this was only a third of the price and we were hoping to meet people to hang out with.

STAFF
When we arrived, we didn't feel very welcome by the guy behind the desk. He was on his own and there was no airco in the lobby which must have bothered him. Once we had mentioned we would stay quite long (7 nights) he exclaimed: 'Seven nights?!' as if we were crazy. In retrospect we might have been to choose them to spend these 7 nights with. During our stay we saw this guy work every day, seemingly unhappy with his job. His girlfriend and another girl sometimes worked, but the atmosphere wasn't good. We felt ignored most of the time, their English was as bad as my Chinese and all and all I think the nice venue would be better off without them.

ROOM
We had booked a private double ensuite, which was very tiny. the bed seemed cute, but the facilities minimal. The sink was next to the toilet inside the shower compartment. When we used the shower (which you had to hold in your hand) everything was flooded so you couldn't really fix your hair within the next couple of hours without rubber boots.

Airco was fine, but the window wouldn't shut properly, so i didn't feel too safe. Our room was right next to pingjiang road on ground level and outside stuff was going on the whole time. Luckily that window was well isolated and no noises bothered us.

COMMUNITY
One of the most important reasons to choose a hostel is the community. The pretty pictures of communal area's caught our attention. Sadly non of the communal areas were appealing to anybody so they weren't utilized. There was no airco, or games or a cooler with cheap drinks so the hostel wasn't really a place to meet anybody. We were told to go a few doors down the road to a restaurant that was sort of connected to the hostel. The place offered drinks and a menu (but they offered a menu of which basicly nothing was available). It wasn't cheap or comfortable and it still had a feeling of being a restaurant so nobody really mingled. We laughed it off and were happy to have made our own contacts through couch surfing.

WIFI
Our room was seperated by a little alley from the reception. I would assume very close to a router. However ther was not once that I could easily get online and had to step out of my room everytime I had to check if my friends had contacted me. A couple of days internet was down and in general I had a lot of frustrating moments with the availability of the internet.

'Sorry it's broken'
We hadn't been in a place where we heard this so many times. We read we could rent bikes, but they told us all of their bikes were broken. We asked if we could use a computer since the wifi was so bad, they told us all three of them were broken. We couldn't understand how this hostel was functioning when non of the equipment nor the staff seemed to be.

All and all we stayed there because we thought there was no better option on such a short notice. One of our last days we came across Minghantang International Youth Hostel and decided to walk in. We met some guys who were staying there and were lounging in one of the couple of really nice lounge area's the hostel offers. They were happy with the accomodation and we were sad we didn't find it sooner since it's a great location near Shantang old street and the Central Station.

Maybe 'Horrible' is a bit too harsh, but we need to set the record straight, because this hostel in our opinion most certainly doesn't deserve such a high score.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed two nights in a small, dark double room which was not really clean (e.g. spiderwebs in the doorframe). The house is very nice and gives you that "China"-vibe, but unfortunately the staff was rather unfriendly, arrogant and grumpy. The owner seems to be a penny-pincher, not willing to fix the main entrance to the annex ("takes too much time and money to fix the door"), so basically anyone can wander in off the street. Also, the WiFi was switched off at various occasions, because it was "too hot". Great location though and decent coffee in the adjacent bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
667 reviews 667 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Mingtown is a great option in Suzhou. It is located well on the historic Pingjiang road and is in a restored old house. The room we got was small, but clean and comfortable. We had an en-suite double and the shower was not very powerful, but hot and the bed was hard, but clean. The room was a little worn, but we felt it was very good value for money.

There was no breakfast and the wifi only worked in the reception, but for around $25 dollars a night for the room, you can't expect to have it all. The staff spoke English and were very helpful throughout our stay. I would definitely recommend it as a cheap and clean, but no-frills place to stay in Suzhou.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nihonmatsu, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here just for a night in my own double room without an en-suite bathroom.

The price was fairly cheap (especially if you are sharing) and the hostel had a lot of character, a really great Chinese style building.

The sheets on the bed were pretty shabby and the windows were quite difficult to close which is annoying in the summer when mosquitoes get in . But, the air conditioning in the room worked well and it seemed pretty clean.
The toilet and shower were clean enough, make sure you bring your own shampoo etc.

The location of the hostel was really great, being on Pingjiang road, and it is close to a metro stop and lots of main bus routes.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and the staff were helpful. The price is pretty decent and it is always great to stay at a hostel that has a lot of character.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The room was alright for the couple nights we stayed there, but the staff certainly made us feel like packing up and getting out of there a couple times. Slow response in everything they did, and even ignored us a couple times... not the friendliest people we've met in our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel

Address: No.28 Pingjiang Road, Suzhou 215005, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,013 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suzhou Mingtown Suzhou Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.