We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, but...........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hohhot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hohhot to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hohhot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Zhongshan West Road, Huimin District, Hohhot 010030, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 397 Hotels in Hohhot
4.0 of 5 stars 143 Reviews
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yes, but...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

If this wasn't Inner Mongolia I would have down graded this report. The building itself could have been plucked from any urban sprawl in America - nondescript. HI advertises itself as the first international hotel in the region, yet the English competency of the staff falls far short. The decor overall looks a bit weary, even though everywhere was very clean. Our discounted king size deluxe N/S room was large and well equipped, but the bathroom was small with only a shower cubicle and a wc curiously perched several feet away from the wall. The buffet breakfast was just about OK (hot food always seemed tepid). However, we had A La Carte on a number of occasions where the food was excellent. If I were to return to hohhot, I would be inclined to see the deals at the newer Shangri-la and Sheriton hotels first.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    80
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
8
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. My husband and I were there for sightseeing. The hotel itself is in a great location, close to the Muslim area, the mosque, some neat markets are within walking distance. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfortable. We booked a standard room with prepaid breakfast (breakfast is about 7USD without prepaying). The breakfast was great, a very large buffet with Chinese and Western options. The staff at the restaurant and the hotel are very nice & helpful. We speak Chinese so I can't really comment on whether or not they speak English. The first day we were there they brought us a tray of fruit, and each day we were given 4 sodas from the minibar for free. Also 2 free bottles of water in the bathrooms.

As for Hohhot - if you want to see true grasslands, I recommend going to another part of Inner Mongolia, but your best bet is to go to the country of Mongolia. We just returned from Mongolia's grasslands and were extremely disappointed with the grasslands around Hohhot, as well as just how extremely touristy and unauthentic everything is. I think 4 full days is too long in that area, 2 or 3 is probably sufficient.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed there for a week with our son of one and a half years old. The staff was very helpful en friendly. Good beds (large!) for us as well as a good bed for a small child. All other things necessary for caring for a small child were available.

The room was quite large, with a good bathroom and and some major tv-channels in english. Food ordered using room service was good as well. A nice touch was our national flag in front of the hotel, even though we come from a small European country.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

This is a nice place that close to the airport (30 minutes). The room is big and clear. The hotel is pretty good and the service is attractive. I have reserved the hotel for my next trip.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Although the room is not exactly in mint condition, it is quite large in size, even larger compared to other hotel rooms in Hohhot - paired with very comfortable bed and pillows, means a restful sleep, a pretty basic point but nonetheless important.

Selection of international channels e.g. CNN, BBC, ESPN, Starmovies, HBO, etc... too bad no NGC and Discovery though.

After staying for more than 3 months and having compared with a few other local hotels which rated as five star, I'm quite impressed by the quality of service at the Holiday Inn. The staff's good command of English has helped minimize the frustration of language barriers that I've encountered everyday.

The best thing is that the hotel is within walking distant to Dazhao Temple (about 15 mnts walk or more), the Great Mosque and moslem street dotted with interesting looking architecture along the main road, shopping area and malls. Airport pickup and drop off is provided as complimentary from the hotel. Quite a nice touch.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to the countryside of Inner Mongolia. Our friends with two young children were traveling with us. They had booked the hotel through a travel agent and requested an extra bed. During check-in the front desk mixed up our rooms, but that was the only problem we had at the hotel. Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated, and the morning breakfast buffet was decent with a wide selection. We enjoyed our stay and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — very comfortable beds, clean, nicely decorated rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hohhot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hohhot

Address: No.33 Zhongshan West Road, Huimin District, Hohhot 010030, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Inner Mongolia > Hohhot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hohhot
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hohhot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Hohhot 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hohhot, Inner Mongolia s capital, with its unique charm and attractions as the Holiday Inn Hohhot opens as the first hotel of international brand. Located along the main avenue, West Zhongshan Road, and in the vicinity of pedestrian shopping streets and commercial centers, the Holiday Inn Hohhot introduces new level of service and comfort. Featuring rooms that excel in function and restaurants that serves authentic cuisine, the Holiday Inn Hohhot is just 16 km from the airport and 3 km from the train station. Take time to see Inner Mongolia s famous grasslands or simply dine in a yurt, typical Mongolian style, for an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hohhot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohhot Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hohhot Inner Mongolia, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hohhot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.