We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Gorges Dam Project

Three Gorges Dam Project
Sandouping Town, Yiling District, Yichang 443134, China
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$1,687*
and up
11-Day Splendors of China: Beijing, Xi'an...
Ranked #3 of 37 Attractions in Yichang
4.0 of 5 stars 204 Reviews
Type: Dams, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Slated for completion in 2009, this structure will stretch approximately one mile across the Yangtze River at a height of 600 feet, making it the largest hydroelectric dam in the world.
Leeton
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Most tours along the Yangtze will end with a tour of this place. The engineering side is incredible but be prepared for large crowds. Even if our tour had not come here I would have been interested in visiting.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    64
    37
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Kinda nerdy but still cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

this isn't for everyone, as i think an attraction like this appeals to a select group of people. i enjoyed it primarily because i had never really seen a dam before and as part of the yangzte river cruise i was on, we got to cruise through all the locks. for most people, seeing each lock fill with water and the the boat rise is about as exciting as watching paint dry. however, i enjoyed it but only sat through the passing of one lock, not all five (i'm not that lame).

the three gorges attraction itself is decent, although the security measures seemed excessive. our tour bus had to pass through a rather imposing building and we all had to be screened just like TSA at the airport. also, you couldn't have knives, firearms or alcohol on you??? seriously, china? i understand the first two, but are they afraid of drunkards falling into the dam?

in short, the attraction was very chinese -- cheesy informational displays/models, tacky schwag for sale, lots of effort/walking/escalators required to actually see and exit the attraction. worth it if you're a nerd and like these kinds of things. not for everybody.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Astonishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

At the end of our Yangtze River Cruise, we had an excursion from our boat to see the Dam and the exhibit showing the history of building this Dam. Its an amazing project, you can probably read online about it, before you get there, but it is amazing in person. Our boat also went through 5 locks, the night before, as we were sailing downstream. Our tour from the boat was both informative and enjoyable. This is some project, which mainly serves to avoid the major flooding the Yangtze river causes, and the power produced from the Dam serves only 2% of china's needs, so as much as they talk about the power produced, it is really more of byproduct, as the flooding used to kill thousands of people.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing feat of engineering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hard to explain the scale of this project - an absolute monster of a dam! The Chinese flooded dozens of villages to achieve thier aim, relocating whole communities and physically moving historical sites to high ground to preserve them. Hard to imagine but parts of the river are now 80-100m deeper than previously due to this structure and a vast amount of power is produced that services cities across the country.

The museum isn't everyone's cup of tea, but it's well organised and easy to understand.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Everyone has heard about this dam, but to see it in person blew me away. It is simply breathtaking
In my opinion it is better than the great wall

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Gorges Dam Project also viewed

 

Been to Three Gorges Dam Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Gorges Dam Project, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.