We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet access is getting fixed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Wuhan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Wuhan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Wuhan Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.160 Xudong Avenue, Wuchang District, Wuhan 430062, China (Xudong)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 1,825 hotels in Wuhan
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Internet access is getting fixed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a really nice hotel. The rooms are large and clean and the staff are very friendly. The Internet access has always been a problem. The management has listened to the guests and is now in the process of upgrading their computers to speed up the access. I am looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    225
    31
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
4
8
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed in Renaissance Wuhan Hotel on two occasions for a total of five nights during my recent visit to China. On both occasions, I was served a cup of warm lemon tea and a hot towel when I was checking in. I was pleasantly surprised as I have not encountered a similar service in other hotels I have stayed. On the second day of each stay, someone from the HR office called and asked if everything was OK and was there anything she could do for me. The hotel is affiliated to Marriott. The room is up to the Marriott standard: spacious and nicely furnished, comfortable bed and pillows, clean and big bathroom/toilet. I rececived a fruit plate on three occasions. I dined at the Wan Li Chinese Restaurant four times. The food was good and the service was superb. There was a good selection of Chinese and Western food for buffet breakfast. Going out the hotel and turning to your right, a megamart 'Metro' is just 200 meters away. Turning to your left will take you to a street lined up with many restaurants. I really enjoyed my stay at Renaissance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Brand new luxury hotel. Located close to the highway and 2nd bridge and in a newly developed part of town that has many restaurants, office buildings, and condos. A lively restaurant strip and a large Metro grocery store are within a 5 minute walk. Hotel has very nice modern pool, good breakfast buffet (with donuts!), conference facilities, and a big lounge. Excellent English speaking service. Modern room with large flat panel TV, sitting area, robes and slippers, and in-room wifi. Couldn't ask for a better hotel if this is close to your destination.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I've stayed here at least 6 times over the past 18 months and have grown to like the hotel more each time. That may be because I know better how to ask to have my needs taken care of (I'm allergic to the down pillows and comforter they have as standard in each room). I will say that the Chinese restaurant on the second floor has surpassed my expectations and a Chinese colleague was very impressed too (typical Cantonese and Hong Kong style food I'm told).

The facilities are good (pool, gym) - but I would recommend that you are insistent on getting a non-smoking floor if a non-smoking room is important to you.

If you have Marriott status that permits it - the Club Lounge on the 21st floor is a wonderful place to relax (and get a good meal and drink).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face onto the main street. You can get a view of East Lake from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

A five-star hotel in the capital of Hubei province, on the banks of the Yangtze. You can’t see the river form the hotel. Stayed there 2 nights in august 2011, in a deluxe room. For its five-star rating, it disappoints. The food was poor, and despite their best attempts, the staff just couldn’t dig up any enthusiasm at being friendly. But worst of all, they charge Y60 for 24 hours of internet.

I find this downright unacceptable, especially in China where broadband is excellent and almost every other hotel, right down to the bed-and-breakfast inns offer internet connections for free! However, this is not the only 5-star hotel to charge for broadband. It seems that there is a relation between 5-star hotels and the refusal to provide basic services (like internet) for free.

As a working traveler, charging me for internet is like charging me for towels, soap and a pillow! I advise fellow travelers to check with hotels you book in China… if they charge for internet, they are most likely sub-standard establishments, regardless of the star-rating.

and for this reason alone, I recommend you to stay somewhere else... that's the only way they will get the message!

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was here on a 10 day stay for business and it was very comfortable. The breakfast was expansive and of high quality; the decor was modern and elegant (lobby, restaurant, rooms), it's quite similar to the Sheraton Songdo in Incheon (another great hotel). Our team used the private room in the exec lounge to have conference calls/meetings in the evenings - very useful!

The area was under heavy construction at that time, so it was tough to get around, but not at all the hotel's fault. There's a big mall in walking distance though. The taxi ride downtown isn't too far either.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Good: We (two adults with three young kids) stayed in the hotel for a week in two connecting rooms. The hotel is relative new. Facilities are nice. Swimming pool is great for kids. Location is good. Staffs are very friendly.

Bad: While staffs are very nice, service quality can be improved.

Ugly: The reason I am not going back to the hotel is its internet service provider (ISP). I paid RMB 300 for a full week UNLIMITED access to internet. However, the service was very spotty. I called ISP multiple times. I was given many excuses. After I left this hotel, I have had no problem to access internet. It became clear to me that the hotel’s ISP was THE limiting factor in accessing internet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Wuhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Wuhan Hotel

Address: No.160 Xudong Avenue, Wuchang District, Wuhan 430062, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan > Xudong , Wuchang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wuhan
#5 Business Hotel in Wuhan
#80 Best Value Hotel in Wuhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Wuhan Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Wuhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Wuhan
Wuhan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Wuhan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.