We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference Hotel without a Bar!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lake View Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Lake View Garden Hotel
No.115 Luoyu Road, Hongshan District, Wuhan 430079, China (Guanggu Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,969 Hotels in Wuhan
4.0 of 5 stars 194 Reviews
Ramallah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Conference Hotel without a Bar!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Hotel was good for a conference but no good for networking with Europeans after events. No Bar!! Food very average and too much stir fired BullFrog for my liking. But great staff and very friendly. Nice location on the Lake but a little far to walk for the town and shopping. Taxis not easy to get. No one knew where the Hilton was..including the hotel staff.

Room Tip: If you want to travel out of the hotel get someone to write the address in Manderin for you. Also r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    128
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iligan, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel during my business travel in Wuhan. Hotel is fine bur unfortunately the first room they gave us is quite hot. This was during summer season in Wuhan. But they moved us to another room and everything is OK. All rooms has its own wifi and foot massage . Its good to walk around the lake in the morning and you can get a good view.

The food was good. You may have plenty of options on the Chinese delicacy offered by the hotel.

Some of the Hotel staff may hardly speak English.

Room Tip: If you may feel uncomfortable with you room, just approach the front desk, they may be able to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I restrict my comments to the hotel and not Wuhan itself which although interesting I would not recommend as a place to visit.

I stayed for 7 nights in this hotel. I had a nice room on the 5th floor facing the lake. It was by Western prices a good deal, I paid 400 RMB per night. The room was spacious, with desk, tea making facilities, plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The bathroom was clean and everything there worked. There was a turn down service and everything was kept well serviced e.g. supplies of free bottled water. Also the WiFi worked almost all the time although with variable speed and having to switch networks.

I found the restaurant less good. I was enthusiastic about Chinese style meals for lunch and dinner (provided by my hosts at CCNU) but preferred a Western-style breakfast. The options were pretty limited there. Also the tables were not really cleaned up properly between diners. There did not seem to be a bar to sit in the evening, although I was too tired anyway.

The style and ambience are quite glittery, not very understated (like say the Optic Valley Kingdom Plaza down the road which is much more expensive though). The location didn't seem that good but it is not clear where one should go out to anyhow. Finally there were a few oddities like the fact that people were smoking in their rooms and leaving the door to the corridor open.
Staff on reception spoke good English and the process went smoothly.

I would stay here again though. I give it more 3.5 stars than 4 but 3 seemed harsh because it is better than average in several categories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

NIce decor in a hotel built and decorated in a traditional style. Grounds, which were well done, were separated from the busy, uncrossable street outside. A nice boardwalk on the lake took one to the lake tea house and nice views. Breakfast was extensive with both Western and Chinese offerings including a make your own noodle bowl. Lunch was good. One group dinner for our meeting was not so good. Wedding parties appeared to have a good time.
Sit in the lobby and tea is delivered immediately while you listen to the live piano music. However, I could not find a bar. Bottled water was supplied daily and in room tea and coffee were always stocked. I did not use the business services. Wireless worked but had to find the right sign-on wireless. TV got CNN, BBC, and HBO along with many local channels. Well lighted rooms with nice bedside reading light. Elevators fast.

Room Tip: Get the lake view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have been here for business purpose and it's a wonderful hotel. All the architecture of the building is chinese style and the service is pretty good.
I have faced some problems with the cold and hot water in the bathroom. It looks like it's common to use very hot water in China, as other friends had same problems in different rooms.
Besides this, the TV had only one english channel. This should be improved if the hotel wants to become more international.
The breakfast was chinese style and pretty complete, but lacks of western style food.

It's a good option, as the location is excellent (Optical Valley).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

i'm staying here for a few nichts (5th floor, seaside). the hotel is a conference hotel, also bus groups are located here. the hotel is in the middle of wuhan, greatly located at one of the 1000 lakes. IF you have a seaside-located room you will have a nice and great view to the lake, really nice; if not you will detect that you are in the middle of an unattractive city.

this brings me to the point: the nice thing is that the hotel is doing everything that you should not detect this. nice springfalls produce waterfall sound so you will not hear wuhan. very good.

the restaurant is lower than average, tables and chairs are sticky, the food is ok, the quality is something between those of a 2 and 3 star hotels restaurant, may be more 2star. the restaurant personal is not speaking chinese. mosten it's not written what you are eating, if something is written it's not identifying whether it is.

i let my chinese assistent arrange a non-smoker room: what i got was a middle-sized flavored room at the (5th floor). the furniture was ok, nice arranged. the bathroom is ok, everything works, looks used, partially damaged. the water is not clear, hints about this (no drinking water) are missing. wireless lan works perfectly, it seems that the wireless repeater are very close and room-wise located.

the conference location (close by) is unacceptable and neither related to national or international standards. on the lower level (sea level) the mold smell was tried to compensated with incense cones: wooaahh i have seen this stupid things before. the rooms are badly damped, so you hear what's going on closeby. the furniture is partially old. nothing representative.

incentive: three oranges and some sweets a day: nice.

if you have the smell in the nose you catch this within the whole hotel, neither knowing if this comes frome your clothes or from the hotel rooms.

the personal is friendly, but unexperienced. hope that your creditcard is not locked due to douzends of trials for charging your bill. it may also be helpful if they hire more experienced personal with better english language skills.

conclusion: acc. for some days if you have to be there, if not: choose another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

I didn't actually stay there but had a business meeting/pickup in the spectacular lobby. We arrived early so asked to see some rooms with a view to possibly staying there on a future trip (we were staying at the Shangri-La). Rooms did not look impressive and had a strange smell.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Garden Hotel

Address: No.115 Luoyu Road, Hongshan District, Wuhan 430079, China
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan > Guanggu Square , Wuchang District
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,969 Hotels in Wuhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake View Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.