We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always happy to be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Wuhan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Wuhan to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Wuhan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.700 Jianshe Avenue, Jiangan District, Wuhan 430015, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 1,970 Hotels in Wuhan
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always happy to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I always look forward to my stay at the Shangri-La Wuhan, I have stayed in most of the trip advisor top 10 hotels in Wuhan, but have to say that for me the Shangri-La is the best. All front desk, bell boys, waiters etc. speak good English, rooms are nice and espcially the beds are very comfortable. It offers the same level of quality/luxury as the Shangri-la Shanghai or Beijing but for a far more reasonable price. Compared to the other Wuhan hotels this is the only one that offers international quality.

best,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    813
    188
    14
    6
See reviews for
8
8
11
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zürich,switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is not new and this is reflected in the rate which is lower than most of Shangri-La hotels. And Wuhan is a 2nd tier city with huge contructions going on as you realize this once your limousine takes you to the hotel which takes almost an hour from the airport to the hotel you see hundreds of skyscrapers climbing up the sky and traffic is heavy all the day. Arriving at the hotel I was amazed as Concierge Lamia standing there to open the door of the car. She is extremly helpful and intelligent. The reason I give an excellent at Shangri-la Wuhan was that my room was not only the Horizon-Club-room but the presidential suite. This suite is huge and very luxury in every sense. This is probably to most prestigous address in Wuhan but it's only a one-bedroom suite by the way. The dinning area, the kitchen, the seperate sitting room, business-centre, the huge bathroom (better said Spa) with seperate bathroom, not to mention the TV-flats and now the best, I have never slept so comfortable in a premium city hotel like here. The bed is as big as you could take your family plus friends to sleep in it at the same time. As the bedroom is far away from any other rooms on the floor, nothing can disturb you from a good sleep. But yes, of course, the view over the city is something different but that's Wuhan. The suite itself is over 200sqm, that's enough to walk around the tables in the evening a bit and to relax yourself. Breakfast was in the Horizon Lounge, also very good. The 1-hour-massage was good as well, not a luxury room but fine related to the age of the hotel.
If you need a very relaxing and quiet night before an important meeting day, I highly recommed you try this suite , it's also called "Yangtze"-suite or presidential suite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I did not pay for this room so I am not sure of the cost, but I thought the room and service was excellent. Free wi-fi too which made me quite happy. Excellent service and the hotel desk all could speak English. Breakfast also was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was my second visit in the city and stayed with Shangri-La only for a night for a friend's wedding in the town. Loved the layout and the facility of the bathroom, although I think the room due to a bit of refurbish. The timber wood was chipped on the corners, and there were quite a lot of scratches on the furniture's surface. But the bed was extremely comfortable and I had great night sleep. I would not recommend for their breakfast buffet, not the standard you would expected from a luxury hotel. It was an excellent night sleep for the price you were paying.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Top Contributor
449 reviews 449 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel maybe a little in need of a refurb, but it is the cheapest Shangri La I have ever stayed in at 890 RMB, or under £90 in real money

I for some reason was upgraded to a suite which was huge two rooms maybe the whole place was 40 square meters

As usual the service was exceptional far better than you get in any other chain, though Marriott seems to be improving

Food was really good value and excellent

The limo to the airport was 480 RMB which though probably a lot more than a taxi made things easy

So if you want a cheap luxury hotel with excellent service you cannot go wrong

Room Tip: Try for a suite at this price ....why not
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I give score of "4" to hotels that "satisfy their brand". This hotel feels too tired & worn to be a proper Shangri-La.... ok, only paid ~US$ 130, so I guess is '4' on value/$$ compared with typical Shg-La, BUT...a hotel is your oasis from home so its the experience. Spent 2-nights here on business. Wanted to try the Marco Polo but Chinese host booked Shangri-La, ironically because we typicaly enjoy the brand. <grin> We've stayed at the Renaissance Wuhan before and would recommend over this place.
Pros: sleeping comfort was fantastic; Nice bath layout (Other's photos show well) & supplies; lounge food quality was decent, but choices seem limited; I appreciated live band in lounge.
Cons: Breakfast coffee was awful & I'm no coffee snob (worst hotel coffee I've had in China); breakfast food choices were fair for my typical American taste but never left breakfast satisfied. att tude of many staff were apathetic, guest attitudes worse; quality of clothes iron+board were not acceptable; room safe too small - my small 12" screen notebook fit, but most would not.
Bottom-Line: For low-$100/night range you could do MUCH worse, but this is not a "real" Shangri-La.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is not the best Shangri-La hotel I have stayed in as far as the facilities go (small pool in particular), but the staff is very friendly and helpful. The area surrounding the hotel is not particularly attractive, although there is a cute little park closeby with a lake, and some lively streets.

Room Tip: Better to have a room on one of the higher floors (less noise from the busy street and better view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Wuhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Wuhan

Address: No.700 Jianshe Avenue, Jiangan District, Wuhan 430015, China
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wuhan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wuhan
#74 Best Value Hotel in Wuhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Wuhan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Wuhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Wuhan
Shangri La Wuhan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Wuhan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.