We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Wuhan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Wuhan to your Saves list
Marco Polo Wuhan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 159 Yanjiang Avenue, Jiangan District, Wuhan, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 1,979 Hotels in Wuhan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Randburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel delights. Close to transport with exceptional service and great value, it offers all a visitor could need. I was delighted by the friendly staff and quick service. If you are looking for a meeting place or a centrally placed hotel, this is for you. Well done to the team

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    349
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
14
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel offers really nice views over the city and the Yangtze river. Rooms are really nice and special, and so is the lobby and the restaurant. Around the hotel there are several nice collonial buildings and some nice restaurants. The park next to the river introduces you to the Chinese way of recreation. The staff working at the executive lounge are among the best in their field.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a great hotel in the heart of the former Russian concession along the Yangtze River. Initially I had some trouble with the reservation but once that was sorted I had a very nice stay, and was delighted to come back to the hotel after long walks in the neighborhood and by the river. Wuhan is massive, so location depends on where you need to be, but if you need to be in Hankou or just want to spend time in the former foreign concession area, it's a great choice. Excellent location, good breakfast, and the staff were really great. Recommended.

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located and easy to regconize from far. Taxi is always the choice of transport when you are not wholly familiar with the place. So we just took taxi all the time. The hotel (room comfort, cleanliness, location, food) are all 5-star standards, except for the staff which need more training.

I would definitely recommend you to try their Chinese restaurant 上都桃源 on the 2nd floor. Their fried rice and soup are fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had 2 days in Wuhan left and so I booked the Marco Polo after reading the reviews and it was a pleasant surprise.

After asking the receptionist if she could advice me any English guides she actually came back after a few minutes with another colleague asking me if I wanted to join them on a shopping trip through Wuhan. I saw the whole city from a local's point of view which was wonderful, Cutie and Sally were a delight.

The hotel is located extremely central, and close to the subway to get to other parts of the city. Hotel has free wifi, rooms are comfortable and roomservice is good. But most of all the service is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Marco Polo is 15 mins from the train station and close to some interesting bars and a nice view over the water, included internet, good food and a great night sleep what more do you need when traveling in china.

Room Tip: out of the front door turn right for interesting bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently booked this hotel for a special getaway weekend. I chose the MP largely because of the high ratings on Trip Advisor, the positive communications I had with the staff and the special rate that I was offered. Overall it was a comfortable business hotel with very nice views of the Yangtze. However I don't think I would book it again.

We booked a Club River View room at a special price provided by the hotel. It was a fairly standard club room in terms of amenities and decor. What set it apart was its great views of the River. I've provided pictures. It wasn't clear when I booked the room if it would have the corner bathroom with amazing views of the River as promoted throughout the website. It does not. Unfortunately the website isn't very clear on this front. I would suggest that the hotel show a photo of the room and the bathroom for each room instead of only the room or only the bathroom.

The Club lounge was very nice and had great views. The food options were ok but not amazing. The staff did make good mixed drinks though.

The 2nd floor breakfast and the Club lounge breakfast are practically the same. I would suggest that folks only eat breakfast in the Club lounge if they have the option.

There is no spa. I called the service centre and asked if they could recommend a nearby spa or massage service and I was told that they could not provide a recommendation.

All in all a very satisfactory hotel. As an event professional, I've stayed in many international hotels with better facilities and rooms for lower prices in cities such as Beijing and Shanghai. If I were to return to Wuhan I'd probably book the Westin or Shangri La (though the latter is not right next to the Yangtze).

Room Tip: Make sure to get a River View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Wuhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Wuhan

Address: No. 159 Yanjiang Avenue, Jiangan District, Wuhan, China
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wuhan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wuhan
#63 Best Value Hotel in Wuhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Wuhan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Wuhan's 356 rooms and suites are built offering a spacious design with deluxe amenities against the backdrop of spectacular city or river views. The Continental Club floor rooms also offer complete privacy with their exclusive setting and special privileges. The restaurants at Marco Polo Wuhan are sure to indulge your good taste. Whether it is the signature teas of The Verandah, Cantonese fare of Shangdu Tao Yuan or the Asian and international delights of Cafe Marco, your dining experience will surely be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Marco Polo Wuhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Wuhan Hotel Wuhan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Wuhan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.