We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I walked across the river to see the place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun island (Tai Yang Dao)

Sun island (Tai Yang Dao)
No.3 Jingbei Road, Pingfang District, Harbin 150000, China
0451-88190230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 130 Attractions in Harbin
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
moglibaloo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I walked across the river to see the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I am here in March. The river ice is 2 feet thick and the walk looked inviting. so i joined the 30 or so on the whole river to take the 4 km walk. i liked the island bc no one was on it. it felt like my own peaceful setting. There are some russian build vacation homes from a along ago to see, but frankly i just loved the walk over to the island in the early evening. just be careful that the ice is strong enough for you. make sure u see locals on the ice, like i did. otherwise you can take a car or the cable car route.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    156
    44
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice snow sculptures - but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The sculptures were wonderful and I am happy that I saw them, but I think the entrance fee was too high for normal Chinese standards.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Not as impressive as main Ice Festival, but still worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We visited the Sun Island for the Snow Festival in mid-February, arriving at about 4pm. Tickets were 240 RMB for adults and 120RMB for children under 1.2m. After some argument, we managed to get a discount for our eldest (11 year old) daughter too by showing a copy of her passport. The ticket office staff were pretty rude and brusque.

There was a small bus from the entrance bridge to the main area but we chose to walk. From the entrance it was not too far to walk. There were several large snow sculptures on the way to the main park area which were worth seeing. The main area had many large snow sculptures of buildings and people and there was a separate area of smaller sculptures. There were also sculptures through the woods. There was a small ice slide for tubing, a coffee shop and an area for ice bicycles and sleds, all of which were shut. Our daughters tried some of the ice bikes and had fun sliding down a large pile of snow. As we arrived close to closing time, the park was almost completely empty.

Whilst the snow sculptures were still pretty impressive, some were showing the signs of wear and tear. This is a trade off to going to Harbin after the main rush of tourists. It was good to see the carvings without any crowds but the quality of the carvings has deteriorated.

We left the park after closure at 6pm and had fortunately asked our taxi driver to wait for us (hired at 70RMB an hour) and there were no taxis (or any other cars) in the parking lot. All in all, the snow sculptures are definitely worth a visit and you should allow about 2 hours to have a good look round. If you are tight for time, you could visit Sun Island in the day-light and then go on to the Ice and Snow Festival (very close, less than 5 minutes drive but a long walk) at dusk or in the evening.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Sun Island - Winter Snow Sculpture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Cold. -2F cold. But very cool!

You can walk from the entrance of Sun Island down to the attraction but we took one the little shuttle vehicles because of the cold.

This was a great way to spend a few hours. Scores of snow sculptures that are, I don't know, about 10 or 15 feet high and about the same square. They were working on a few while we were there - Sculptors from all over the world, from what I could tell.

There is the HUGE one that borders the back if it all, with a large open space in front of it. Dog sleds if you want to go for a ride, a track with go-cart things, foot powered ski scooters and a snow slide at one end for the kids.

At one end there is a large village of snow buildings and snow building facades. They had a Russian architecture feel to them.

If you get cold, there are a few warming cabins (made of snow) to get tea/coffee (warmed canned Nescafe with milk type coffee) and a bowl of instant noodles.

This place isn't as exciting as the Ice Festival across the highway, but it's a must see for a day time attraction as far as I'm concerned.

Btw, there are a lot of pictures of the Ice World attraction in this review section. Those ice sculptures are not at this attraction, this is in the same general area, but they are two different places and require two different entrance tickets.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Winter park is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is where they have snow sculptures in the winter and amusements in the summer

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun island (Tai Yang Dao) also viewed

 
Harbin, Heilongjiang
Harbin, Heilongjiang
 

Been to Sun island (Tai Yang Dao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun island (Tai Yang Dao), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.