We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zhongyang Pedestrian Street

Zhongyang Pedestrian Street
Daoli District, Harbin 150000, China
0451-55569977
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 130 Attractions in Harbin
4.5 of 5 stars 390 Reviews
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Dining
Attraction details
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is probably the most western of shopping districts, but the architectural offerings are what set the street off. Adjacent to Flood Control Monument. Well worth an afternoon at the least.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    145
    34
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Lively Thoroughfare for Weekend People Watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

From the gate to the river is about a mile, and there is so much to see along the way! I particularly loved watching the dancing in the street - it was mostly older folks, waltzing on the cobblestones. I didn't understand why, but it was lovely nonetheless. The architecture was varied and interesting. By the river there were cold drinks, toy vendors, and a feeling of general summer festivity - I enjoyed the walk very much.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Follow the Freezing Brick Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It’s just a pedestrian mall, but wow! It’s the best street I’ve ever walked down! It’s a must see if you’re in Harbin, and a trot along it at night during the Snow and Ice Festival in -30 degree temperatures will burn in your memory.

It was one of the four recommendations we received from the staff at the Shangri-La Hotel of what to do in Harbin, along with Zhaolin Park, Sun Island, and the Ice and Snow Amusement World. We looked into the Siberian Tiger Park, but the animal welfare conditions out there are appalling, so we decided not to encourage them and gave it a miss. Please do the same.

The Shangri-La arranged a guide and driver for us for the evening, but do arrange that before you get there, it was a bit of a drama (Eric Lao from the Heilongjiang Overseas Tourist Corporation is great). Our guide led us down the cobblestone street, weaving in and out of illuminated ice sculptures along the way. It was just lovely, lined with shops and restaurants, and the place to be and be seen by the locals in the know.

The crippling cold, however, very quickly turned our gentle stroll into a forced speed march. We actually had to stop ourselves from rushing past the beautiful architecture, taking a few moments to soak it up. I only wish we had more time to go back and wander around at our leisure, but we’d crammed a few other things in that night. Next time.

While it is just a street, it’s definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Go in the late afternoon .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

A street with european style buildings in China.

For people like me come from warm country, it was actually a good place to shop for winter clothing with average pricing (with sales). Try to go there in the late afternoon, so that you can experience the different view in the day time and in the night time. I especially like this street when it is in night time.

Overall, worth to spend few hours to walk along that street and do some leisure shopping.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice to wander along but not the best place to shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

watch the local life but go along the side streets to shop

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zhongyang Pedestrian Street also viewed

 
Harbin, Heilongjiang
Harbin, Heilongjiang
 

Been to Zhongyang Pedestrian Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhongyang Pedestrian Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.