We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Old and Dirty”” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel

Save Saved
You added Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Tielu Street, Nangang District, Harbin 150006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 880 hotels in Harbin
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
““Old and Dirty””
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The room was old and dirty. The bathroom was even worse. Water accumulated at the bathtub as we showered, obviously, drainage was poor. Flushing of the WC was difficult.
During breakfast, even a school canteen is more well-organized. There were not enough seats to cater to the massive number of tourists staying at this hotel. Mostly chinese fare (with some pseudo-Russian meat-and-potatoes) and I found the food not to my liking. Orange cordial drink was warm.
The positive aspect of this hotel is its location and there are many shops near the hotel and is short walk from the main railway station.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    43
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
4
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I was quite apprehensive when I learned we were going to stay in this hotel (booked by travel agency) after reading all the bad reviews. Stayed for 2 nights for the ice and snow sculptures exhibitions.
Our tourist guide got our passports (16 persons) and check-in for us. He gave us our card keys and off we went to our respective rooms at the 18th floor. It took a while for our luggage to reach our room and the porters asked for tips! Altho' we have prepared small bills for them. Luckily, my room is at the back, so quiet at night even if I open the window. Others who had rooms facing the main street, complained of noise coming from the street. The major setback for this hotel are the carpets! Needs vacuum. The breakfast is so-so. Good location. No problem with check-out.
More like a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter. If AC not working, open your window.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The rooms at level 10 are still quite old. The electric kettle can turn on by itself to keep the water warm? Carpet is dusty. Bathtub got cracks and shower head not powerful.

Room Tip: Pay more to get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights in this hotel at the end of December 2011 on a group tour. On the second night, my husband woke up at about 3 am to use the toilet. In his hurry, he knocked his face against the bedside table, which was higher than the bed and he felt blood streaming from a gash above his eye and rushed to the bathroom to stop the bleeding. I helped him put a cold compress on the wound using the cold water from the tap and managed to stop the bleeding from the eye.

When we woke up in the morning, we found that the wound was more than 1 cm on the eyelid and though it appeared gaping, the bleeding had stopped. We also noticed a few blood droplets on the quilt cover, which could have dropped from his cut in the middle of the night. We asked a housekeeping staff, who was then outside our room if she could change the bedsheet later. Just a few minutes later, a senior housekeeping staff rang the doorbell and even before I could show her the stains, she sternly said we had to pay the hotel to wash off the blood stains. We were so shocked by her behaviour and I even pointed out the ugly wound on my husband's eyelid. Instead of showing any sympathy, she kept saying we had to pay or we had to wash off the stains ( which were actually a few tiny drops and two 1 cm blotches) ourselves. I was so angry at her stern demeanour and callous attitude and told her we were in a hurry to join our tour and her reply was the housekeeping staff would not clean our room and would wait till we came back to decide whether we would clean the cover or to pay cleaning charges.

Although we had low expectations of this hotel after reading the English reviews that, however, did not prepare us for the callous behaviour of the staff toward the guests. We did not understand why the hotel staff were so unfeeling and unkind. Our tour members on the other hand were so helpful and all offered medication, antiseptic wipes and plasters,etc and even suggested my husband should seek medical care.

The room we stayed in reeked of cigarette smoke and we had to open the windows for a while to get rid of the smell.The carpet was dirty and filthy looking and all the bath towels were not only dirty looking in greyish white colour but were frayed at the edges. The floor towels were torn at the edges. The bathtub was dirty looking and water didn't flow away properly. We had to call housekeeping for a toilet roll when it ran out in the middle of the night, as there was no spare roll in the bathroom.

There was hardly any service at the breakfast buffet and it was overcrowded. There was only one woman manning both the eggs and noodles station despite the queue and crowd. The staff were unfriendly and brusque.

It was an unpleasant stay in this hotel. I would not have chosen this hotel based on past reviews of this hotel but the tour we joined gave us no other choices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed in Kunlun hotel Harbin for 3 nights, it was a terrible experience. Think it's not been renovated since the 80s. Toilet bowl got choked. Carpet is filthy. For light sleepers, it's really disturbing to sleep at night as it's close to the railway and can get very noisy at night. Breakfast is terrible, I thought I'll compromise with just toast and jam however, there wasnt a toaster available.
However, it's really close walking distant of less than 15 mins to the tunnel shopping (Hong Bio) This is a big plus point, near to KFC etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is dirty and disgusting. Towels are tattered and dirty. Service is horrible and hygiene level is low. Couldn't sleep due to loud traffic noise throughout the entire night!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The breakfest was not so good, but ok. There were so many people in hotel, that food was over very quickly. Coffe and juice were terrible.

The room was ok ( but not 4 stars, may be 3). The beds were big and comfortable, bedding was nice and clean, so we could rest. The bathroom was old and all scratched. Toweels - clean. The toilet had terrible designe: when you flash - everything first goes UP, and goes down only if you still pressing the knob!!!

We stayed there 1 day from the morning to the evening and left city by night train. We simply walked to the train station - it was very close. On the return our guide invited the local carriers - for 20 RMB per 1 unit of luggage - it was very smart and comfortable, since it was very big crowd right between the railway station and hotel.

So overall it was not so bad. But if you want to get real pleasure from Harbin - don't stay in this hotel, look for better, see my review on Modern Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel

Address: No.8 Tielu Street, Nangang District, Harbin 150006, China
Location: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 880 hotels in Harbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.