We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-la Harbin, PRC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Harbin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Harbin to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.555 Youyi Road, Daoli District, Harbin 150018, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 927 Hotels in Harbin
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Shangri-la Harbin, PRC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Pleasant stay due to great service and good facilities. Location could have been better, closer to the city, though this hotel is closest to the Ice Festifal Grounds. The shuttle service from/to the airport was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    351
    80
    18
    8
See reviews for
44
55
14
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

There are not that many options in Harbin for a decent hotel and the Shangri La for me is the best in its category. The hotel is conveniently located between the old town and the snow sculptures on the other bank of the river. We stayed on the hotel's horizon floors, where we enjoyed having access to the lounge for tea time.
However, for the price and compared to the Shangri La standard, the rooms are sub-par - small rooms with aged and small bathrooms. The breakfast in the lounge is disappointing: limited selection, stale food… so we decided to go instead to the normal breakfast area and the food there was much fresher and better… so i suggest skipping the lounge for breakfast and go downstairs.
The staff are nice and willing to help and the concierge, though lacking in knowledge, did a good job helping us to arrange some activities. Overall a pleasant stay but not great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Shangri-La is always a great place to stay. I guess because of the particular holiday, prices had to be inflated a bit. The Shangri-La Harbin is relatively close to the main attractions in Harbin, getting around is fairly easy.

Room Tip: I could tell that this might have been an older hotel, the rooms were smaller than those offered by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Shangri-La Harbin really is the best hotel in China. Every single staff member was friendly, attentive and helpful. The hotel was clean, well maintain and amenities were great....but overall the difference is really the people. We live in Shanghai and travel often throughout China. We often feel ripped off because we try to secure a great place by paying a premium...but often get poor service, un maintained rooms and non helpful staff (such as our exercise at Club Med Guilin). The complete opposite was true at Shangri-La Harbin. We booked into the Horizon Club room and everything's from the in room check in, to the well stocked happy hour in the horizon club to the staff offering prepaid tickets for entry to the ice festival,plus the free gift of a snow tiger for our 2 kids....everything was considered and offered: all with a truly genuine smile. In fact when we told the staff that their service is amazing, the responded by saying 'that matters more to us than our pay'- truly wonderful Shangri-la! We will be staying with you whenever you have a hotel available where we travel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent two short nights there to see some friends and visit the ice festival. The friends took excellent care of us so we did not need to rely on the hotel for much more than accommodations. The room and the amenities were great. Everything clean and top notch. Staff very friendly. We did enjoy a drink in the bar each night and it was great - large and accommodating with singing entertainment. And they were singing mostly pop oldies! The hotel is located overlooking the Songhua River and is a short drive to the Ice Festival. The bell staff were always helpful. The breakfast buffet was opulent and reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Yes, this hotel is certainly a little dated compared to other Shangri-la properties but makes up for it with it's service.
Nothing was an issue, the concierge desk helped us get taxis who would wait for us at the attractions, rather than spend 1000s in RMB on a driver.
Dinner at the Cantonese restaurant was really very good, albeit a bit pricey, but the service and food was spot on.

The only negative was that we booked adjoining rooms for us and the kids, and they couldn't provide it on check in. Not the end of the world but a slight annoyance.

Room Tip: double check with the hotel if you are wanting adjoining rooms, to make sure this is arranged before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nirtak99
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have lived and traveled in China for several years, and have gotten accustomed to the fact that customer service is not usually a priority. However, the Harbin Shangri-la changes all of that. We booked two rooms on the club level, and I highly recommend it. The extra touches of personal service were just amazing. They greeted us as we walked into the lobby and took us up to our room to complete check-in there. The club lounge had a nice breakfast followed by drinks and snacks all day and the happy hour was perfect for us and the kids after a long day at the ice-festival. The staff was what really made the trip amazing, they were all friendly and tried to anticipate every need. Maria Yang saw my daughter sneeze from her cold and asked if she could have the kitchen prepare some soup for her. We returned from lunch our first afternoon to find a hand written welcome note from Nuria Martinez with two cuddly stuffed tigers for our children. Every staff member aimed to please and made the whole weekend absolutely spectacular.

Room Tip: Get the club level, totally worth the extra expense!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Harbin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Harbin

Address: No.555 Youyi Road, Daoli District, Harbin 150018, China
Location: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Harbin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Harbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Harbin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A best business hotel in Harbin. It boasts a picturesque window view of the Songhua River. It is a 15-minute drive from an over-a-century Central Street featuring the Continental architecture, and from the Sun Island rated as a National 5-A Tourist Attraction. It is a 45-munite ride from the city’s international airport and 20 minutes from the railway station.The Hotel has 404 rooms with a spectacular view out of the river-facing windows, especially in icy and snowy winters. The rooms are finely decorated and fully equipped with free broadband internet access. The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. The Hotel is well-known for its market-leading cuisines in its Chinese and Western restaurants. The Chinese restaurant serves Cantonese and local foods. The Coffee Garden caters international buffets, à la cart foods and beverages. In-room dining runs 24 hours. A vegetarian menu is available in all the outlets. Singing is performed in the Lobby Lounge every night. The hotel is really proud of its unparalleled catering services as well as its excellent banquet and conference facilities in the city. The hotel has a health and fitness centre, a business centre and a sundry shop. It also provides services like massage, air ticketing, laundry and limousine transport and parking. A waterfront park which stretches about 2-km is a few steps from the hotel. There you can enjoy a pleasant walk as well as a morning workout. An internationally acclaimed brand, professional service and hospitality philosophy will be an assurance of a high-end business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Harbin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Harbin
Shangri La Harbin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Harbin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.