We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive, quiet location with special Spanish/English speaking service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel
No.168 Yucai Street, Yuhua District, Shijiazhuang 050021, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 438 hotels in Shijiazhuang
Ann Arbor,Michigan USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Attractive, quiet location with special Spanish/English speaking service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have used this hotel on 3 trips now, staying 1- 3 days each time.
The property rates a 4 + star rating, with an attractive lobby, up to date guest rooms, and several nice restaurants (Chinese, Japanese and Western). Additionally, there is a typical lobby bar and a Western style bar.
One unusual service that they offer are "foreign butlers" - young Western guest service staff. I have met several, and all have excellent English as well as native Spanish. (They are natives of Spain and several Latin American countries.) Chinese staff also have a generally good English fluency.
The location is in a residential and university area; positive if you want quiet, mildly negative if you are looking for entertainment or restaurants in convenient walking distance. (Try the International Building Hotel or World Trade Center Hotel if you want to be in the middle of the action.)
The breakfasts were great -- even offering your choice of "bacon" and "crispy bacon" - the latter cooked to North American taste, the former matching the soft, slightly undercooked style common to China. Dinner at the Western restaurant was buffet only; a great spread (although I would prefer to have an a la carte option as well.)
Service was great at all of the facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms I have seen were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZMHY, Manager at Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Bpritts, Thank you for your comments and for choosing Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel during your three visits to Shijiazhuang. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and facilities in our hotel.

Also, we would like to tell you that we recently opened 3 new restaurants: Crystal Western Restaurant (Buffet and A la Carte), Kuppa Steakhouse and All Seasons Cantonese Hot Pot. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to recommend you some of our featured dishes during your next your next trip to the city.

We look forward to welcome you again in Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel.

Juan Carlos Rodo
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    69
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I haven't ever stayed in a hotel of this standard before, so maybe I am not a good judge, but I find it difficult to imagine how you could improve. Apart from the lavish decore, and high staffing level, the distinguishing thing about this hotel compared to others that I've stayed at in China is the level of service from all staff, from the greeters at the door to those that summon an elevator the moment you veer in that direction. I understand that some of the senior management is from Costa Rica, and I saw several instances of the Costa Rican staff coaching and mentoring Chinese staff. Their combined efforts are impressive and I appreciated the intervention of Miguel in sorting out a minor when I checked out.
It's a small thing, but on several occasions over a short stay I saw staff doing the kind of detail cleaning in the lobby (like corners and dusting). This explains why the hotel is immaculate.
With reference to an earlier review of the breakfast, both times I've sat at a table for two, so not/no longer a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZMHY, Manager at Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and facilities in our hotel. Also to know that all our Staff, including the Foreign Butlers, were able to provide you a memorable experience. We look forward to welcome you again in Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel and to offer you once again our personalized service.


Juan Carlos Rodo
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed two nights here in August and had a wonderful time shijiazhuang, largely due to my enjoyable stay here. The very best part of my stay was the service I received. Particularly from John and Alex from Costa Rica who speak very good English and so were able to liaise with Chinese staff for me to ensure my needs were met. They really were fantastic and even gave me their mobile number when I hired a taxi for the day so I could call if there was a problem, which I did. The hotel has all the amenities that you'd expect from a 5 star place, yet at a very reasonable price. My room was very comfortable and an enjoyable buffet breakfast was included. I did have to argue my case, on arrival, and show my booking form to get a non-smoking room which I had booked. Once this was agreed they were helpful and upgraded me to ensure I got what I booked. Thanks again, you guys were terrific!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stay at this hotel for three nights. Beautiful lobby and rooms. A good exercise facility. Nice breakfast. Exceptional value, this hotel in Europe or North America would be 5 times more expensive! The service people new me by name and were exceptionally helpful. Special thanks to Mr. Rodo, the Executive Assistant Manager who went out of his way to see to my needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Unlike one of the previous TA reviews I found everything about this hotel really good, including breakfast arrangements. I found lots of seating for 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8 people but didn’t see any school type 10 seating. Maybe the previous TA report was exaggerated! The room is great and the amenities and toiletries extensive, including shaver, loofah and high quality shampoos etc. I also like things such as a high quality iron and ironing board, essential for business travelers to look smart.

Good business center, good swimming pool and choice of restaurants also add up to quality hotel. There was a special person “butler” who looked after international guests. Some of the staff could speak good English including the restaurant staff.

My only Minor quibble is I could not get the room heating off, although it was winter and about 0C outside during the day, -10C at night, the room was uncomfortably warm for me at 25C. Also bathroom scales would be nice (but on second thought, maybe not - I can wait to get home before I find out how much weight I put on with the nice Chinese food.

My other gripe is the terrible pollution in China especially this city but I guess that is not the fault of the hotel

I have stayed at several hotels in Shijiazhuang but this is the best value for money

Room Tip: The Deluxe King no smoking suites are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shijiazhuang, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

My friends from Hawaii stayed there for 2 nights, two adults and a child,
they stayed in one standard room, they said the room is very quiet and clean, the waiters are polite, and there are some foreigner waiters/waitress for internship.
If you want to know more about the hotel and Shijiazhuang city feel free to send me messages.

Room Tip: Better price, better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
217 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

What a pity. This hotel would have gotten a 4 star rating from me, if not for the breakfast, but more on that later. The lobby is impressive and the hotel appears brand new. Check-in service was ok. The room was a surprise. It was large, well designed with the typical classy see through bathroom. Nice modern stand alone bathtub (not those dinosaur bathtubs glued to the wall types) and seperate shower and toilet bowl stalls. The other cushy essentials were also there, flat screen tv and plush carpet floor. I was thinking at some point at night, certainly a 4 star from this local hotel . Then I had breakfast. The breakfast restaurant was a nightmare. They had no one to usher you to a seat. And they group many tables together so each "table" seats 10. So you feel like you're in a school canteen or prison cafeteria. Lots of hotel guests milling everywhere, plates and food everywhere. My appetite went to 0 immediately and I retreated to my room. They should change this, fast

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel

Address: No.168 Yucai Street, Yuhua District, Shijiazhuang 050021, China
Location: China > Hebei > Shijiazhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Shijiazhuang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel is conveniently located in the southeast Central Business Development district of the city. The hotel has 450 luxurious and comfortable rooms and suites, 4 restaurants, 2 bars, and a total 3000㎡ of meeting space. The hotel’s first class facilities also feature Fitness Center, SPA and Beauty Salon. Additionally, you can overlook the city from the 30th floor Executive Lounge. Every view shows the unique taste and charm of Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel. With a strong artistic atmosphere and a romantic style, our modern facilities along with our excellent service will ensure that you enjoy a superb experience. We are looking forward to seeing you at Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Hotels.com so you can book your Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel Shijiazhuang, China - Hebei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhongmao Haiyue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.