We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Shijiazhuang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Shijiazhuang to your Saves list
InterContinental Shijiazhuang
No.119 Huai'an East Road, Yuhua District, Shijiazhuang 050030, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 510 Hotels in Shijiazhuang
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Impressive hotel, good location, excellent breakfast. Large rooms which are really excellent compared to many places in China. Softens the blow of being in Shijiazhuang. Mall nearby with food / shopping / cinema. Warning: air in this city is dire.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icshijiazhuang, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shijiazhuang, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We are really delighted that you liked InterContinental Shijiazhuang. Also we will share your comments with our team and we will keep improving our service standard. I wish to have the chance to welcoming you back to Shijiazhuang and to InterContinental Shijiazhuang in the near future.

With kind regards,

Apple He
Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
1
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a really great time staying at Intercontinental! Purpose of stay was business! Hotel rooms decoration was nothing in short of amazing! Very big rooms with very big size of bathrooms! Great toiletries as well! The swimming pool was very well maintained! The breakfast was just normal, could have been better if you consider the hotel's brand name! Anyways, while visiting this city again will definitely only stay in this hotel! The location is also very good with big Wanda shopping mall besides it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icshijiazhuang, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shijiazhuang, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your words on our website.We are really delighted that you liked InterContinental Shijiazhuang. Also we will share your comments with our team and we will keep improving our service standard. Thank you for your feedback again, and we hope to see you again when you visit Shijiazhuang.

Apple He
Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was the nicest Hotel i stayed in China. I only stayed two nights in this Hotel but everything was perfect, including food, service and the room. I strongly recommend this Hotel. The breakfast was very good including different types of breakfast, the internet service was good, and we spent some time in the lounge, which was also nice. The only problem was they allow people to smoke in the lounge(next to lobby). I think the smoking should be prohibited in this area.

Room Tip: the room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icshijiazhuang, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shijiazhuang, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,
We are really delighted that you liked InterContinental Shijiazhuang. Also we will share your comments with our team and we will keep improving our service standard. we are always seeking feedback from our guests to understand what they value and what can be improved, so we are grateful for your comments will be improved in the coming months. I wish to have the chance to welcoming you back to Shijiazhuang and to InterContinental Shijiazhuang in the near future.

With kind regards,

Apple He
Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Friendly staff with willing to help. Hotel room space is spacious. Clean rooms.It locates about 5 mins away to shopping centres with everything you need. Also it's about 10 mins drive to Hebei Normal University. Transportation is convenient. Besides, I love the room service they provided. I did not have a chance to use the facilities so not sure about that part. Overall, it was a nice experience so i'd give a five spots.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icshijiazhuang, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shijiazhuang, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your words on our website. We are really delighted that you liked InterContinental Shijiazhuang. Also we will share your comments with our team and we will keep improving our service standard. Thank you for your feedback again, I wish to have the chance to welcoming you back to Shijiazhuang and to InterContinental Shijiazhuang in the near future.

With kind regards,

Apple He
Assistant Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

hotel should be one of the best in that area, right at arrival can see that it is not really like that, missing help for laguage , check in was ok, did not get any upgrade ( i am just platinum ambassador member), send me to a room where outside on the corridor were a lot of noise ( it was maybe because i stayed only in executive floor!) after complaining they changed my room, that was ok , service at breakfast is really low , nobody clean the dishes ! maybe it was to early in the morning , only 2 guests are at 7 am there and it was to much to do for them to take care for that, also the restaurant manager is more busy to keep his colleagues happy with funny storys about his life, instead of manageing the restaurant!!!
food is average, not only at breakfast also lunch is not better ,
rooms are ok,
cleaning is ok too,
loundry is fast but not cheap,
fitness center is ok but it is better you take your water from the room with you because in the fitness they will charge for it ,
they have also free water but no cups where you can give it in !!
so they make money!! poor policy
location is good , nearby is shopingcenter with a lot of food places , golfcourse is direct infront of the hotel, park as well
annoying internet ! useing tablets need to log in every time when screen goes standby

Room Tip: ask for backside rooms , more quiet and less hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icshijiazhuang, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shijiazhuang, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying with us at InterContinental Shijiazhuang and taking the time to share your comments. We apologize after seeing your feedback. For the issue you have mentioned, we will promptly make the appropriate treatment and resolved. We will strengthen our staff English level, enhance standard of the hotel's internationalization. We will conveying you suggest to the relevant departments in a timely manner, so as to improve our environment and improve our quality accommodation services.
We hope you will choose our hotel again. We always make every effort for every guest to provide better service. Hotel adhering to Winning Ways values, the excellent work of the guests brand promise, to create beloved guests Exceptional Hotel, to bring you feel at home. Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Assistant Marketing & Communication Manager
Apple He
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms were very high quality. The service excellent. Not all staff had workable English beyond a few words output. Of course, I wish my Chinese skills were better than they are. But at a hotel of this quality, the front staff should have a better ability to communicate. In terms of language, the front desk was fine; the bar and lounge not so much. I was surprised how poor the air quality was in Shijiazhuang. Even in comparison to Beijing, it was worse on the days I visited. The location is not in the city center exactly, but close enough and conveniently located near a shopping mall with food and the standard stores. The noodles at breakfast were outstanding (indeed, everything was). The restaurant service was excellent.

Room Tip: Saturday morning at 6 a.m. there was a drum band playing directly in front of the hotel (??). Reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icshijiazhuang, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shijiazhuang, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying with us at InterContinental Shijiazhuang and taking the time to share your comments. Thank you for your satisfied with our service and catering, and hope this brings you a pleasant journey. You come to shijiazhuang, this may be a few days the weather some cloudy, so I couldn't make you feel clear and comfortable, looking forward to your next stay there will be the blue sky white cloud of brilliant sunshine. At the same time, we will strengthen the staff's English level and give each guest good services. We always do every effort for every guest to provide better service. Hotel adhering to Winning Ways values, the excellent work of the guests brand promise, to create beloved guests Exceptional Hotel, to bring you feel at home and continuous support in the near future.

Apple He
Assistant Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very well-appointed hotel, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, separate shower and toilet stalls in the bathroom, nicely designed and clean overall with free Internet that usually works. Really everything you'd expect. However, I won't give it five spots because it fails to meet expectations in other areas, particularly catering. I also find it a little noisy because of traffic outside and the air-con inside.

I've stayed her a few times and have had issues with room service resulting in very strong words. Basically, if you don't know how to cook something don't try to offer it - that's my advice. The Chinese cuisine may be ok but the western and Indian fayre I've tried have been awfully disappointing. I sent some fish and chips back because they were cold and floppy - clearly not freshly cooked in the deep fryer. I was none too pleased at the fact that they were not removed from my bill either. On my last visit, the breakfast looked great - wide choice, excellently presented. However, nothing that should have been hot was kept hot which makes the food unappetizing and seemingly stale. Fine for cereals, fruits and cold platters but I'm always tempted by the waffles and bread pudding. Disappointingly cold.

On the more positive side, the pool is nice, though not very big, with the spa bath attached and the sauna is not bad too. Nevertheless, you need to check that it has actually been switched on and is up to temperature beforehand. Twice I've seen staff come to check if it's being used so they can turn it down if no one is there - why? It's supposed to be hot. Smacks of penny-pinching to me. Still, unlike some other places I've been, at least there are plenty of towels ready and available in all the changing areas.

I do like this hotel but I wouldn't choose to eat there again and I'm content to nip across to the mall for fast food. As a Priority Club member I can get a free drink when I go...but each time I have to ask for the voucher.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icshijiazhuang, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shijiazhuang, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your staying with us at InterContinental Shijiazhuang and taking the time to share your comments. We apologize for the inconvenience about staying at the food and beverage. For you mentioned problems, we will make the appropriate treatment and resolved. We will strengthen the staff's service levels, improve the hotel's catering service, and we will promptly improve our environment. We hope you will choose our hotel again, and give us a chance to reach your dining satisfaction. We always do every effort for every guest to provide better service. Hotel adhering to Winning Ways values, the excellent work of the guests brand promise, to create beloved guests Exceptional Hotel, to bring you feel at home and continuous support in the near future.

Thank you!

Apple He
Assistant Marketing & Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Shijiazhuang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shijiazhuang

Address: No.119 Huai'an East Road, Yuhua District, Shijiazhuang 050030, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hebei > Shijiazhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Shijiazhuang
#21 Best Value Hotel in Shijiazhuang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Shijiazhuang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
InterContinental Shijiazhuang China - Hebei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Shijiazhuang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.