We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere we will never forget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Shanhaiguan Pass (Zhendong Gate)

Great Wall at Shanhaiguan Pass (Zhendong Gate)
Northeast of Shanhaiguan District, Shanhaiguan District, Qinhuangdao 066200, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Attractions in Qinhuangdao
Type: Libraries, Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is an important and famous section of The Great Wall originally built in 583 AM that played a significant role in the military defense of the Ming Dynasty. Shanhaiguan Pass is located in the small harbor town of Qinhuangdao by the Sea.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Somewhere we will never forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The morning of our visit to the wall was overcast and cold, small snow flakes were falling and the air was crisp. We manager to climb to the third lookout. That nearly killed us, but it was worth it even being overcast the views amazing. The sun started to break through just as we made it to the lookout, which was great. The steps are very uneven with some as low as 3 inches and others up to my knees. 18 to 20 inches which made the climb a bit tough at times. Comming down was just as hard as your legs started to turn to jelly and by the time we made it down we could hardly walk, but enjoyed every minute of it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    69
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Different but worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a must visit on a trip here. Nothing like the great wall near Beijing but this part has a lot of history. Explore the area nearby for interesting facts on culture and history.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Keep walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wonderful blue skiies, busy place, but once you get further up there are less people. Wear good shoes, take a drink, go slow and careful. Wonderful views and worth the walk. How many stairs? I lost count but went up a lot.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

There are no words that do this any justice. You have to see it for yourself! There are some quite steep parts, so if walking is difficult for you, I would not attempt this.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Amazing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I made my first trip to the great wall last month and it was beyond amazing. It took us a long time to get there but the trip was well worth it. This particular part of the great wall is the authentic original one so there were not as many tourists. Some points of it were challenging to get to and you definitely need to be able bodied and in shape to navigate the walls.
I did take some pics at http://blog.galiwood.com/2012/05/our-wild-trip-to-china.html
If you plan to travel to China, definitely make sure you tour this Great Wonder of the World.
By the way, the myth about being able to see the wall from space...not true.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Shanhaiguan Pass (Zhendong Gate) also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Shanhaiguan Pass (Zhendong Gate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Shanhaiguan Pass (Zhendong Gate), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.