We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one resort i would come back to again and again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Sanya to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.12 Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Scenic Area, Sanya 572000, China (Hedong)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Detox Spa Package
Ranked #1 of 1,167 Hotels in Sanya
4.5 of 5 stars 558 Reviews
Glasgow
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The one resort i would come back to again and again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Resort:
Mandarin Orientals set a very high standard, and this one makes no exception! There are 297 rooms, 18 suites and 15 2-storey villas to choose from all sprawled out over a generous 12 hectar beach front property.

The pools...Aahhhh the pools...I must say that the Activio pool beats all other pools i have experienced. And that includes several Four Season and One and Only resorts! The main pool is positively enormous and has the best child set-up ever. The small children literally have their own beach leading into the freshwater pool! It is also divided into very small kids, and a little bit older. Neat!
The Tranquillo pool is nothing short of stunning and has gorgeous views over the ocean!

In fact there are water features throughout which is lovely. Also some beautiful statues generously sprinkled throughout the resort which provides a nice ambience.

Location:
Sanya is Chinas Southernmost city and Hainan Island is Chinas only tropical island. Approx 25 min´s from the airport.
Please do take my tip and book the resorts car for the pick-up!!! You truly can end up anywhere but the MO otherwise. We sure did...

Room:
We booked an Ocean view suite which are approx 100sqm big + a large balcony. We had requested a top floor and were accomodated.
Room nr 6703 is located almost in the middle of the resort which comes in handy whenever you need to go somewhere as the resort is very large....They do have an excellent buggy service too which helps!
I cannot fault housekeeping with one single thing as the room was kept immaculate throughour our stay!
There were also numerous charming little touches that we appreciated such as our toddlers bed was made up as perfectly as our own. She was surprised in the room with little gifts out of the blue + her ammenities were lovely.
The bed is quite firm, and huge! The duvet and pillows are very comfortable and lux. The bathtub is oversized, and actually better if you´re 2 in it. Fantastic shower with 2 different showerheads + a rainshower as well as a bench to sit and relax on.
Loads of storage possibilities for both clothes and other items throughout the room.

Staff:
Now where to begin...? There are not words to begin to describe how lovely they are! Always there to help (discreetely too!), without ever needing to be asked. I would also like to mention how incredibly childfriendly they are!
There are some difficulties with being understood in English every now and then. But there is always a supervisor, or similar, around to help out.

Food:
I must say that I am impressed with the very high and consistent standard of the food throughout the resort!

Breakfast is served at the Pavillion. Has a big selection, most of it Asian influenced. They also serve lunch and dinner there. Lovely location being surrounded by water and both an indoors and utdoors area to choose from.
Mee & Mian is a fantastic noodle restaurant! They "only" serve lunch, but are conveniently located close to the Tranquillo pool and right by the ocean.
Fresh is their fish restaurant. And Fresh it is! We had a lovely dinner there one evening when could actually be open despite the terribly weather we had! Amazing table right in front of the ocean and excellent food and impeccable service (Hej och tack igen Iljas!)
Yi Yang is a beautiful Cantonese restaurant where we had some lovely meals too.

Didn´t try Mo bar, Sunset bar or Wave.

Spa:
Aahhhhhh the Spa. Not only is it large and gorgeous, but it is also excellent! Stephan Wagner (the manager) and i emailed before arriving and he provided me with excellent service and good suggestions and bookings.
Me and my husband do not normally spoil ourselves with treatments in resorts, but couldn´t resist... We both had a lovely bodyscrub each. I can truly recommend their Pearl powder and rice milk one, smells delicious, and then a full body massage. I tried the Filipino Hilot massage and was not dissappointed one bit. My therapist was a lovely lady from Burma who i highly recommend.
I also had a Revive facial, sumptuous is the word!
Last but definitely not least! They also have their very own Gong Fu Master (amongst a lot of other talents of his such as tea ceremonys etc) by the name of Master Hu. Please do book a session (or a few) with him if you get the chance! I had a brilliant time and got to experience something totally new and exciting :)

Details that matter:
We did for instance mention to Jenna at the Pavillion during a breakfast that we were thinking of changing our flight for a later one. Upon arriving at the concierge desk and starting to explain, my husband discovered that they had already prepared everything for him due to her sending an email asking them to look into it. Very nice!

The staff at the Spa had heard that our toddler loved the dried pineapple, so next time i was there the therapist (a very nice girl from Shangri-La in Yunnan who gave me the Revive facial. Sorry i am terrible with names)) had prepared a small bag for her to snack on. Very nice!

At check-in the toddler was given a whole set of beachtoys. Very nice!

Things to think about:
Ah yes, the rainy season...I guess the weather could have gone either way as the end of it was nearing. But alas, of course the worst weather Hainan Island had experienced sine 1961 had to happen while we were there...No fault of the resort of course, but do look into what season it is before booking.
Wireless internet can be free depending if you´ve booked a package where it´s included or are in a villa. Not superfast, but stable.
Once again, do book your transportation through the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    159
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
99
97
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

we just came back from 7 nights stay in mandarin oriental,it was beautiful hotel,lay-out of the room(ocean view room) are much better tha marriott sanya,very nice swimming pool for kids.very friendly staff. Manager Paul greeted when we arrive which is very nice.BUT NEVER GO OCTOBER IS sanya it was raining for 5 days that we wanted to come back home early.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu,
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

As my prior review said, I am a frequent visitor to Sanya. For this MO, the stay in May was the second time I stayed there.

For this MO, I think not much to say, just simply fantastic. The total construction of the totel is totally different with those hotels located in Yalong bay, from my opunion, Only this MO could be called RESORT. The entirely hotel was spead into a long houbour which back to the mountain, instead of those just one single building infornt of the beach. In MO, you can feel you are leaving in a true paradise which far away from moden cities. To in line with the construction concept, the inner decotation of the room is quite perfect also, you can feel the true nature in both outside and inside.

The service has been finetuned to match a realy high standard, whenever and wherever you make a request the response is quik and pleased. And, we still had some water sports in the sea which conducted by the hotel, the staffs make you feel safe and warm in the whole process, quite a good memories.

As to the food, don't worry, sorts of cusine style you can find: western food, cantones, BBQ, chinese noodles(mian), even hot spot, no matter which kind, it make you feel so good.

And the spa, located at a place in middle way of the moutain, you can really relaxt when you are in there.

pools are good, 3 pools, one is heated, so you can swim at any time.

In generally , this MO dose not like those crowed hotles in Yalong bay, prvide you a realy relax eviroment with high standard sercice and food.

One thing need to mention that, if you are a person who do like very large beachs, this one did not suiite you. the MO's beach is not very large, and sand is not that smooth, but I feel OK. If we have to speak something bad to this MO, only the beach could be the only problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

During our recent visit to the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, in Sanya, China all of our expectations were exceeded. The restaurants offered excellent service and quality,especially the restaurant, Fresh, the seafood place on the waterfront. The spa is amongst the best in the world, The property is beautiful, everywhere you turn the landscape is picture perfect. The staff is friendly and ready to serve. The rooms were very comfortable with great views. This is a true FIVE star resort..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Just came back from a great vacation spending one week in the beautiful Mandarin Oriental Sanya. We have been traveling to many places and stayed at many hotels, but I can confidently say that Mandarin oriental hotel in Sanya is one of the most luxurious hotel we ever been too. The relaxing atmosphere and attentive staff made our vacation. The staff is always smiling and it seems that they are always one step ahead. The Fresh restaurant is incredible for having a romantic dinner because of its location just by the beach, and the Fresh team took a really good care of us. I would definitely return to this hotel and I can recommend it to everyone who would like to have an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I love Sanya MO. Everything is Top-Class and the area is so beautiful!
The food, service, and activities are great. Best resort I have been to so far.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Three of us ( yes 3) gently swinging in a large hammock strung between two palm trees by the shore on a moonlit night with the waves gently lapping in the background will remain a special memory for years to come.

The hotel location feels secluded despite it's large size, it's nicely broken into units and well landscaped well to give a sense of discovery as you round the various paths and walkways. The three pools are well designed and offer a different experience from small sandy "seaside" for younger children through waterslide fun for teenagers to "horizon pool vista" for those looking to feel a little more relaxed and luxurious!

The food is very good if ( not unexpectedly) pricey, the only struggle was trying to get an adequately "well done" hamburger on one occasion (probably poetic justice for being such philistines when delicious Asian fare was on offer).

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds extremely comfortable, we asked for and received connecting rooms which made the logistics nice and easy for two adults and two teenagers.

Beautiful sunsets and a great bar location overlooking the beach to enjoy then from along with complimentary shuttle cars between rooms and facilities made the living easy!

Would we go again? - for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Address: No.12 Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Scenic Area, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Hedong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#1 Family Hotel in Sanya
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#5 Business Hotel in Sanya
#69 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the privacy of a secluded 1.2 Km nationally protected coral bay and nestled amongst lush tropical flora, Mandarin Oriental, Sanya is an exclusive retreat where nature is celebrated and tranquillity is assured. The luxury resort features a series of private low rise and villa accommodation with ocean and tropical garden views, innovative restaurants and bars, recreational facilities for both adults and children, a blissful Spa Village and distinctive indoor and outdoor conference and banqueting facilities. Located just 20 minutes from Sanya International Airport, the luxury resort provides convenient access to all of the area's major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Sanya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.