We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its just Beautiful!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sanya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sanya Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Sanya Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
¥1,294 (RMB)
Ranked #7 of 1,166 Hotels in Sanya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Its just Beautiful!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had originally wanted to stay 3 night in this hotel but reservation had made a mess (mainly on pricing) so we stayed for one night instead. We had our stay in lagoon access room type.
Check in: smooth and night duty manager, Jimmy came to greet us. Jimmy was v, friendly. I was given a choice (but no wifi in room"!) so we picked a coupon for drink. Was told this coupons worth Usd15 at front desk and i can order any drink i would like but when i presented it at the lobby lounge and wanted a coconut juice for Usd9, i was told i can only choose soda or coffee with the coupon. So i went and took iced coffee instead.
Room - clean and v well maintained. The resort was gorgeous with lush garden, nice pools!! V nice beach. We had our bbq dinner at beachside and it was awesome! staff at e dinner were super friendly and well above standard service!
Bfast choices were huge with asian and western choices. The atmosphere were so noce we sat at the cafe until noon viewing the garden and relaxing!
Check out: fast and efficient.
We had left a t shirt at the hotel and front desk manager Andy called us. Andy was kind enough to find a way to bring us back the T shirt. Thank you Andy!!
We will definitely be back to this resort though the rates were pricey compared to others. (100ml haagen daz icecream cost RMB70!!(>usd10)
The only thing i wished they had for was better wifi. Even in lobby the reception was v bad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort and leaving us valuable feedback.
We really appreciate your comments which would be very helpful to improve our service.
We're happy that you enjoy the vacation with us and we will be on your preferred list for the future. It's great that you're satisfied with the check-in, check-out experience and enjoy the food prepared by our chef. We're sorry that there was misunderstanding of coupon and we will look into this issue immediately. Despite of a comfortable staying experience, we also want to create some unique Sheraton memory to our guests.
Please also check out our promotional packages for a better deal in the future.
We sincerely welcome you and your family back for your next tropical stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    856
    82
    15
    10
See reviews for
39
51
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed at the Sheraton Sanya resort for 4 nights in April 2012. Due to our flight being delayed we arrived at 2 AM and our pick up from the hotel was there anyway including a child's car seat. What a great start to our stay! After a 40 minute drive to the resort we were quickly checked in and taken to our room. The infant bed that we had requested was made up and our daughter had a good night sleep.
We enjoyed breakfast and went straight to the kiddy pool (the biggest I have ever seen).
The kid's club staff is great and attentive, I left my 14 month old daughter at the kid's club while enjoying a spa treatment next door. My husband enjoyed 2 rounds of golf during our stay.
The only set back during our stay was the food. We stayed during renovation works on the Lotus cafe maybe that was the reason of the poor food quality. Who knows? We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner every day of our stay and never was the food really good. The hotel had many Russian guests and has employed some Russian speaking staff that also speak English. Anastasia and Sergei where great and very open to our comments about the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel to families with small children but not to food lovers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort and sharing your feedback.
It's our honor to provide you a relaxed and quiet enviroment for your vacation.
We're very happy that you like our pools and satisfy with our service.
Thank you for your understanding about Lotus Cafe's rennovation which should be done in a few weeks.
We sincerely welcome you back for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

While this hotel may have been flavor of the month and lived on the fact it hosted a few Miss World Pageants, I can tell you they would 'never' attract any such function with the current state of the hotel.

The service is very patchy and not anywhere near Sheraton standard nor 5 Star. Language is a big problem but the lack of initiative and attention is most frustrating. Poor show from a Starwood hotel.

The rooms are generally good though ours always felt damp and clammy. Bedding is low quality and not even close to the Westin heavenly bed. I have found far better beds in 3 Star establishments. Seems the Sheraton saved a few bucks on the last purchases.

Bathrooms are good.

Corridors were grimy and worn with tatty carpets, stained floors and walls and very 2 Star. This is supposed to be a Sheraton ?

Restaurant service was again patchy and amateurish. Very slow to get what you ordered and for a Sheraton and 5 Star , again well below par.

The Lotus Restaurant was under renovation though no work was being done so we missed one of the nicer features of this hotel along with infinity pool in the lobby also empty.

You will pay full Western prices at this hotel for average to shabby Chinese service and product.

I am a hard marker, but any discerning guest would ne annoyed at this place.

Pools are good and beach nice though some rubbish is now expected on the sea floor.

While not politically correct I will say that many of the Chinese guest are disgusting farmers who stubb cigarettes on carpets, drop rubbish where ever and still hack and spit throughout the property. I empathize with the hotel for having to deal with this problem but it is not new so they should be on top of it by now.

If you after a 5 Star experience, I suggest you look elsewhere.

This is a 5 Star property in a 3-4 Star condition with 3.5 Star service.

It may be worth a look only after a major renovation as it is now definitely overdue.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, General Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with the Sheraton Sanya Resort and sharing with us your valuable comments.
Obviously we did not meet all of your expectations on your most recent visit with us and for this we are deeply concerned. We strive to ensure every guest who visits us takes home some memorable experiences and feel relaxed and completely rejeuvinated.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms in general despite our signature Sweet Sleeper bedding not being to your liking.
Like all 5 star hotels, we choose to complete regular maintenance from time to time to ensure valued guests like yourself enjoy a high quality standard of features. It was unfortunate that your trip coincided with one of these times and our water feature was being cleaned however I am sure you enjoyed the many other outstanding features our lovely property has to offer like the well established lush gardens surrounding the 5 swimming pools and of course undoubtably the best position in Yalong Bay with clean white sand and clear warm ocean waters.
We do take all our guests comments very seriously and have addressed each of your concerns in order to strengthen our training and guest engagement from our associates.
It is important that we regain your trust and hope that you will give us the opportunity to work with you in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

I did not stay at the hotel, just stopped by walking on the beach. The hotel is right on the beach(don't look at the map.

The garden is superb, very nice atmosphere in the restaurant. Surprisingly not very expensive as you would expect in such places, and when i get my tuna salad(98rmb) it was really good and the club sandwich very fresh and tasty, enough for 2 people, with drinks altogether just over 200 rmb with drinks. I recommend the stop so after a long walk in the afternoon on the beach we decided to go there for dinner. Super tenderloin, so tasty and so tender, 1000 rmb meal for 2 with a bottle of chilean wine, definitely a restaurant to recommend

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
Your feedback is very precious for us.
We're engaged in improving our food quality and choices, as well as the service standard all the time. We sincerely welcome you to stay with us next time so that you can fully experience our 5-star services.
Thank you again for your comments, it's our pleasure to serve you during the Chinese New Year Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here 1 night during the Chinese New Year and it was the poorest experience I had with the Sheraton.

I arrived with my car and wanted to park, they refused me because I had no card or receipt that I checked in, so I drive to the lobby, they say I can't park there, so I ask where can I park? They say in the parking space area. So I drive down again and they refuse me again with a bad attitude and I'm unable to park. At the end, I park in the front of the lobby, check in and finally can park normally.

The rooms are ok, I paid a high 800 dollars a night because of Chinese New Year holiday.

There is a nice garden and beach, before you go to the beach they will check you if you really live in the hotel, again they ask you your room card rudely and without a smile.

I have been to the neighbor hotels, The Marriott and Ritz Carlton and there mentality is so much better and more professional, that I will book with them next time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments. We are saddened to learn of your experience during your recent stay.
With the festive season, we have initiated steps to ensure our guests are able to enjoy the hotel facilities and services, however, in this instance; we did not manage this appropriately with your encounter at the driveway and at the beach.
Our guests' comfort is very important to us and we strive constantly to evolve and improve. We have reviewed and taken necessary steps to enliven our guests’ experience.
Thank you once again for your comments. We sincerely look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Hotel is really nice with no gaudy color scheme to hurt your eye. Service was good tho' a little more smile is preferred but gym staffs were the best.
Food at the Chinese restaurant was very good and the pasta at cafe was good also. Breakfast is ordinary and tho' a buffet, like a war zone. Also, while having breakfast, a women had her kid peed into the reflection pool and the next morning, a woman next to us sneezed on to the floor and wiped snout on her chair.
There was a big wedding celebration when I was there and the place was really noisy, not necessary from the music but from the loud voices on the cell and the "yelling" type of conversation to each other.
The room director Brett and Chris(?) at the cafe were very nice.
On and all, I had a good time there and enjoyed playing tennis away from the crowd. All the unpleasantness from the clientele should be expected, after all, Hainan is China and these people drive the economy today.

Room Tip: The view is worth picking a room with a balcony on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to share with us your feedback.
It is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and service, despite the inconvenience caused. We value your comments and will strive to improve.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you in the near future and to showcase our Sheraton hospitality.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is located on the most beautiful clean beach. The Chinese are not great lovers of swimming and sun bathing so the beach was always very quiet. The sea was clear and warm and there was absolutely no rubbish lying around.
The hotel itself was wonderful with magnificent gardens and about five swimming pools dotted around. Service was exceptional with management always on hand to help when necessary, although the staff couldn't be more helpful.
This is the best international standard hotel in which I have stayed - and there have been many.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear guest,
It is a delight to learnt that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Sheraton Sanya Resort.
Your comments are well received and we appreciate that you have taken valuable time to share with us your feedback. We will definitely share this with our colleagues.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to create yet another memorable stay.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sanya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sanya Resort

Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sanya
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#67 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Sanya Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Official Resort of Miss World” for three consecutive years, the beachfront Sheraton Sanya Resort in the Yalong Bay National Resort District overlooks white beaches and inviting tropical gardens. Known as the “Hawaii of China”, Hainan Island is a paradise for creating memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Sanya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sanya Hotel Sanya
Sanya Sheraton
Sheraton Sanya Resort Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sanya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.