We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of South China Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added South China Hotel to your Saves list
South China Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Bay, Sanya 572021, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,167 Hotels in Sanya
4.0 of 5 stars 228 Reviews
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

From the moment we got to this hotel it was a struggle, the checkin was long and painful as very little english was spoken. When we got to our room which was supposed to be a Delux Sea View which we paid for we had a standard room over looking the bus carpark. We complained but with very little english spoken we were stuck with this sub standard room where the air con was so loud it kept us awake. The breakfast was just a joke if you got a table you were lucky they would run out of coffee cups, plates, food. The majority of the food was catered for the russians or chinese so we gave up in the end. The pool was not bad but unfortunatly it was closed several times during our stay for cleaning in the afternoon which is very poor management, and dont even think about a sun bed by the pool or on the beach if you are not up at 6am forget it the russians have taken them all. They even ran out of beach towels not once but 9 out of 12 days that we stayed. Unfortunatly this hotel ruined our holiday if only we had stayed at The Resort In Time next door

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    136
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

we booked a deluxe sea facing room and got a superior room instead,no balcony and just a small window which was broke.Even though our voucher said the room we paid for we got no one willing to help,got used to them laughing in our faces and NO ENGLISH.No one helped so we were stuck in a dorm 4 11 nights,us and our friends we met from Australia.The room was kept clean but smelt like mouldy mildew,the aircon didnt work and the fridge was warm,the toilet and shower were good but the bed linen was covered in stains.
Breakfast we gave up on,couldnt get a seat,tea was very lightly coloured water and unledd you love runny egg and bacon there was not alot else.
The pool was cleaned 4 times and shut during the day,it had a total of 9 sun beds around it but unless you were willing to get up at 6am the Russians would beat ya,the beech was fantastic,but once again not many beds available for free from the hotel and the complimentary beech towels,well all i can say is good luck.
The hotel photos look fantastic,trust me they must of been taken 10 years ago.
On a plus point the location is good and whilst we were there the fish spa was free.
If you want to stay in this location a better hotel is closer to the beech and looked fantastic when we visited,i cant remember the full name but it was something In Time
All in all i was glad i went to this area,Yalong Bay may have the better hotels but there is nothing there to do at night, but this hotel is hard work,2 people tried to help us and a Russian tour rep tried to get an English speaking rep to us,but they never showed
There are many better hotels than this one,iv been in worse around the world but these took great delight in ripping us off and laughing about it,oh how i wish i could understand chinese,then maybe i could of laughed with them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Came to Sanya for a week, and booked one night at this hotel (in order to explore apartment options for the following few days on the ground). Taxi (airport - hotel) is 40RMB; take your cab on the second floor (departures) or be ripped off at the arrivals.

Check-in was dreadfully slow - must have taken more than an hour. The breakfast buffet is pretty good. The hotel is right next to the beach in Dadonghai, so great swimming. The pool is also pretty good. The rooms (we had a suite) were nice a comfortable, and there was a free internet connection.

The problem with this hotel is that it is located next to something like an open-air arena. So the night we got there, for example, there was a rock concert practice until 2am, which made it utterly impossible to sleep. I called up the police and told the hotel staff, but there was no result, except that they dimmed the spotlights... The concert continued the next day (luckly I was not there). The site is also used for frequent fireworks, which also go well past midnight (more like 2am). So if you are looking for a quiet getaway, look somewhere else.

I don't know to what extent they speak English at the hotel, as I communicated in Chinese, but there are quite a few Russian tourists there, and they seem to be getting on well.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We booked a three-night stay at the South China Hotel, Sanya. We arrived at 15:30 due to our train arriving two-hours behind schedule. Although we checked-in late well still had to wait about 15 minutes before our room was ready. However, it was well worth the wait! We had requested a king-sized bed and in fact, received a California King-sized bed. Wow, very nice! The room was clean, spacious, and had a nice view of the sea.

The location of the hotel was great! It is located on the east-end of DaDongHai Bay. Because it is at the end of the beach it seems to be more quiet and relaxing. In the evening you only need to take a short, ten-minute walk to find yourself in the middle of all the nightlife. DaDongHai is centrally located between the beach areas. Traveling one direction will take you to Yalong Bay and traveling the other takes you toward the airport and Sanya Bay. The hotel offers a private van rental or you can use the local taxis if you are a clever negotiator.

The hotel amenities were average. We chose to try the breakfast buffet our first morning there. The food was a decent mix between Western and Chinese flavors. Although I've had better, I did leave the table with a full stomach. There were two other restaurants on the hotel premises. We never saw many people inside so we opted not to try them. There are so many restaurants in the area that you don't need to worry about finding something to eat. The spa/fitness center no longer exists and the pool was closed (no water inside) during our stay. The hotel staff informed us that the closure was due to the recent typhoon activity in the area. However, it was evident that the pool was currently under repair. The pool area does look very nice and I'm sure it will be wonderful once it has re-opened.

The service from the hotel staff was average. The front desk personnel were the least friendly while the concierge service was always very warm and helpful. One afternoon I ordered a drink from the pool-side bar. The bartender needed to run inside the hotel twice. Once, to get a lime and the second time, to get change. (Only in China. . . LOL!)

Overall, we had a very nice stay at the South China Hotel. We paid a reasonable price of RMB330/night. I feel that we received good value for our money with a hotel in a great location.

I must add one more thing. Although, I am a Westerner from USA, I have been living in China for almost five-years. I am more accustomed to the local culture and standards than an overseas traveler would be. I know what to expect when traveling in China so my standards may be a bit lower.

Anyway, I highly recommend this hotel if you want a nice room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

There are three main areas for Hotels: The resort area of Yalong Bay, Sanya, and where this hotel is in Dadonghai.

We chose a sea facing room with balcony, which overlooked two-level pool. The hotel is of a three/four star standard when compared to European beachside hotels, particularly Italy and Spain. In fact, Sanya made me think of cheap southern Spain locations.

Breakfast buffet was fine – there are two restaurants for Western or Chinese style food. The room was clean and comfortable. Tour booking facilities in the lobby. Billiards, table tennis and a tennis court. It is a very short stroll through passed the pool to arrive down on the beach. Nice soft sand, and warm water in April with air temperature over 30.

If you look european in Sanya everyone will talk to you in Russian; and all of the other foreigners at the hotel were from that big land.

Dadonghai shopping is a short stroll away with many eating options including the open air food market with fresh seafood and cheap beer.

Sanya is worth a visit if you want to see another facet of China, or would like to take a couple of days rest in the middle of touring. There are much cheaper accommodation options if you don't want to be beach-front. The Landscape Beach Hotel at the other end of the beach also looked fine. The Yalong Bay area is better for those wanting to get completely away from it all, and less interested in having a chinese experience.

  • Liked — Location beside beach
  • Disliked — Sanya/Danonghai is not paradise; but it is part of China
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South China Hotel

Address: Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Bay, Sanya 572021, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — South China Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your South China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South China Sanya
South China Hotel Sanya, Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South China Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.