We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well located for relaxation...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   National Resort Area, Yalong Bay, Sanya 572000, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 1,167 Hotels in Sanya
4.0 of 5 stars 458 Reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well located for relaxation...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Right on the beach, really relaxing to navigate from poolside to the private beach, but be adjacent to the famous pier and diving that departs from Yalong Bay. The lobby restaurant has great views and very comfortable couches on which to lounge, indulge in some great kabobs, sip on fresh orange juice, or assorted tropical drinks.

The hotel is dated, and the service has faded from when I first stayed there, but its still a great place to relax a few days or more. If you get the chance, take a gander at "end of the earth" via motorboat and check out the prehistoric looking rocks. Be prepared for your "guide" to try to charge you more while you're out on the boat, but just enjoy whatever you can see before the pirates try to head back... :P

Room Tip: Don't trust reservations or requests. Confirm, confirm, then demand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    244
    61
    16
    3
See reviews for
16
15
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last June when my wife (Chinese) was unable to get a visa for a trip we had booked to the Philippines. Sadly, Sanya - for all the hype - is not the Philippines. The hotel was ok, but a bit dated and rather a long way from most of the other hotels and restaurants in Yalong Bay. That said it was reasonable value for money and the breakfast was quite good. Would (probably) return to a holiday inn, but not in Sanya.

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view. If not you'll have a rather disappointing view of the car/bus park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We are priority club members and after a bit of a stressful start we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort. We had requested an ocean front King room but at check in (late at night) we were given a room on the club floor that overlooked the front of the hotel and a bus/car park. The room was not only dated but looked unclean as well. When we complained to the front desk they told us that no rooms were available but with a bit of arguing they moved us to an ocean front room with 2 twin beds with a promise that they would move us the next day to a better room (we were there for 3 nights). Anyway, the room that we got the next day was beautiful with a nice ocean view, balcony and a king size bed! We were pleased that they had obliged and the day staff was much easier to work with.

The resort grounds are gorgeous with lots of tropical vegetation, pools, bars, hammocks and a nice beach front. The beach is awesome with white sand and clear water and is "roped off " to offer some seclusion from the crowds that descend on Sanya beaches over the weekend. There is a nice market for jewelry and trinkets to the right of the resort and we enjoyed browsing the shops and bargaining! There are some roadside food places to the left and front of the resort. We did not eat there but many people seemed to be enjoying the food.

We had dinner at their main restaurant which was quite standard cuisine but sumptous. The 1st floor restaurant/coffee shop has afternoon tea which includes a small fruit and snack buffet. The view from there and the relaxing atmosphere was great and we truly enjoyed the tea time both days. There is a chinese restaurant on the ground floor which was crowded and had a good menu but we did not get to eat there.

There is a public bus from the front of the hotel that takes you to the Pedestrian street in downtown Sanya. It is a nice ride, unfortunately the last bus back is at 5pm which we were not aware of. So, after shopping and waiting for the bus for an hour we took a taxi back - quite expensive. Please plan your downtown excursion accoringly if you want to take public transportation. The ride to and from the airport is also long and costs approx. $45.00 by taxi. Do make sure that you ask the driver to turn on the meter or discuss the charges before leaving.

The club lounge on the top floor (for Prioriy club members)has a "wine and cheese" hour 5.30-7pm every evening. We went there only once but we were the only ones there and the "bored" attendant barely spoke english and was not helpful. However, we enjoyed complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvers and the beautiful view.

I am glad we stayed at this resort even though it was a bit far and out of the way. The beach,overall atmosphere, view and the resort (refurbished, ocean front rooms) made for a nice weekend trip to the Hainan Islands.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor ocean front room. I believe that most rooms will soon be refurbished so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is by no means a 5 or even a 4 star property. I'm starting to learn with all my travels in China that they have a much different grading scale of what 5 Star should consist of.
The breakfast buffet was not too bad and I would rate it as average for China standards.
Very old and outdated decor and the top floor has a very strong mold or wet dog smell when transiting the hallways.
You would be just as good sleeping on the floor as you would with the poor quality ultra firm mattresses.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Our hotel opened in 2001, facilities are getting old. We buy new facilities according to our schedule, such as we replaced all TV by LCDTV, all carpet one in 2009, all bedding in 2010.
As for the mold top floor, I am not sure where did you mean to. The ceiling of hallway is fine decorated. There is an outside floor out off lobby bar. During rain season, there do have some wet place. We keep them clean each day. And I have report you comments to ENG, they will think about to fix this issue.
As for firm mattress, we get many comments on this point. A softer kind of mattress which is liked by both Chinese and European will replace the old one soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This would be a 5 star hotel for China standards, which, would equal a 3 star hotel in the United States. I've traveled in China long enough to know to have low expectations when it comes to customer service and facilities for hotels. I can say that my low expectations were met at Holiday Inn Yalong Resort.

I will start with the positive which is very friendly staff. Though they are not very good at execution, the demeanor and attitude is very positive of each (and many) staff we dealt with. Harvey at the front desk was extremely helpful when we were obviously very frustrated with our rooms.

Also, the Kid's club is great for toddlers. We had to supervise them, but, there are a ton of toys and a spacious room for them to play.

The rooms are basic and clean. The beds are extremely hard and I'm a person who likes a very firm mattress.

Also, be very careful if you have active and curious kids. The window latches are perfect height for little children. It unlocks easily (just pull the latch up--very intuitive for even a 1.5 year old) and push the window outwards. There is no screen on the window either.

We stayed in the rooms next to the Executive lounge on the 7th floor. It was very noisy. There was some type of boiler or generator of some kind and we could hear it every time it shifted on or off. Possibly the elevator? Regardless, it was so noisy all throughout the night. Even the air/con could not drown it out. We would have requested a new room, but, because it was such a hassle to get the room we were currently in, we decided we could live with it.

The private beach is merely a stretch of fenced off beach NOT on the water. That element of privacy was nice, however, because the hotel is next to a major tourist site, the beach next to the water was extremely crowded. The workers their all chew betelnut and spit the red juice in the sand. It's pretty nasty. Some will make the effort to cover their spit with sand, but, some could care less.

If you are a Priority Club Rewards member, do take advantage of the Executive Floor Lounge Happy hour. For a family of 4 (2 young kids), you can have the snacks and drinks and then order one or two room service meals and make it dinner.

I would recommend this hotel during low season and for those on a budget who want to stay at Yalong. Otherwise, spend the extra money for a more "resort" experience at another of the big hotel chains.

Room Tip: If you want a connecting room, call in advance to check with the front office. I called the night be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments!
Friendly staff, though not very good at execution: we will do more training on this issue and also authorize them.
Noisy rooms: we are apology for this. We are near to the bus station. It is noisy outside. We have good sound-proofing window. May guest close the window when sleep. We also have find out those rooms are disturbed by our boiler and won’t sell them to our guest, just for house use.
As for firm mattress, we get many comments on this point. A softer kind of mattress which is liked by both Chinese and European will replace the old one soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Yalong Bay has excellent white sand beaches and crystal clear tropical water that is great for swimming/snorkeling/diving (8 m visibility when we stayed). Most of the beach is sectioned off for private resorts and the one public beach is a mad-house. Would strongly advise to stay at one of the hotels on Yalong Bay (Holiday Inn was great). Understand there is not much in/around Yalong Bay so this is not the place if you want a lot of nightlife - although we were fine with the hotel beach bar and the Crowne Plaza has a few shops/restaurants/clubs. A taxi into Sanya City is RMB 60 one way - but in all honesty none of the tourist attractions warrant visiting. My advice is to find a nice resort on Yalong Bay and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for your commends. Wish you have a nice trip at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a great hotel/resort on a wonderful stretch of beach in Yalong Bay. We had a few hiccups at check-in regarding our room rate but these were quickly resolved. Hotel staff are very helpful, the rooms are well-appointed and clean (recommend a sea-view room) and there is enough variety with the dining options. The beach and ocean were perfect (crystal clear, white sand, excellent swimming) and not overrun with touts. Cheers to Nancy Zhou (Assistant Manager) and Reggie Marcos (Bar and Beverage Manager) who were great during our stay. Excellent value for money and perfect for a beach get-away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay

Address: National Resort Area, Yalong Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#63 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Yalong Bay Sanya is located on the white sand beach of Yalong Bay, Sanya, Hainan Island, featuring crystal clear ocean, blue skies and only a few short steps to the water’s edge.1 hour’s flight from Hong Kong / Guangzhou 3~4 hours’ flight from Beijing / Shanghai3 hours’ drive from Haikou, capital of Hainan Island 50 minutes’ drive from Sanya Phoenix International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
Holiday Inn Sanya
Sanya Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.