We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace to the St Regis brand” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572016, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 1,167 Hotels in Sanya
4.0 of 5 stars 97 Reviews
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disgrace to the St Regis brand”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

There is a reason why this is ranked 38th in the Sanya hotel list. I should have trusted my instinct and the tripadvisor reviews and go for Ritz Carlton instead. Pls note that this is my first ever tripadvisor review and you know what? I am writing this right now after spending 4 hrs in this hotel. I cant even wait till i check out, this sums up my feelings.

This hotel is for sure not St Regis standard and I would put them on par with some local Chinese hotels. Here are the reasons:

1. Check in process is a joke. Guests had to queue up like waiting at McDonalds and when it comes to my turn, the staff just said wait a sec and walked off, I was unattended for 10 mins.

2. There is no QC for staff appearance. I am talking about basic tidyness. Stains on a few staff's shirts.

3. Room not properly cleaned. I see stains everywhere.

4. Chinese restaurant is a disgrace. I went for lunch at 2pm. As soon as I walked in I saw around 5 tables not being cleaned up after customers have gone. The scene was disgusting. 3 food items that we ordered ran out. Staff not properly trained it was very obvious and the manager was telling the waiter off quietly. The manager or head waiteress was a joke also. Everything was a joke.

5. This is my personal guess, but I assume the GM for this particular St Regis probably not one of the foreigners trained overseas in similar level of resorts. Otherwise the whole service level wont turn out like this.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review regarding your recent stay at St. Regis . We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, we were concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

We have noted your comments regarding the Check in process, Room cleanliness , Chinese restaurant experience and the Staff’s etiquette . Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. This is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to experience and I can fully understand your disappointment concerning the same.

Rest assured that we have looked into the matter and immediate action has been taken to remedy this shortfall in service which you experienced and to avoid recurrence of the same in the future.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future and certainly hope that your next stay will be as amazing as the last.

Allow Me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
10
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Conclusion: Although not perfect (yet), still an awesome experience. will only get better with time and experience. Highly recommend it and will be back

This stay: 7 nights. Upgraded to St. Regis ocean view suite. Everything in room works as it should except the water didn't go down fast enough in the bathroom, so it got flooded after 15 minutes of full shower water load (they didn't fix it). The butler room is not used, but didn't know that it's not used, so a bit of miscommunication.

Pros: Grand style (very luxurious), multiple pools, beach access, evening dinners. to my mind, the daily evening dinners (although a bit expensive) are really worth it, especially in good weather.

Considerations: like any property in Yalong bay, it's far from anything. prepare to stay inside property all the time. service still has teething problems. Kids club is nice, but they require parent to be together with the child, which makes it tough for parents to enjoy their vacation.

About me: East Asian male, based in Hong Kong, travels for business and pleasure 100-150 nights a year (mostly in Asia). SPG platinum 75.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Honoured Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits.

We have noted your comments regarding the water pressure and butler room. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. Rest assured that we have looked into the matter and immediate action has been taken to remedy this shortfall in service which you experienced and to avoid recurrence of the same in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Allow Me
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our fourth beach vacation in Sanya, and St. Regis topped all of my past experiences! The property is huge with plenty of spots to chill, the lobby, restaurants and bars, gardens, ponds, swimming pools and an amazing private beach. I had plenty a morning jog & swim, truly exceptional property to enjoy yourself in. the central swimming pool gets a bit crowded during the day, there's another less-visited pool in the east side though. The private beach is okay, water is clear enough to swim in the morning, although as the day progresses, it tends to get more seaweeds (the staff get up early in the morning to clear off the seaweeds), still a good place to just chill out, very secluded with free daybeds, cabanas and lounging chairs.

The loveliest part was the services. The St. Regis service is truly immaculate as known. We got a lot of friendly assistance during our 4-day stay, especially from our butler, Kevin Tang, who was really helpful and pleasant throughout. Other staff were awesome as well, we were constantly greeted, offered to help and what-not. I'm kind of a vacation junkie here and I've stayed at lots of 5-star hotels around the world, the St. Regis Sanya service is definitely top-notched!

I had left my swimming goggles and swimming cap in the bath robe pocket and the robe was taken away during housekeeping, I called the butler service to see if I could get them back; the staff helped me look and found them eventually, they really take care of their guests :) I got locked out of my room once and was helped by the staff as well.. (kinda forgot a lot of things here lol)

This resort is definitely recommended for anyone who's considering a perfect tropical getaway in Sanya. The only thing I can complain about, I suppose, would be the food. The taste and breakfast buffet selection could use some improvement. We tried Ming Xuan (the Chinese restaurant) and Social (international & fusion cuisines) but the taste was less impressive than that offered at resorts of similar price range in the area (e.g. we dinned at the Ritz Carlton in Sanya two years ago). Other than that, it was the perfect vacation we were hoping to get!

A special thanks to all the Sanya St. Regis staff, especially to Kevin!! Hope to have a chance to stay there again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Honoured Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review, we hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to learn that your overall stay with us was enjoyable. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members especially Kevin Tang and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality and Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Allow me,
St. Regis Butler service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rooms are just perfect, stuff helpfull real 5 star hotel. Big area to walk, beach are perfect, location of the hotel fabulus far away from main hotels of sanya. Exspensive though but we were celebrating new year. May be different time will be chaper. spa is very expensive

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review about recent stay at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to learn that your overall stay with us was enjoyable. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated.

We have noted your comments regarding the price, please kindly visit our Special Offer Page for more updated promotion information. Hoping to welcome you back again!

Allow me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

1 All Staff are friendly but the hotel system need to be updated. I booked a room for 3 days with my spg number, the check-in desk can see this, but the butler and the staff of restaurant do not get this info, so I have to confirm "I'm a spg number, and my number is xxxx" time after time. It's strange.

2 Good point: They provide baby care and children's club. Food is very good and not expensive. Garden is beautiful and room is spacious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review about recent stay at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to learn that your overall stay with us was enjoyable.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, we were concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

We have noted your comments regarding miscommunication regarding the SPG member details. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. Hoping to welcome you back again!

Allow me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a beautiful Resort - picturesque with great service and attention to detail. From housekeeping introducing room features to the business centre providing decent swimwear at a reasonable price, you really will have an enjoyable stay. The food is excellent and the buffets offer a nice variety of Western and Chinese food. Staff have great English even some of the housekeeping staff which makes it unlike many other five star hotels in China. The rooms were huge with superior bathrooms and opening out to a lovely balcony with much light.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review about your recent stay at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits.

Allow Me,
St. Regis Butler Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Incredible that this hotel passed internal Starwood tests to be listed under the St Regis banner. The management standard falls well below any other St Regis I've stayed at, and particularly the other St Regis hotels in Asia.

Whilst the infrastructure is comparable to other top tier hotels in Sanya the service and ingrained management problems are more suited to a 3 star local Chinese hotel than a top tier resort charging more than the neighbouring Ritz Carlton or Mandarin Oriental amongst others.

The problems were too numerous to list in entirety, albeit to provide a flavour we experienced the following:

. At both Friday dinner at Drifitwood restaurant (loud russian music for the beach private dining and separate local music from the main restaurant) and then again Sunday drinks in the lobby balcony bar (live piano player and loud radio music from the floor above), they had two separate and competing music medium's playing simultaneously, which drowned each other out and made it impossible to enjoy or even hear any of the music options on their own or indeed ignore the music as part of the background.

. Booking the ping pong table with the concierge to play ping pong, confirming the time and pick up the equipment from the gym staff only to turn up to the ping pong table and finding workers who have just shut down the ping pong table to polish the floor clearly five minutes earlier and telling us to come back the next day.

. My parents in law speaking with the front desk to book a hotel car transfer to the airport for the following day, but being advised that there is a free shuttle at their requested time so they should use that and thus booking and confirming same only for the free shuttle to never arrive nor anyone follow up (after 25 minutes of confusion the hotel did then provide a free car to the airport to my parents in law and another couple who had the same problem)

The quality red wines on the menu at Driftwood, whilst listed at decent prices, are clearly stored at room temperature rather than in a temperature controlled environment. Our first bottle was blown and whilst the staff happily switched it out, all the bottles were literally hot and all three bottles of red needed to be placed in ice buckets for 15 minutes before being suitable for drinking

When my requested medium rare steak was delivered as a very well done steak, by way of apology the restaurant served everyone strawberry ice cream as a free dessert as i had said not to worry about re-doing the steak. Whilst a nice gesture, they did not tell us they were doing this and did not give anyone an opportunity to order their own dessert. My wife and one of the other ladies there's favourite meal is dessert and they were each disappointed not to be able to order their planned meals.

Whilst not a service issue per se, one other point worth mentioning is that the main pool (above ground) has a transparent wall which faces the beach so all people on the beach can see the full bodies of the people swimming in the pool. Whilst initially a novel idea and unique, upon spending some time on the beach, this quickly becomes somewhat voyeuristic and not in a good way as people who don't realise their bodies are on display touch themselves and each other in personal ways clearly not intended to be on display through a wall they do not realise is not only transparent, but even has a magnifying effect due to its concave nature.

Whilst four of the six of speak Chinese (3 are native Chinese), the two guests who didn't speak Chinese had real trouble communicating with the staff.

Essentially the hotel is a lovely looking place with poor service and local management not close to international top tier standards usually maintained by St Regis. This is fine and common in China for a cheap hotel, but the St Regis charges at a minimum USD400 per night for a room comparable to other St Regis' round Asia. As such, they should be held to the same standards and they are far far below. I have stayed at many other hotels in Sanya including Sheraton and the Le Meridian also part of Starwood as well as JW and RC and the St Regis service and clear lack of proper training for staff is by far and away the worst I have seen for this level of hotel. Until this year I had been an SPG premier member for five years, but over the last 18 months have been using other chains more and more. This trip encourages me to continue with that trend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mr Atkinson,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Review during your recent stay at St. Regis. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience in St. Regis renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

I have noted your comments regarding Food and Beverage service and the quality of the food of the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. This is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to experience and I can fully understand your disappointment.

We have personally looked into the matter and immediate action has been taken to remedy this shortfall in service which you experienced and to avoid recurrence of the same in the future.

Mr. Atkinson, thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting St. Regis in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality St. Regis renowned for.

Allow Me,

Sunny Heng
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort

Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sanya
#13 Family Hotel in Sanya
#17 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#74 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort is ideally situated on a generous stretch of the most coveted location on Yalong Bay, with exclusive access to more than 800 meters of pristine coastline. A resort unlike any other on Hainan, the St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort offers wide appeal across a variety of audiences – from business executives to couples seeking romance to families seeking a fun and relaxing vacation. The resort is exquisitely designed with luxury in mind, offering 401 contemporary guest rooms including 28 beachside villas. The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort offers a world of epicurean experiences, with three full-service restaurants, a wine bar, and a tea room. In addition, the St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay will be the only resort in Sanya that offers the signature St. Regis butler service to all guests, as well as South China’s first Iridium Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.