We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class beach has it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dadonghai Beach

Dadonghai Beach
Dadonghai Tourist Area, Tiandu County, Sanya 572021, China
0898-88228228
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Activities in Sanya
4.0 of 5 stars 289 Reviews
Type: Beaches, Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“First class beach has it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This beach has the soft sand, warm clear water, tiki bars and food, loungers and more, to me making it one of the top beaches I have been to, and I have been to some of Dr. Beach beaches. It had everything going on and something for everyone. English is spoken at some places and steak was on the menu at one I saw, a rarity in China. I had a beer and pizza beach side for 5 usd, the western end is more Chinese and cheaper food. It has vibe, I enjoyed it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    118
    39
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dining out at Dadonghai Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The beach at Dadonghai Bay is nice but the sand at Yalong Bay is even better. It's very fine and I think it is among the best that I have ever seen. The dining at Dadonghai is better. There many eateries along the beach and they are all opened at night, you have a wide choice to choose from. It is crowded but it does not spoil the fun. It is pleasant to stroll along the boardwalk to see what you really like. There is not much hard selling and the price is reasonable. Do check the prices before you place the order (which is a good practice anywhere you go) so as to prevent misunderstanding. There have been some rip off at some of the restaurants in Sanya so it is good to be cautious. Overall, it is still a great place to dine and I certainly recommend an evening by the beach to relax.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Sanya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Sanya Backpackers made our stay in Sanya perfect! And ofcours the weather was awesome! And the surfing lessons that I follow were really exciting. Definitly want to come back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khabarovsk, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most popular bay at Hainan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Dadonghai is most popular bay because of price and location. Many hotels with middle prices (cheaper only in Sanya bay). A lot of café's and restaurants placed there. Taxi to downtown ~15RMB by taximeter (sometime taxi driver offer pay 30 or 40 RMB without taximeter, but it's always more 2 times then by taximeter, no problem to find taxi who will agree use taximeter).
Beach very good, but there two locations where sometimes a lot of people because time to time arrive buses with tourists from other part of Hainan an they going to beach to make photo or eat something on the beach. Water in this bay warmer then in rest because this bay more close between mountains.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice beach with bars & restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It's better to go in the morning. Chinese like to go at dawn to avoid sun so it's busier. They're no hawkers apart "pro photographer" or no "beach food" like in Cambodia, Shianoukville. Many live bands in restaurants.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadonghai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Dadonghai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dadonghai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.