We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apr 2014 La Costa Hotel Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Costa Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Costa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Costa Hotel
No.167 Sanyawan Road, Sanyawan Tourism & Resort District, Sanya 572100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 1,049 hotels in Sanya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Apr 2014 La Costa Hotel Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hotel, Lobby & check-in:
There were a lot of mosquitoes in the lobby as it is not air-conditioned. Counter staffs were few but friendly. It is true that most of them speak Chinese and limited English. When the counter staff was processing my check-in, there were several hotel guests that interrupted her and by helping them with their requests, my check-in was pretty long.

Breakfast:
There were flies around due to the hot weather and the restaurant is not air-conditioned too. Variety is little but the spread is fine, they have cereal corner, cooked food section, egg station, break corner etc. As a whole, the food is rather salty. One recommendation would be the corn juice.

Room:
The room was spacious but we felt that the room's air-con was not strong. The bathroom and the sleeping area is only separated by this blind, no glass in between at all. If you use the bath-tub, you may wet the sleeping area. When you use the standing shower area, the drainage system is very lousy as the water does not drain off fast enough. The basic toilet amenities (toothbrushes, toothpaste, razor etc) are provided. Although the bed is The cushioned headboard for the beds is a bit dirty and old. We realised one of our beds' bed-sheet is dirty too.

Nearby:
The beach is just across the road, walked through the swimming pool area. Just be careful of the traffic when you cross the road! The beach is nice and there are jet ski for rental. If you exit from the lobby, turned right and you can find a convenience store. The hotel location is far from the main shopping and eating area, which is nearer to the phoenix island.

Overall, the experience was average as we have moderated our expectations before we check-in. We will most probably not return for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile


Stayed in this hotel in spring festival, I was a very bad experience specially for food... only chinese food , no western food... all the staff are chinese and don't speak english.... no foreigners exist there.
For the service...we have to call the cleaner to change and clean the room.
Very bad experience for me and my family. .. but we were lucky because I find very prestigious hotel
It's the pullman hotel... very good break fast. ..very very good dinner buffet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very comfortable hotel located only two minutes walk from the beautiful tropical...and empty beach (but maybe April is the low season?) Ther room was spacious and clean with modern furniture. The bathroom - if you occupy the room with somebody you are not very close to, may be a bit uncomfortable. Although there is a shade on the window, it does not cover much :) Goergous view from the balcony - straight onto the beach. The internet connection is very good and the hotel breakfast is really tasty. Especially the fruit! The hotel has not only a great swimming pool, but also its private beach. The hotel staff does not speak English, so it is good to have a small Chinese dictionary with you. We did not manage to find a restaurant nearby (the closest one we found was in the city centre, 20 minutes away by taxi). Beware of the taxi drivers! It is better to ask the hotel staff (using dictionary!) to hail a taxi for you. Otherwise you may be charged double or even tripple.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Costa Hotel

Address: No.167 Sanyawan Road, Sanyawan Tourism & Resort District, Sanya 572100, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Sanya, Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Costa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.