We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Sanya )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Sanya Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanya Backpackers
No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SanyaBackpackers@Yangshuo
Ranked #2 of 73 Specialty lodging in Sanya
Changsha, Hunan, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Sanya )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hostel is really well-located, 3 mins on foot to the beach. The owners Chris and Linda are super-friendly, very helpful, they manage to create a very family-like atmosphere. And it's the cleanest hostel I've ever been to, their shared bathrooms are sooo clean ) they change bath towels every day, and beach towels are there for free, just behind the reception desk. Another perk is the proximity of the bus stop where you can take a bus to the airport for only 5 yuan, and banks with ATMs that accept foreign cards, and lots of small Chinese cafes where you can have a tasty meal under 30 rmb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    246
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
58
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The week in Sanya has been a real blast, enjoyed every single moment of it, and thats mostly because of the organized,clean and friendly Sanya Backpackers!

Thanks again Chris and Linda! until the next time!

Amedeo

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A very comfy cozy hostel at a great price range. The hosts Linda and Chris are fluent in English as well as Chinese and are very friendly and helpful. The hostel's bar has good deals and big drinks, situated in a little leafy courtyard that's great to sit at and chill with other backpackers at night. Also, the hostel mascot Mimi, an adorable puppy, is always at your feet chilling out and looking for scraps. Club rules however require that you don't get Mimi drunk.

Had a great time, will def stay there again next time I'm through Sanya.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

When you are looking for a place to stay in Sanya, then i just can truly recommend chris's, linda's and for sure mimi's hostel :). The time there was more than awesome! It all begun at the arriving, because chris was sitting outside with other guests and welcomed us so friendly, introduced us immediately to the other guys and gave us a party recommendation for the evening. Through that we got easily in contact with the other guests at our stay, which sweetened the whole experience. I also took surf lessons from chris, which were very practical oriented, which was my kind of taste. As a German i like regulation and I think that is the big advantage of Chris leadership style, he has some rules and you should obey them because it guarantees a good living together.

So to put it all in a nutshell, i really recommend you to stay here! You will certainly not regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haikou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Second time back - 1st time was in 2012, and the place was excellent. I came back a year later and the place was even better. Chris and Linda, the owners of the hostel are excellent hosts and will help you with anything you need. They both speak English which makes checking into the hostel and also asking for local advice a breeze. Rooms are clean and made up every morning when you leave. It's a quick walk down to the beach, there is a newly opened bar (new since my last time here in 2012) which had great prices for drinks and a good selection. I will be back many more times in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Chris and his staff are so lovely, they made the stay in Sanya so enjoyable. Clean rooms, clean towels, air conditioning, good food. All the staff were really helpful and getting clean beach towels and beach mats every day was a lovely touch. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a great value place to stay in Hainan. £30 for 3 nights! Awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a wonderful hostel! The owner Chris is very willing to help guests navigate Sanya. He even led my friends and I to a restaurant and helped us order. Ask about anything that you want to do in Sanya and your questions will be answered. The hostel is extremely clean and the rooms and beds are swept and cleaned daily. Sanya Backpackers has a very warm and friendly atmosphere that will surely make you feel welcome ;D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Specialty lodging in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Backpackers Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanya Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.