We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Advertized” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sonic Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sonic Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Sonic Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   No.168 Sanya Bay, Sanya 572000, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 1,172 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wuhan Hubei China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Better than Advertized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

A great stay in an open hotel, clean rooms, hot showers, and courteous staff. Food was adequate albeit a little slow. The beach bar was fantastic. The room was checked daily and sometimes twice. No complaints here. I'll stay again on my next stay. Could be closer to town.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    174
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
20
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

+
Hotel has very beautiful chinese gardens,chinese decorations and swimming pool

-
Bad food, small selection.
Missing rules of hygiene in the restaurants.
Very poor program all inclusive.
Very noisy beach.
Millions of mosquitoes everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Certainly looks good and our room was clean & nice, but the service was not great. Servers at the beach restaurant seemed annoyed by our being there (nap time?), and it took more than a hour to get our orders of French fries & satay.

Despite asking repeatedly about opening the pool slides, we were never given a straight answer. Neither slide was open during our whole visit. Small pool was very dirty. Filled with new water each day but no sign of pool chemicals.

Nice, but for the price we expected better service. Mini cake delivered for my husband's birthday was a nice touch.

Beach was ok but crowded. Lots of peddlers & ATVs going all day. If we go again to Sanya, we'll try a smaller hotel to the west on the beach, away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Don't bother with "ocean view". More of an "abandoned hotel" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

One of the many mammoth hotels on Sanya Bay. The position is convenient just because of its proximity to the airport (which is also a disadvantage due to the noise) but to go to nice beaches it is necessary to go for long taxi rides. We had a seaview room, which was big and comfortable. The breakfast room was extremely crowded and noisy. The food selection was ok but nothing special. Overall a good option fort short stays in Sanya or if budget is a concern but if you can book in advance the island has better hotels to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend in March 2013, I picked the hotel because of the location close to the airport (15mins by taxi). After some of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised, the hotel staff were super friendly even at 3am in the morning (flight was delayed) and the hotel driver was great (maybe a bit too chatty for 3am :-)). The hotel room was very spacious and clean (cleaning was done 2 a day). And I loved the balcony bathtub which had a great view at night! Both the pool and the private beach section were great (to reach the private beach there is an underpass). The breakfast was good, but quite busy, so it's better to get there early. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSWICH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Absolutely amazing from check in to check out. All the staff were very courteous and helpful, they treat all guests like kings and queens. 3 fantastic restaurants, can be expensive but well worth it. The breakfast is out of this world with so many choices. Our apartment were huge, with 2 bedrooms, each with en-suite and flat screen tvs, as well as a large study, balcony with outdoor bathtub, sea view, large lounge with large TV and dining area, all with very good furnishing and decors. Large swimming pool area with water shoots and slides, large outdoor jacuzzi. Plenty of bar areas for you to lounge about, relaxing, piano bar also. The hotel can offer you a personal driver for the whole day for very little money. The beach is just across the road with bars and live bands every night, you can rent beech buggies, jet ski etc. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed, will recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Ocean Sonic Resort was home for a week over Christmas 2012. We booked through Ctrip and arrived to a wonderful reception. The hotel lists itself as a 5 star, but I would consider it a 3-4 star by American standards. The rooms wer spacious and the balcony was gret to see the ocean, howevere we also overlooked the trash dumpsters across the street and employee quarters. The pool definately lived up to the pictures. Our children loved sliding on the water slides and playing in the pool. The beach is easy to access but you did have to walk across a very busy street. It was easy to access towels and relax on the beach! It was difficult to get a cab inthe evenings so you need to prepare and anticipate the needs. The included breakfast bufet is an andventure! Plan to get there early and lots of pushing and shoving! The food over all is good, but the number of people that are there to clean tables and serve is limited so not the cleanest area. We were told it would be difficult to get around speaking English only and it did pose a few issues. The room service only spoke chinese and we had to locate an english speaking person to get simple items. We would definatley stay here agiain but would ask for a different view! Mia Casa restaurant in town was great! Also dono tmiss the walking street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sonic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sonic Resort

Address: No.168 Sanya Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#27 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Sonic Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Ocean Sonic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sonic Hotel Sanya
Ocean Sonic Resort Sanya, Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sonic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.