We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost like a paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort to your Saves list
Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Yalong Bay National Holiday Resort, Sanya 572016, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,167 Hotels in Sanya
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“almost like a paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We got only 3 night there but everything was amazing!
The resort is on a Hill, we got a private villa with excellent service!
Expensive but worth to pay for!
The breakfast is great, whether western or chinese food.
The Thai restaurant for lunch was almost like in Thailand. 4,5+
I enjoyed the stay very much
We are in China and unfortunately it's never quiet in all of China except in the night

Room Tip: Beautiful wooden houses , Almostin the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    70
    14
    2
    9
See reviews for
5
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We originally booked a room in Eagle area and tried to change to the Egret area. This was deemed a cancellation by agoda. We had to spend much efforts to convince the agoda sales executive that we were trying to change the room, not cancel the booking and that this is better for the hotel and agoda since the Egret room is more expensive. The sales executive promised to check with the hotel. It was not a last minute request and there were no response even to the day before we were supposed to leave for Hainan. Had to call agoda and the hotel twice to get the amendment sorted the day before we were supposed to fly.
Typhoon Nesat arrived on the day we were to check in. We called from Haikou and were told a postponement was not allowed and that the full sum will be deducted if we do not arrive. We braved the typhoon to make the trip to Sanya. We had so much difficulties locating the hotel as the name on the road signs (热带森林) were different from the website (人间天堂鸟巢度假村). Doesn't help when the staff who answered the phone gave ambiguous directions to our driver when we called for help. (what kind of stupid instructions is "we're right here!!"?) After finding the national park, we tried to follow the signs to drive up the hills to look the resort but were stopped by security due to road closure from the typhoon. After much prompting, we found out that the resort’s reception is actually 50m away.
Although it was pouring, the reception staff stood at the door without bothering to offer any help to shelter us with umbrellas nor carry our luggage. We had to pay for a third person in cash (as the credit card terminal was down due to the typhoon) although the sum was already deducted through agoda. The reception subsequently informed us a refund will be made when we check out. A car was dispatched to drive us to another reception area in the hills. This time we were offered umbrellas and help with luggage in the torrential rain. Staff from the second reception area also offered us raincoats.
The room was clean but bedsheet and towels had to be brought in for the third person (even though we made the reservation for 3 and had arrived in the evening). The shower and the toilet share the same transparent sliding glass door and the bath tub is out in the open in the living room – both arrangements may not be ideal for some.
Computer in the room was a surprise though.
Due to the typhoon, there was a black out at 4am (we were notified in advance).
Service standards were inconsistent. When we were checking out, the frontdesk staff were quarrelling amongst themselves in front of us over some office politics. While the front desk faired poorly, we were very touched by some of the staff. Someone came to hack the branches right beside our house in the middle of the night as part of safety measures for the typhoon. We ordered room service in the first night and were touched by the warm service in the storm.
The buffet breakfast had a lot of varieties but most food were not kept warm. Dinner at the Western restaurant (chicken rice, wanton noodles and pizza) was good (except that the pizza had onions although the menu did not specify so). Everything in the resort (meals at restaurant, room service, etc) had to be paid by cash because their credit card terminal doesn't work, even after the typhoon was gone and electricity,phone lines, internet connections were all back in order.
We love the closeness to nature and enjoyed the walks in the area. I'm not sure what's with the guides and tourists there- they seem to find joy in screaming at each other while they're visiting the various sites and hollering 'oui!' at other passing shuttle buses. Quite a nuisance and rather uncouth I would say. Noticed that such acts were mainly from passengers on shuttle buses who came in tour groups, not the individual visitors. I've always thought that low noise levels should be observed so that the living environment would be conducive for fauna? Those who stayed too near the travel routes must have been badly affected. We were lucky we only heard faint echos from our room.
We stayed for 2 nights but were unable to use the infinity pool (one of the reasons for changing to Egret room) due to branches and sediments from the typhoon in the pool. The house keeping came, but didn't do much about the debris in the pool. So we lived with a murky pool throughout the 3 days. : ( The public pool's clean by middle of the day though.
We probably went with too high an expectation? It was unfortunate the typhoon worsened the situation of things.

Room Tip: Request for rooms which are not so near tourist paths so that you won't have tourists trying to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

the place is really gorgeous, just like in the movie, 'if you are the one 2.' the room deco, facilities and hygiene are great too! the matress and pillows are perfect and my friend and i slept sooo well! not to mention about the in-room and outdoor pools! food in the restaurant (we tried room service and the thai restaurant) were okay. price is reasonable (not cheap but okay). so we loved it but...

we arrived at 6pm to check in and were given a room not the one we booked online. this may be the problem of the booking website (so be careful when you choose a website to book your hotels!) but the receptionists were not very helpful. then we were hungry and tired so we just accepted the wrong room. however, we found the room used when we got there. the computer was in use and the bed was used, slippers were over the floor, water was drank. so we waited and waited. they then offerred an 'unqualified room' which they did not use cos there was no computer. it was 9pm then and we kept on waiting. then we couldn't stand it anymore and called them to tell them we were not happy with the experience as well as their arrangement, and i asked for an upgrade. yet have to give them a credit that they responded to complaints. they then managed to arrange an upgraded room within 10 minutes. however, it was 10 when we settled in the room and ordered room service. then the day we checked out, we called them at 11:30 to collect the luggages. we waited till 12:30 and still no one came. we went out and they said they didn't get the message from their colleagues. he was helpful so it was fine. but we still waited another hour for the car (without the cars, we couldn't get anywhere in there). they explained it was due to the rain for the delay. however, it was 13:30 already and again, we were hungry, plus the restaurant closes at 14:30. so we called to complaint (yes again), then the car arrived in 10 minutes. strange but we were starved and complained a few times in order to get our service in our vacation.

to sum, the place and hardware were perfect, just hope that they can work on their sofeware so to give less hectics to the customers in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Having had a few days stay in an apartment at Sanya Bay we rented a luxury tent here for 2 days (and extended to 3 as 2 wasn't enough) The resort is absolutely beautiful and well worth a thorough exploration. Our tent had a magnificent south facing view (to Yailong Bay and the Sea) - the place is full of butterflies - and a few other bugs obviously - but you sleep securely and comfortably under a mosquito net and with storms during 2 nights it is an experience not to be missed. The separate bathroom and balcony were great. CAVEATS - it is a popular park for day visits and the Chinese seem to enjoy nothing better than shouting at other buses as they pass each other - so some distant noise - The Thai restaurant was good with a view to die for - but the Mojito cocktail we ordered bore no resemblance and was sent back (stick to Tsing Tao beer) - the Philipino singer was excellent. Another restaurant could provide no drink other than tea and when I asked for drinking water to go with my meal this proved impossible. Few staff spoke English though Sofya at Reception tried very hard to help us and with perseverance succeeded - despite these 'blips' and the relatively high price (to stay and to eat and drink) I would not have missed this stay for the world and the memories will last for ever

Room Tip: Only tents were available at booking - we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

First the good points: The hotel is located in a nature reserve in the mountains above Yalong Bay in Sanya. The hotel is in three separate locations; there is a vacation tent camp, the West area and the East area. The rooms are actually individual cabins nestled on the mountain side. The cabins are nice - well equiped, spacious and private with fantastic views of the reserve. If you pick a cabin in the East area you are close to the 2 main restaurants in the hotel (Thai and Western), if you pick a cabin in the West area you are near to the swimming pool. To get from one part of the hotel to the other you need to take a ride in one of the hotel's buggies (it's about a five minute ride from East to West). We picked a cabin in the West area.

Now for the bad points: The nature reserve is a major Chinese tourist attraction. From dawn to dusk each day thousands of tourists are carted around the reserve in open sided buses. They are dropped off at certain scenic spots where they take photos, walk a short distance and then get picked up by the bus and taken to the next scenic spot. The tourists are very noisy and wherever you are in the reserve you can hear them. One of the scenic spots where the tourists are dropped off is called "Thousand Li umbrella", it offers great views of the nature reserve and is directly above the hotel's (small)swimming pool. The tourists have a clear view of the swimming pool and if you decide to go swimming you do some within full view of bus loads of noisy camera carrying tourists - some of whom seem to think that people sunbathing / swimming are part of the local wildlife and take photos accordingly.

The buffet breakfast (served in the Western restaurant in the East area) is terrible (I've been in 2 star hotels that serve a better breakfast). We also ate lunch in the Western restaurant on our first day. The food options were very limited (sandwiches, pizza, burger, spaghetti bolognese), the taste / quality below average and the prices extortionate (85 rmb for a club sandwich plus 15% service charge). We ate dinner in the Thai restaurant and found a similiar story of below average quality food and high prices. The hotel gives each guest one 380 ml bottle of boiled water per day. Once you've consumed that you need to pay 15 rmb for a 350 ml bottle of water to drink.

None of the staff seemed to be able to speak English and the majority of the guests were Chinese. If you don't speak Chinese you will have real problems staying at this hotel.

Whichever part of the hotel you stay in you will need to make use of the buggies to travel in and out of the hotel as well as from the East side (where the restaurants are located) to the West side (where the swimming pool is located). Although the journey time is short there are usually long waits for a buggy to show up and take you where you want to go.

In addition to the above we had problems with our room card key which took a long time to resolve and with room service (the food delivered was not what was ordered - the food was ordered in Chinese by a native speaker so it wasn't down to a language problem).

In short, despite it's nice rooms and fantastic views this is a massively overpriced and overrated hotel. We couldn't wait for our stay to end.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Amazing hotel -
fantastic views of the island
total tranquility
gorgeous and unique layout - huge balcony and outside but sheltered bathroom
good food and can walk up the hill for other options

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is a very unique Sanya experience! I stayed with a friend in one of the west section's Eagle Rooms, which looks like the treehouse every adult wishes they had. Our room consisted of two full-size beds, a lounging nook, an office nook (computer with Chinese/Great Firewalled Internet access, "high-quality" speakers, minibar), toilet, shower, bathtub/jacuzzi on the balcony, and a few geckos (!). Our room had partial view of Yalong Bay and partial view of tourists walking around the national park. (Not good if you plan to soak in the outdoor bathtub during the day.) To get around the park, you can call for the resort's Landrovers to pick you up. Watch out for long waits during rainy weather (which should not happen often in Sanya). Restaurants are located in the East Section. The Thai restaurant has the best papaya salad I've ever had. The breakfast in the Western restaurant has your typical buffet spread of Chinese and Western food. Go for the fresh fruit! Service is very friendly and eager, though not all staff speak fluent English. The resort's East Section has a lot more rooms, of varying sizes, than the West Section, but they look less like treehouses. There's also a "campground" area, which I didn't venture to check out.

Spend some time checking out the park. There's a cool suspension bridge and some great vantage points for taking pictures of the bay and beach.

One thing to remember: the resort is INSIDE the national park. If you want to go to the beach, you need to call the hotel to drive you to the entrance of the park and then hail a cab to get to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort

Address: Yalong Bay National Holiday Resort, Sanya 572016, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#33 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Hotel Sanya
Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort Sanya, Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earthly Paradise Bird Nest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.