We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuzhizhou Coral Island

Wuzhizhou Coral Island
Houhai Village, Linwang Town, Haitangwan Town, Sanya 572014, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 63 Attractions in Sanya
4.5 of 5 stars 670 Reviews
Type: Islands, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We went for a day excursion on an organized trip. The beach was okay but it was so crowded that you could not enjoy it much.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    186
    44
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTE JOKE OF A PLACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

You need to pay rmb 168 just to visit this area, including round trip 10-15 minute ferry ride

As soon as you get to the island, you will have to spend on almost anything
SCUBA DIVING: RMB 580, JET SKI 200
SNOKERLLING: 200, etc

to lounge around the beach with umbrella....RMB 100/ hour

The only area for swimming is only about 20 meter area, that is full of people.

Although the sand is fine and white, and the water rather clear, you will see quite a bit lot rubbish.

If you have experienced world class beaches such as the ones in the Philippines, don't
make the mistake of visiting this place.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stuck on $$$ island with no money to spend :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were told about this beautiful island off of Sanya, Thinking we could spend the day there, lay on a white sand beach soak up the sun and swim in the crystal clear blue water. Island authorities have something else in mind,

They have set up a swimming zone around the island, which consist of a square by the pier where they can watch you where every one else was allowed to swim. We ended walking down the island and found a pool with a sea view. They will whistle at you and chase you out of the non-swimming zone, which is the entire coast line of the island.

Tons of water sports and activities for you to enjoy, yet over priced. Almost three time of what they charge you on Sanya.


Beautiful island but what a shame.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovers Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very pretty but VERY busy! Lots of different options and activities, we didn't stay long though do to the crowds. We were there at the start of the Chinese New Years Holiday so it was expected to be busy, which it was!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice beach, but crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This area has a nice beach and really makes for a good day trip, just realize that you and thousands of others will share the experience. Overall the beach areas are nice (for China) and it is an enjoyable day, that is why I give it a 4. Really though it does not compare to beaches of the world and if you don't have those expectations it is a nice place. There are many, many people on the island and most are there just for a day trip. Once you get to the island people can spread out to the many areas of interest, but the journey over can be quite interesting. We choose to go on a Friday and waited in a line for the ferry for about an hour and a half. Fortunately, we left the island early and the wait was less than 15 minutes, but I imagine the line would be much longer at the end of the day. There are a couple of hotels on the island and I would be interested in the nighttime experience once everyone else left the island (on the 5:30 ferry). If you can overlook the many issues that are typically associated with a Chinese 5A tourist attraction (overcrowded, overpriced, poor implementation) there is some beauty to behold on the island. Good day trip and gives you a recognizable conversation place with your Chinese colleagues back at the office.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wuzhizhou Coral Island also viewed

 

Been to Wuzhizhou Coral Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuzhizhou Coral Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.