We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we were looking for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.188 Sanya Bay Road, Haipo Holiday Resort, Sanya 572000, China (Sanya Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 1,167 Hotels in Sanya
4.5 of 5 stars 635 Reviews
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we were looking for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a great time at the HOJO Sanya Bay.
When we first arrived, we were a bit early for check-in so we left our bag with the concierge and roamed around the resort. It is huge! It is beautiful! When we did get a chance to check in, we weren't very pleased with our room as our view was just of the construction going on behind the building and a tiny bit of the sea (our room was "Superiour Sea View")...We went to the front desk and they helped us out, moving us to the other side of building with a much nicer view of the pool area and the sea.
The pool area is enormous, we never had trouble getting a chair to sit on for the day (keeping in my mind, it wasn't during a holiday or anything). The beach was very nice - a bit of a trek from your room and across a road but there is an underground tunnel for the resort that gets you there. It was the same way for almost all resorts (having to cross or go under a road to get to the beach).
The drinks were a bit overpriced, so we ended up just going across the street from the front entrance of the hotel where they had a super market and a few local stores and stocking up on a some stuff on our own. The meals were reasonably priced and the dinners were good. We mostly ate at the four seasons cafe (western restaurant) and it was up to par.
In terms of location, depending where you want to go, it can be far away or close to things. We travelled to a few places including Tianjian Hairou and Yalong Bay and the taxis were fairly cheap. We wanted to make it out to Nanwan Monkey Island but it was just too far away from the resort to waste two hours getting there and two hours getting back, although I have heard it would have been worth it!

One thing I didn't like was that you had to pay to play table tennis (50 RMB) and billiards (60 RMB).

Overall, if we were going back to Sanya we would probably choose a different resort just to be in a different area, but I would suggest here 100% to anyone looking for a nice relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: East Wing rooms have some construction going on across the street right now. Not sure when it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    302
    48
    8
    13
See reviews for
41
50
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I booked this hotel as its conveniently located in the heart of Sanya Bay but as soon as we arrived we encountered problems at check in, the staff claimed they had no room booking which I made through an agent even though I had a reservation number. After much heated discussion they finally agreed to provide us with a room while on a high floor was still quite noisy with the sound of car & bus horns all night long. The breakfast was adequate but very busy and noisy with most guests are Chinese. Overall I was disappointed with the hotel, the service was average and I expected service from a Howard Johnson hotel, on a positive note the gardens are well landscaped and a walk around the gardens at night is recommended.

Room Tip: An Ocean View room gives great views of Sanya Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice family vacation on huge resort with large pool area, beach, large room and breakfast. Chinese 5-star, good value. The resort is deeply in need of a tourism information desk/booking agent to meet the needs of non-Chinese speaking families who want to see a little more of the island than the poolside. We struggled to find info and finally get a driver for a simple daytrip to Yanoda rainforest & monkey island (nice cable car ride).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuxi County, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We travelled here with a baby. After reading the reviews I was excited, now we are all extremely disapointed.
They advertise airport shuttle bus but I when I checked they asked me form 80rmb to organize. We took a taxi and the price was 15rmb
Once we arrived the baby bed was not on the room as we specifically asked for and they confirmed. It took 3 hours tree visits to the receptions desk and many calls to have it installed. The baby when tto sleep at 11.
The bathroom needs an extra chapter. in China is considered fancy in many hotels and apartments to have a glass wall to separate the room from the bathroom, usually with a curtain you can enjoy intimacy or enjoy the views as you wished. At HoJo they have a much Cheap approach, even the bathroom is ready of the glass is nothing there so there is not glass, door or wall to separate the 2 areas. There is a curtain, but that doesn't block the light, noises, odors or anything coming from the bathroom.
The breakfast buffet is ok (considering is china) but overcrowded even when is not peek season. Everything Chinese style first arrived first served, take long to refill the trays and all the baby chairs are broken.
The room cleaning service don't mop the floors, we found mandarin peels on our bathroom at our arrival, the welcom fruit tray was a rotten apple, rotten orange and 3 sad mandarins.
The concierge guys try to rip you off each time you ask for a taxi, asking for more than the double of the price that a friend gets so they can have a share.
Most of the staff doesn't speak English and that wouldn't be so bad if the reaction was try to help, when you ask for a towell and they run from you, you get annoyed. I had to literally take the guy whith me to show him wat I wanted.
One of the days they didn't even make the beds, just fold the bed linen on top of the beds.
So happy to go home!
Don't waste your money and choose wisely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

They have enough staffs to handle all the problem & accident immediately!
e.g. they will close the door & sweep the floor immediately when it's rain (in the public area & corridor), & they will clear up the table as soon as possible when we are having breakfast, so that we may have enough spaces for the new round of food!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Have just spent 10 wonderful nights at this hotel, a beautiful location with everything you could want for a relaxing holiday. The staff were most welcoming and helpful although I only speak
English this did not present any problems. Various restaurants which served good food and reasonable hotel prices. The room was cleaned every day to a high standard. We were hit by the
typhoon which passed through he Philippines which unfortunately damaged some of the gardens
and deposited rubbish in the pools,however the staff very quickly cleared up everything very efficiently and all praise to them. Highly recommend this hotel, and for people from England and Europe just do not know what they are missing as this is five star and in a country where we are
welcomed and treated very well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

To my surprise, the Howard Johnson in Sanya,Hainan shouldn't be associated with any Howard Johnson in the US. The grounds and activities at this resort in the South China Sea, stands out among the top 5 resorts on The island of Hainan. There is a beach access and several restaurants
In this resort catering to Korean, International, Caribbean, and Western palates. The balmy weather is very close to the weather in Hawaii. In fact it is considered by many as the Hawaii of China. The service is pretty good depending on how crowded it is. The Caribbean restaurant (open air dining ) features a sea food buffet and a variety of other entrees, there is also a floor show that will keep you entertained. One flat price includes drinks as well. They cook to order steaks,fish, chicken. The Western restaurant as it is called is a little slower on service but there you really aren't in a hurry or shouldn't be. It is also known that each restaurant is a franchise within the hotel. Best to arrange breakfast (prepay) before you start your stay. We go there as a rule every year. Sometimes 2 times a year. Careful of the sun your on the Tropic of Cancer and you can get burnt if you don't protect yourself. Rooms were cleaned every day and the room service varies during the day. The pools are well maintained and there is also a natural thermal spring pool on the main floor.They also have two and 3 bedroom private duplexes on the grounds with full kitchen facilities.

Room Tip: If you want to cut down on expense there are many restaurants across the street from the hotel.ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Address: No.188 Sanya Bay Road, Haipo Holiday Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Sanya Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Sanya
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#22 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#33 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Howard Johnson Sanya
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.