We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   No.188 Sanya Bay Road, Haipo Holiday Resort, Sanya 572000, China (Sanya Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 1,167 Hotels in Sanya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for the price...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

It's a nice enough resort, not much around there though... at least not yet. Sanya is ripe for more development, and this area is right on the edge of it's path. I give this HoJo good marks for a decent and clean room (ocean view family suite) with (and most importantly) good air conditioning. Bad marks for the vast, yet horrible breakfast, the so-so staff and the long walk to the beach in the ridiculous Sanya heat (and I was there in April).

Room Tip: Get an ocean view or you will be extremely disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    302
    48
    8
    13
See reviews for
41
50
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The photos look great, the staff, rooms, dinning and the pool is in terrible state. I would recommend to everyone to stay away from Sanya. This hotel is next door to a local tip. Hard to find someone that speak English.

Room Tip: Keep away from the region, no room in the hotel is going to be clean, the locals and the staff of ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Hojo for 5 nights. It's close to the airport and is one of the better hotels on Sanya Bay.

Hotel has drifted away from western standards in the last few years. Rooms are getting dated, service has lapsed somewhat.

However, the property is beautiful, the gardens are perfectly kept. The 3 swimming pools are excellent.

On the beach side there isn't much going on. Seems like the beach has become more like a highway for people on ATV's. Remnants of Many defunct recreation companies line the beach. Looks like Yalong Bay and the other bays are better options for recreational activities.

One thing to watch out for when traveling to Sanya is the hijacking of room rates when there is some sort of event in town. For instance we had to pay 4 times the highest posted rate for the Hojo for 3 out of the 5 nights we were here.

Folks this hotel is not worth $800 USD per night.

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

A hotel with OK location in the sense of its clossness to the Airport .. yet the overall outside enviroment is much less "entertaining" compared to its inside / front decoration .. food and room is ok standard but good thing is they have a indoor hotspring pool which helps a lot for those who dont have time to swim in the day time :D

Room Tip: dont pick those near the hotspring pool , that is where all the noise comes from
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had a tremendously wonderful time in Sanya at the HoJo Resort. The rooms were great with a great view, very clean! The food was fantastic (esp. the breakfast buffet and Korean Rest.), except the Lobby Bar's drinks were watery and I'd dare not order a "snack" from there... it won't be what you think it might be. The staff was wonderful. When I told them it was our Birthdays they gave us free drink vouchers and put a bday cake in our room! With this stated individuals need to know that just because it states its the Howard Johnson, doesn't make it 100% western. 80% of the tourist here are Chinese, it's in China of course, and the rest are mostly Russian tourist. Expecting English and anything western anywhere in China (other than Hong Kong) is a fantasy. With that said the staff was very pleasant and happy if you could speak a little bit of Chinese and definitely tried their best to speak English when prompted. We will stay here again! No doubt this is the best place to stay in Sanya for the price and location offered!

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are fine. We were on the left so we missed the sunrise (fine with us- like sleeping) b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in a pretty good location. Near Airport which is much better than yalong bay. Staff is nice. Breakfast is ok. Not really western but does the trick.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I am from South Africa living in Shenyang which is North in China and westerners are very few with minimal English being spoken in the city. Having made a reservation in Sanya I did not expect a western way of life of any sort but at least I expected the hotel to be able to communicate with me.

Not once has anything been straight forward like booking a spa, tennis court etc. The staff just look at you and say they cannot understand, don't even offer to get someone there to help. When you tell them to call someone, you might get lucky and they do, then its still a 50/50 if they understand you else you must make the long journey to reception. I am not fussy and very patient but atleast in Shenyang the people try. The lack of English understanding and willingness to help really makes it difficult and more of a frustration than anything else. (I would expect this from a small cheap resort).

We also booked a seafood BBQ one new years eve where it is advertised that a live Philippine band would play and at 60 dollars I was expecting something good. Food was great, but they took about an hour to replace the salmon which I asked about 10 times to do as I cant eat shellfish, but there was no band and rather a karaoke screen with alot of drunk Chinese men singing so loud it was disturbing. No problems with it but it was not advertised like this and when I asked they, first did not understand, and then just said they sorry. We quickly ate and left as it felt like i was back at varsity.

Overall resort is massive with great pools etc but don't come here if you western....they not interested in you! I have been around the world, live in a city that cant speak English and this is the first time I am not recommending a place so its not that im fussy!

Room Tip: Deluxe sea facing room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Address: No.188 Sanya Bay Road, Haipo Holiday Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Sanya Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Sanya
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#22 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#30 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Howard Johnson Sanya
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hainan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.