We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel with common area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haikou Banana Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Haikou Banana Hostel to your Saves list
Haikou Banana Hostel
Building 3-4, No.6 Liyuan Villas, No.21 Renmin Avenue, Haikou 570208, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Haikou
3.5 of 5 stars 40 Reviews
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hostel with common area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Room was ok and had a private bathroom. There was lots of travel info plastered over reception walls. Common area was quite large. I enjoyed the DVD room (I like to watch a DVD after traveling for a while). Wi-fi connection was quite fast. They have bikes for rent which we used to explore the old town and to get to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
5
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The bedding was dirty and looked like they had not been washed. The towels they gave us had dried stuff on it. The walls are very thin. For the same price, you can get a very clean room at a local hotel. There are many hotels nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The rooms, the services and the location are far bellow the standard of Youth Hostels. You may certainly find a much better local hotel for 10 dollars, only if you have the smallest courage to speak some words in Chinese. This is why most of guests/reviewers are non-Asians.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We only stayed there for one night, so I can't comment about the location. Yet it was pretty hard to find the hostel.

We stayed in a room with king size bedroom. The room is quite spacious, but quite empty. There is an air-con in the room, yet it is placed at the far most corner of the room and quite weak. The weather when we were there was really hot, so I kinda didn't like the room.

We had breakfast at the hostel in the next morning. It took like 30 mins for the cook to prepare 3 English breakfast sets for 3 of us, which is pretty long though.

In summary I would say you get what you pay for. This hostel is cheap, so don't expect much from it :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Reading the reviews about this place from hostelworld, i was worried and hesitated and wish there would be a better place to stay, but Banana seemed to be the only feasible choice. It turned out to be acceptable, due to my lower expectations.

The location is actually fairly good, despite being far away from the bus station, which is actually located in a newly developed region. From the hostel, It takes 25 minutes to go to the old quarter on foot, but only 10 minutes away from a major night street food market (outside the Hainan university) and a night market (near to the People's Bridge, renmin da qiao). Staff are nice and friendly. Rooms are big and the mattress is in between hard and soft. 24 hour air-con and the nice garden is a bonus.

Cleanness is one of the worst i've ever seen in China's emerging hostels. Brush aside the broken toilet, please at least sweep away pubes and hairs in public toilet.

Common areas are actually big too, but with so many partitions that block each other. Many equipments are either broken (toilet doors) or missing (like a small book lamp ). In summertime, mosquito is all over the hostel and they even sneaked into my room because the door was broken and open by the "wind".

The major reason to stay here is that you really don't have much choices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

i have stayed here 6 times its a good hostel but it is a hostel ,walking to it from the main street looks a bit off putting but there no problem ,the staff are very helpful and there is plenty to do and watch in the hostel ,the area i like ,at night there is the best night food market i have seen about 50 stalls only 1/2 mile away plenty shops and supermarkers

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

Nice hostel in a good location in Haikou. Staff is super friendly and helps a lot, especially those people that dont speak chinese (like me). The staff speaks perfect english which really is an exception in Haikou (outside the hostel I had a really hard time communicating). The rooms are big and clean. The price is really fair and there is a nice common room with a big flat screen (where we watched the soccer world cup). The offered food is super delicious and fairly cheap. I can recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haikou Banana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haikou Banana Hostel

Address: Building 3-4, No.6 Liyuan Villas, No.21 Renmin Avenue, Haikou 570208, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Hostel located in the capital city of the tropical island of Hainan, South China. Our facilities include a small restaurant, bar, TV lounge, internet and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Haikou Banana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haikou Banana Hostel Hainan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haikou Banana Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.