We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Haikou. Need to fix!! -- Mouldy aircon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Haikou

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Haikou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.256 Binhai Avenue, Xiuying District, Haikou 570311, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 503 hotels in Haikou
hong kong
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
284 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
561 helpful votes 561 helpful votes
“Excellent for Haikou. Need to fix!! -- Mouldy aircon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Was here for two nights and quite impressed overall with their service. Perhaps occupancy was not high but service was very personalized with staff calling me by name, a handwritten note in English re: the weather, noticing what side I like sleeping on etc., a quick in room check in etc. I was in the Middle East for 9-10 days so really missed Asian food & ate as many meals as I could at the summer palace restaurant (where they did at lunch keep delivering dim sum I did not order)
Seaview room was spacious and comfy, free wifi in room and in the Shangri-la car (that was a first for me, wifi in a moving veicle).

The only downside la were:

1) location: Haikou city cab drivers were not happy with remote location, always had to pay extra to hail a cab

2) my room had a heavy moldy smell, especially with the aircon on.

I was here for work (golf event) this is a very nice place /hotel for Haikou. Though I would not come to Haikou myself (on my own dime) for holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your time to share your valuable experience with us. We're so glad that you are satisfied with the spacious sea view room, free wifi, foods and our service that can encourage our colleagues to do a good job. Our commitment is to make every guest's stay enjoyable and pleasant. At the same time, thank you very much for your suggestion which is good for us to improve. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

No complaints about the level of service in this five star luxury hotel. Only major drawback is the location. Apparently being located in a new area in haikou city, the hotel is supposed to offer a sanctuary from the busy city life. This may be true if not for the surrounding construction which kind of spoil the overall experience of staying in a resort. The nearest shopping or food place is accessible only by taxi and we have experienced cabbies refusing to take us because of the location. A shuttle bus service would be ideal for travellers. Overall not a good experience considering the price that we paid.

Room Tip: high floor please
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us. With our soon-to-open seaside restaurant and the seaside chapel, believe your next stay will be more enjoyable. We value your comments very much that is good for us to be improved. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Service is great, everyone is very nice, kind and helpful. Rooms are very comfortable, clean and have beautiful sea view. Food in Kool restaurant was excellent, both domestic and international cousine. Hotel is situated on a beautiful sand beach, but location is not very good for those who want to be closer to the city center. Taxi rides can take very long during rush hours (more than 40 min). All in all, we had great time there and would like to go there again.
Ivan & Vlasta

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to share your valuable experience with us. We're so glad that you had great time in our hotel. Our hotel is located in a new business and tourism focal point in Haikou which is built along the west coast and adjacent the Hainan International Conference and Exposition Center. It takes 20 minutes to get to the city center. We value your comments very much and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had huge expectations for the newest five star hotel in town. Coming from a city where the Shangri-La brand is THE hotel to stay, I must say we came with high expectations but left feeling that overall, things can be much better.
Location is not the best and when we asked the concierge what is there to do nearby, we received a blank look. Well, we couldn't blame because there really isn't anything close by except for a tiny beach which falls short of expectations. The nearest shopping or eating place is not within walking distance and that is if you can get a cab. The hotel is still not complete judging from the construction nearby.
There are some good points though - the service staff are all enthusiastic and I must single out Lina and Mark from the guest relations team for their passion in making our stay a pleasant one. F&B offering is quite limited but the food and service is good overall.
For the price and reputation, we feel that this hotel does not quite cut it. Overall, we are disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Chris, Thank you so much for taking your time to post this review.

Our hotel is located in a new business and tourism focal point in Haikou which is built along the west coast and adjacent the Hainan International Conference and Exposition Center. It takes 20 minutes to get to the city center.

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and food. Except Chinese and Western restaurant, the seaside restaurant- Sirena which features Italian Cuisine is opening soon to provide more choices and excellent service to our guests.

We value your comments very much that is good for us to be improved. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Realy the place where to have a relaxing holiday ! Nice and beatiful sea view, nice happy time on 10th floor with different kind of food ! Nice people during the breakfast on Cafe Kool, excellent food ( the italian resident chef is very accurated on prepare delicious food as italian style). People working in the hotel are nice and always happy to help you. To be recomend you Mr. MARK LEI, he make our stay in Haikou Shangri-la very excellent, check in directy in the room, when I arrived by taxi at Shangri-la I just opened the door, he already recognize me and call me by full name (never see me before )! Great MARK, thanks a lot for your great job !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Giorgio, thank you for your time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you like our hotel and it can encourage our colleagues to do a good job. Our commitment is to make every guest's stay enjoyable and pleasant. We value your comments very much and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our taxi couldnt find the hotel because of the construction in front. AND the location is less than ideal as there is nothing in the vicinity, no shopping, no food, no places of interests. There is a beach in front but that is just a small ordinary beach. we can feel that the hotel is a good getaway for the locals because of the distance from the city.
The service makes up for it as we can sense the passion in the front desk and restaurant staff. The hotel is new but the room feels aged and humid. Mosquitoes also disturbed my sleep.
Overall, it was disappointing and not worth the price now

Room Tip: Grab the 980 local package
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Jay, thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us. It is our pleasure that you could satisfied our service. Our hotel is located in a new business and tourism focal point in Haikou which is built along the west coast and adjacent the Hainan International Conference and Exposition Center. It takes 20 minutes to get to the city center. We value your comments very much and we have prepared dehumidifier to avoid the humid in room. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Was introduced to this place by a local friend. The location is a bit out of the way as cabbies refused to bring us there from the airport unless we pay a surcharge.
But the hotel is nice and new. The staffs are eager and friendly. This is pretty much a local hotel. The food offered here is excellent and so are the service staffs at the restaurant.
The rooms can be better though as we can still hear some construction noise. We love the balcony but the view did not offer much. Perhaps we are on a lower level.
My wife was disturbed by strange noises at night but we did not make a deal out of it. Overall, it is a good hotel with excellent hardware and great service staff. I hope to be back with friends in the future when the hotel is ready.

Room Tip: A high floor to get a better view. =). Get a local friend to book for you to enjoy better deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexday P, Distribution at Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to post this review. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied our service, food and hardware. Our hotel is located along the west coast, a new business and tourism focal point in Haikou. The only Italian Restaurant and the seaside chapel of Haikou are opening soon. They will provide more choices and excellent service for guests. We value your comments very much that is good for us to be improved. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Haikou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Haikou

Address: No.256 Binhai Avenue, Xiuying District, Haikou 570311, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#3 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#14 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Haikou 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying off the coast of the Qiongzhou Strait, the hotel is a paradise that features the ocean extending to the blue sky, the sea breeze, soft sands and sunshine. The ideal location also makes it the finest hotel for business travellers. The hotel is adjacent to the Hainan International Exhibition Centre and the Haikou Municipal Government office. An internationally renowned golf course and scenic coastal park are just steps away. It takes only 45 minutes to get to the Haikou Meilan International Airport and 10 minutes to get to the train station.The hotel has 337 spacious rooms and suites. Almost of the guestrooms feature an ocean and garden view. Guestrooms have a spacious cloakroom, a separate shower room with rain shower and a 40-inch LED television, and the balcony with rattan furniture makes the guestroom more relaxing and comfortable. Guests can take a rest on the balcony and have a cup of hot tea or coffee with the family while listening to the waves and enjoying the sea breeze, and the beautiful sunset offers an unforgettable Haikou experience.Guests staying on the Horizon Club floors – from the seventh to the ninth floors – enjoy a higher standard of accommodation with personalised service and a host of exclusive privileges and amenities. These include private check-in and check-out at the Horizon Club Lounge on the 10th floor, check-out as late as 6 p.m. (subject to room availability), buffet breakfast, evening cocktails and hors d’oeuvres in the Horizon Club Lounge during daytime hours, suit pressing upon arrival and a daily international newspaper.There are three dining places that are in service now--- Shang Palace, the one of the signature restaurants of the Shangri-La Group; cafe Kool, a place that can experience more than 180 kinds of delicious cuisines from all over the world; Lobby Lounge provides fine wines, cocktails, snacks, coffee and freshly squeezed fruit juice. The Health Club situated on basement floor one, offers a range of health solutions that includes a gymnasium, an aerobics room, Jacuzzi, a 25-metre indoor swimming pool, steam rooms and table tennis facilities. The fully equipped gymnasium provides the optimum space for bodybuilding and has a range of free weight equipment to complement each workout. Thanks to the dormant volcanic clusters located on the outskirts of Haikou, the hotel has three hot spring pools with hot spring water. After swimming in the 790-square-metre outdoor irregular arc-shaped swimming pool, guests can rest on the chaise longues under umbrellas, or take a dip in the hot spring pool.Soon-to-open facilities: Chi, The Spa at Shangri-La, outdoor tennis court, Italian restaurant Sirena, seaside wedding chapel and the Grand Villa with seven rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Haikou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou Hainan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Haikou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.