We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For A Short Stay To Spring Board To Your Next Destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18-8 Haixiu East Road, Meilan District, Haikou 570206, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 552 Hotels in Haikou
Singapore
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good For A Short Stay To Spring Board To Your Next Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Checked into Rm 1304 on 9/June/2012 The entire 13th floor had bedsheets covering the carpet along the corridor. The musty stench was as unbearable as it was unhealthy. To a lesser degree, the room had a similar stale, damp smell. The room, entire 13th floor, and I dare say, the entire hotel - has never been aired since it existed. The airconditioning, which worked well, brought a sense of relief. My eau de toilette helped overcome the moldy smell in the room.
When we left the room for breakfast & to check out the next mornng, the bed sheets were removed and the carpet seemed to have been shampooed.

We checked in again on 12/June/2012 - into Rm 8015. Thankfully, the corridor carpet was ok.

During my stay, lobby staff - bellhop, receptionist, washroom attendant - were all cheerful, courteous and helpful.

The 2 twin-bedded rooms were spacious and clean. TV worked well and lighting adequate. The hot spring shower is a great boon for guests. We had quiet rooms - no bubbling noise from the hot spring system.

The elevator's floor was wonderfully designed to look like a delicate silk carpet. The coloured floral fringe enclosed a sky-like centre delicately lined with golden lines. The effect, when you enter the lift, is to enjoy a sense of walking on clouds - before being whisked to the level of your choice. Enthralling!

The beds lived up to their notorious reputation for being solid hard! Still, together with the pillows and airconditioning, sleep did not evade us. No worries!

The lobby is spacious with a fountain set-up in its center. A grand piano, played at night, graces the area.

Adjacent to the hotel are food-streets. Here street vendors on make-shift, mobile push-carts transform that alley at night into a glutton's haven. One has to be mindful of how one's stomache can take to such open-air food fare. It is a lively, bustling scene. Worth a visit, if not to eat, at least to snap pix. Definitely an alfresco affair.

At night, in front of the hotel, vendors will display their wares in the street-light glow - the sidewalk becomes a night market of sorts.... if you see in the dark what they are displaying. Interesting.

A 4 minute cab-ride away is Nanya Plaza. This shopping complex boast of a Carrefour, McDonald's.

Overall, the hotel is kept pretty clean. The washroom attendants are perpetually tidying up the washrooms.

Seems to be a hotel where groups are roomed overnight before they move on to another destination. Nevertheless, a very good hospitality experience.

One quaint observation. I was roomed in Rm 8015. There isn't a Rm 8014. Instead, it is numbered Rm 8088 - to allay supersitious concerns, I reckon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    40
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Although the lobby is quite impressive with very attentive and helpful Bellhops, the room is really very small and basic. What was disconcerting was because the hotel sits under a hot spring, one could hear bubbling sounds and gushing waters in the room at all times.

Location was central and near to shops

Breakfast had limited choices with unpalatable food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Hotel rooms are stuffy and one cannot open the window to let in fresh air. The bathroom does have a large wooden tub for soaking in the hot spring water. It is across the street from a food alley and a market where one can find cheap produce or snacks. It rained all the time I was there, so I could not explore the neighborhood a lot. I thought their sauna center might have a hot spring bath, but it didn't. There was a warm pool outside in a shed that one could use, but it was not inviting.

Room Tip: 15th floor was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

You can book local tour in the tour counter operation from 0800 to 2000 hrs. Public transport at the door step , bus fares RMB $1.00 only. Local food and market next to hotel.There is night market from 2200 hrs to 0100 hrs. just infront of the hotel. You can enjoy spa in your bath room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Excellent customer service!! A special thanks to Mr Shen for his kind help, didnt manage to get his designation though.
This hotel is conveniently located at several major shopping malls, on top of that, the view from the hotel room is great.
Superior rooms come with desktop computer and a big thumbs up for all the bell boys, they allways greet me with a smile whenever i enter the hotel.

Highly recommended !! It's a real good deal, super value for $$$

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We booked 2 twin rooms at Haikou Xinyuan Hot Spring on non-smoking floor, check-in 27Dec. The first room at 13th floor is ok and furniture are simple, we can classifiy it as a 3 star hotel room.

But the second have a very strong tobacco smell that we have to quickly get out and close the door. The hotel then provide three other rooms on the same floor for choose, and all of those rooms are provided two ash trays every rooms.

We then choose a second room with no smoke smell, but the next morning when step into bathroom the floor is wet with bad smell probly the drain or toilet bowl is leaking.

The hotel staff explained that a non-smoking floor is allow those who do not smoke to request remove ash tray from their room, else all rooms will have ash trays for guests who smoke.

When I wish to suggest to the front manager that they should have signs in room to remind its non-smoking and trays must not in the rooms. They said no front manager until noon.

It is lying to the guests to say they are on non-smoking floor when they allow smoking in all rooms.
They said the front manager will be in only from 12 noon. Therefore we decided to check-out immediately. We then move to a 5-star hotel booked by a local travel agent with same price.
It is a lesson we should book thru an experienced agent.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

The hotel is supposedly 4 stars but not quite international 4 stars. I would rank it around 3 stars. It is value for money as it cost aroundt RMB$358 for a twin room without breakfast thru a local agent.

Location is very convenient as it is on Haixui Road where the shopping and Restaurant are located.

Room is clean and decent. In term of amenities, you do not get tissue box or moisturers which 4 stars hotel provide. The hotel is known for its piped hotspring water.

Front desk speak some English. People tend to be interested to get you to join local tours. I suspect they get commission, but it is alright if you need the service. Tried asking for English newspaper which they do not have.

Chineses Restaurant serve not bad & decent tim sum.

Spa is no good as the ambience is just a hotel room and the massager tried to rip you off if you want an oil massage by asking for extra RMB$200 on top of the RMB$198 for a non-oil massage for 90mins.

Overall, I prefer the opposite hotel (HNA hotel) which I stayed earlier in my trip. The room is bigger despite an extra bed was added. Tim Sum breakfast not as much choice though in the Chineses Restaurant. You can always go to some of the recommended places for Yum Cha which the hotel staffs will recommend.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel

Address: No.18-8 Haixiu East Road, Meilan District, Haikou 570206, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#19 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel Haikou, Hainan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xinyuan Hot Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.