We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baohua Harbour View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Baohua Harbour View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.69 Binhai Avenue, Longhua District, Haikou 570105, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 503 hotels in Haikou
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location is very good but the service so far so good! Don't expect too much! The buffet breakfast not very good but OK!

The room is quite clean but noisy, you will hear some voice outside the door if someone walk-by! No wifi available in room, just public area, I.e. Executive floor (28/F), front desk & restaurants.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view & higher floor, it's worth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    65
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
3
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
REPUBLIC OF KOREA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located near the city center, and has nice view from the room.
The lobby was nice and clean, and it was where I could use WIFI network provided by the hotel.
When I entered the room, I felt that the hotel is a little bit old, especially, the bathroom seems quite old.
In my room, I was able to use free wired internet, but WIFI was not available(only China Unicom WIFI was available, but for China Unicom customers).
Breakfast was not that bad, but it could not meet my standard for 4-star hotel.
Even though there were some that I did not satisfied with, however the hotel was a good choice, as the hotel is not that far from the company, and it offered affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

It was my uncle who booked this hotel for us to stay during our visit to Haikou in May 2011. We stayed there for 4 nights and our room were facing the sea with wonderful scenery during the night.They gave us four rooms next to each other even there is no connecting rooms for us

The location was very convenient where you can move freely around the area. Rooms were clean and staff are helpful. If you want any day tour opposite the hotel at the park there are a few tour agent where you can book the day tour or you can check with the hotel staff.The park opposite the hotel was nice where you can fly kite in the evening. Many people jogging in evening, children will enjoy playing and running around in the big field.

For us we did not join any tour as we were visiting our relatives there. Most of the time my cousin and uncle will bring us round. We did tried a day trip to Sanya as we did not have enough time and it is very expensive as everywhere you go you need to pay the entrance fees. The 波萝po luo noodle was very nice and tasty at Sanya and even at Haikou town. According to my cousin is will be cheaper if you join the tour to Sanya where everything was included. Seafoods were fresh and nice, you must really try their fresh prawns. The four local dishes you must try too.

During end May till June the weather is very hot where you can feel the heat but not as bad as Singapore. We took the cab to shopping area and it was not so expensive as long as you know where to go. As some of the days my cousin was too busy to bring us round. But do note that there is alway traffic jam in the morning and in the evening around the hotel area. During busy hours looking for cab not easy, they don't have the queuing system. Even when a cab stop right in front of you someone can just go up to cab and they don't care as long as they got in first so be prepare for that. Speaking in Mandarin not a problem but many of them still speak in Hainanese. To us we felt at home as we are Hainanese.

Give yourselves a try when you in Haikou. Nice and cozy place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The staff spoke some English and tried to be helpful. They went out of their way to make sure I had a room where the internet actually worked. The first room on the 11th flr. with the water view had NO internet access. I was moved to the 12th floor. The internet didn't work in the 2nd room, so I was moved again. 3rd room was the charm. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the carpet was clean, but there's a smell in this hotel like mold...or wet carpet . It's not a 4 star but more like a 3 star. Still, it's not bad if you can stand the smell. Restaurant on the 3rd flr is pricey/ Chinese menu, but food is good. Lobby is being renovated and was sectioned off / couldn't see any of it, paint fumes in the makeshift lobby. Don't pay extra for the water view. The best view is strangely in the center hall available to those who are riding the elevator for free. Directly across the street is a nice park. Some shopping around the corner.

Room Tip: Clothes, pharmacy, snacks, food, fruit; sold around the corner to the right upon exiting the entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Really good service and very friendly staff at a hotel and the restaurants!
The Only Note is that the most personnel do not speaks English and was a bit difficult conversation.

Silvana

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Great Value for 300 CNY/night. The location of the hotel is great. It is right across from a nice big park (Wan Lv Yuan) , and close to Bank of China for currency exchange, it is also close to the Guo Mao district for shops and restaurants. We are heavy coffee drinkers and really enjoyed getting breakfast and coffee at the Nan Shan cafe not too far away. By the way, at Nan Shan you get free refills for your coffee!

Room quality is a hit-and-miss. Our first room faced a construction site, the noise got to my husband who was nursing a jet lag, it didn't bother me much though. The quality of the room exceeded my expectation given that this hotel is 10+ year old. It was obvious that our room was very lightly used, everything was sparkly clean and surprisingly new.

When we checked out and back in to the hotel after a trip to Sanya we upgraded to a sea view room. The room was much 'older' although it was still clean. My husband's jet lag was still not over and was again greeted with noise. It was right after Christmas and there was a loud outdoor celebration right in front of the park until late night for a couple nights in a row. Also if you like to sleep in total darkness don't choose a sea view room, the neon light installed all over the front side the hotel will keep your room bright at night. The view is more of the park less of the sea anyway.

Taxi in Haikou is cheap, we took a taxi to go everywhere and never spend more than 25 Yuan for a ride. 10 Yuan gets us to most places.

One thing that makes this hotel stand out for me is the security guard at the front entrance. Whenever we needed a taxi, he would flag down one (there were always a couple waiting on the side so there was never a wait) , open the door, write down the license plate number, and hand it to us before he let the taxi go. Now THAT's a 5 star service!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baohua Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baohua Harbour View Hotel

Address: No.69 Binhai Avenue, Longhua District, Haikou 570105, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#9 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baohua Harbour View Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Baohua Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baohua Harbour View Hotel Haikou, Hainan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baohua Harbour View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.