We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.18 Wenhua Road, Haikou 570105, China (Formerly Meritus Mandarin Haikou)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 487 hotels in Haikou
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Old but okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a Club room so my expectation is if a much higher level. There was a rusty cloth hanger inside the cupboard. They do not serve alcoholic drinks and dinger food throughout the day in the Club Lounge. Now the plus points. Though the equipment in the gym is limited, they are of a good quality. In addition to an outdoor swimming pool, there is an indoor pool, albeit smaller. I ate at the Chatter Box for my breakfast, not the best offered by other 5 Star hotel but I have no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrielee l, Manager at Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments and great support to Meritus Mandarin Haikou.
Executive Club room guests are entitled to a bunch of excluded benefits, including daily Happy Hours at 21/F Meritus Lounge from 17:30 to 19:30 with complimentary drinks and snacks for your enjoyment.
Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    103
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haikou
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My only experience of this hotel is the Lobby bar and Chatterbox restaurant. Both provide good, friendly service, good food and drinks in a pleasant environment.

Unfortunately, however, the non smoking policy mentioned by a previous reviewer (gemsintheworld) seems not to be enforced an more.

Of the 12 tables occupied in the lobby bar on my visit, 8 had guests puffing away and the accumulated smoke in made the atmosphere in the bar quite unpleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrielee l, Manager at Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind appreciation of our food and service.
Regarding the smoking guests, we will make more efforts to help them realize how important it is for the health of themselves and others.

All the best to you and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Its a good hotel considering the money that you pay. Room is clean but small. Not sure if its the same room you get when you make the booking. Air-con is too cold. I adjusted it to 30 degrees and still found it cold. May be the adjustments don't work.
As stated elsewhere, its not very close to the airport... takes almost 40 mins drive from hotel to the airport, so plan ahead. Was baffled to see one lane to the lobby area was blocked by private cars. NO SECURITY... they should not allow such things because the other lane was blocked by a coach. We had to push our luggage from the road.
The concierge staff were excellent with good command over English and smile. LOVED THEM.
Have just two feedbacks to provide. Its the time they change all the towels. Requested for additional two towels and to my surprise 3/4 towels in the room were torn in the corners. Floor-mat in the bath also in same condition. Secondly, the hotel needs to add some life to the lobby area. appears very dull esp during festive time. Add in some live music and some fun stuffs.
Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Its a good value for money and choose this hotel for its EVER SMILING and HELPFUL STAFF esp at the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrielee l, Manager at Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. We’ll keep improving both hardware and software of the hotel. And thanks for loving our concierge staff. We are always delighted to be at your service. Sincerely we wish you a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Since last visit a year ago, and not reviewed then, Wifi had been added, and works well considering its China, changes in the kitchen are also well noted, service in the hotel as usual is smile and resolve.. attitude..... Though in China, here English is improving, rendering the stay of non Chinese speakers like myself just that bit more easier. Rooms are clean and housekeeping is up to scratch. Price quality ratio well balanced. Management are visible, and do make sure all is ticking right. Total satisfaction.
no smoking in the hotel is thankfully enforced...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrielee l, Manager at Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and appreciation.
We will continue to deliver service from the heart and make sure you feel
Asian grace, warm and care every time you meet, dine or stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is the 2nd time I have stayed in this hotel and feel it has sadly gone downhill, since my previous visit last July 2011.
The checkin was very quick and efficient, with a Bellboy to take my luggage up to my room, but on entering the room, the smell that greeted me was horrendous, there was a wet yellowish stain on the carpet in front of the bathroom door, and there was a wet brown stain around the bathroom door. It took staff and a visit back to reception 2hrs later before I got my room changed.

There is a musty tired smell about all floors and rooms, not the nice fresh smells that abounded on my previous visit.

The service was very good and helpful, but one night in the restaurant I had to wait 45minutes for my bill.

The hotel has tremendous potential, but a few little things let it down in a big way.

I felt the level of English speaking staff had dropped since my previous visit, and that the English was only that required for the specific duties of each person. I needed to find an IT Superstore, but could not get any member of staff able to help me, but a local taxi driver who seemed to speak even less English was very helpful.

As a Singapore Airlines Gold Card holder I was expecting many benefits, but was told that my level of accommodation was not what was required, I am sure a Meritus Gold Card holder would not be denied the benefits of Gold Cards would not be recognised when travelling Economy with Singapore Airlines.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrielee l, Manager at Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Meritus Mandarin Haikou. Your valuable comments are much appreciated.
To improve staff language skill, we have scheduled English training starting from 15 Oct.
We look forward to welcoming you back again 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I read a lot of the past reviews - and whilst i dont think the hotel is 5 star... its a good basic property. Rooms are tidy and comfortable, and i found the service to be very friendly and helpful.
English is an issue in the hotel - but then again, this is China, so its at the level i suspected. Hainan touts itself as a "holiday/tourist" island, but it caters 99% for local Chinese.. its still in its infancy for attracting foreign tourists. Haikou is more the business capital.

So would i stay at this hotel again - yeah i guess i would... I have no real complaints, and i got a great deal. Its a decent 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace T, General Manager at Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your appreciation on hotel guest room and staff service. We will continue to deliver our Asian grace, warm and care to every guest. At the same time, we are also organizing service English training for front line staff and management team to make every endeavor to improve our English level.
Hope you can come to Haikou soon and stay with us. I am sure we will deliver better service to you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Decoration in the room is so simple and old,
Air-con just cold but can not adjust to colder,
Breakfast variety is very simple,
Most of waiters can not speak/understand English.
Stream room and Sauna and shower room are not that clean

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace T, General Manager at Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Achiki,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meritus Mandarin Haikou during your recent visit to Hainan and thank you very much for your constructive comments.

Each one of them has been conveyed to related department head to further improve our service quality. Our hotel is under renovation soon to upgrade our hardware. Housekeeping will focus more on the cleaning of public area and everywhere inside hotel. Meanwhile, we are also organizing the English training courses to staff for improving their oral English. We are sure that we would deliver a real Five Star service to you next time when you come by your valuable comments and our constant endeavor which embody our signature Asian grace, warmth & care.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Meritus Mandarin Haikou in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Meritus Mandarin Haikou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel

Address: No.18 Wenhua Road, Haikou 570105, China (Formerly Meritus Mandarin Haikou)
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#10 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first International 5-star luxury hotel in Haikou, ideally located in the most exclusive residential area yet within the financial capital hub of the Special Economic Zone, Meritus Mandarin Haikou is 26km/ 35min by car to Haikou Meilan International Airport with its close proximity to the railway station, the harbor, beautiful beaches and the hottest spots Haikou has to offer. Since 1997, Meritus Mandarin has been at the forefront in providing businessmen and leisure travellers with unsurpassed accommodation, tantalizing wine and dine facilities, and impeccable services of superb quality. With 318 guestrooms and suites in a modern contemporary design, all you would expect to ensure an enjoyable stay has been meticulously designed for your fullest comfort and a memorable experience. You can also partake the finest Italian and Cantonese cuisines, relax and unwind by the pools, or even celebrate a lavish gala dinner for 500 persons in the hotel’s largest pillarless ballroom in Haikou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Mandarin Haikou Hotel Haikou
Mandarin Haikou
Haikou Mandarin
Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel Haikou, Hainan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hannan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.