We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in almost all aspects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Hills Resort Haikou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mission Hills Resort Haikou to your Saves list
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua District, Haikou 571100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 560 Hotels in Haikou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent in almost all aspects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is really a top resort. It is grand, the spa is excellent (slightly expensive but you get a wonderful experience) and the golf is as good as any in southern China and better than most in the whole of Asia. The restaurants are excellent (japanese in probably as good as any outside Shanghai and Beijing). The evening buffet in the western restaurant is a little excessive but good value with complimentary beer. It is a bit out of town but Haikuo is not a particularly nice town. Sometimes the staff stumble especially at the reception but that may be due to the slow computer system they have which did not look user friendly.

Room Tip: If offered an upgrade for a small additional charge, take it. Avoid the cash cards they market; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
17
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Misssion Hill Haikou resort is a golf paradise with 10 golf courses built on lava rock.
The room are comfortable and next to the hotel you can enjoy different type of old bathing ritual and thermal bath.You can enjoy a good selection of international cuisines in the Bistrot as well as a good selection on the breakfast buffet in the morning.It is not on a beach front.The facilities are stunning but lack of international tastes and international standards.
Next year Ritz Carlton and the Renaissanc hotel will open on the Mission Hill resort Haikou. It will definitively be a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your high comments about the Missionhills Haikou, As you can see The low carbon footprint downtown will be finished soon, besides the FengXiaoGang movie theme park will definitely bring a lot entertainment elements here. We believe the international tastes will be more and more,and international standards will be enhanced as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

That was my second visit to Hainan Island. I stayed this hotel for only one night and needed to go to Sanya for attending friend's wedding. I have to say I like Mission Hills very much since the visit of their dongguan resort last time, so I picked them for my haikou trip. The room is huge and with spacious view. I can see the world largest mineral spring from the room. The food there are quite good but expensive I have to say. I didn't play golf there. Instead i spent all my time on Spa and Springs. Maybe this is still quite new resort, the facilities and services are top in China!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for sharing your precious moments in the Missionhills Haikou with us. we'll reevaluate the comments you made about the food price, It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It's not the first time that I have been to Mission Hills Haikou Resort, but last time was with friends and mainly to play golf. This time, however, was with the wife and our young daughter for a relaxing post-Christmas get-away.

The resort is very close to Haikou International Airport (15min ride away) and there is a service counter right at the airport that offers regular shuttle buses to the resort. The resort is hugh and one cannot easily imagine the scale of it without actually being there. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated and feels spacious, yet welcoming. The check-in was smooth but like the majority of hotels in China (even an international group one), there are rooms for improvement with their staff's English. They were, however, very friendly which made up the slight language inefficiency.

The room we stayed at was a grand deluxe room which was hugh and with an excellent view of the outdoor volcanic pool area and the golf course. In-room amenities were modern and functional. The bathroom was hugh too - a big sink, a jacuzzi bath, separate shower and toilet cubicles and still with plenty of space for our daughter and us to walk about without getting in one another's ways.

We spent 3 nights at the resort (this time without golf) and tried a number of the kids activities - we visited at December so we didn't try the outdoor pool area, however, the indoor heated swimming pool was very comfortable and our daughter demanded going back there everyday. My wife wanted to try the spa and I didn't mind a massage so we actually got our daughter to go to a couple of classes - to try her hands on making arts and crafts and baking some cookies and cakes at the kids gallery/kitchen. Again, the staff were friendly and got on with our daughter pretty quickly that allowed us to escape from parenthood for a little while.

The resort is built on volcanic grounds and there is a very big hot spring area with some 150+ pools, big and small, with themes from different continents. We liked the Japanese pools very much but my daughter liked the ball pool. A surfing/wave pool was in the making at the time and it looked like it'll be a lot of fun for older children and adults when it's done... The only downside of the hot springs area is that we had to walk through the hotel in our bathrobes in order to get there - so need to be a little brave :-)

We also did plenty of walking around the resort too and it's just totally relaxing. My daughter liked walking on the sand and beach as well as going into the volcanic cave to see the penguins (not real ones)... There is also a hugh indoor kids playground for our daughter to run and climb up and down. They have a hugh slide that looked pretty high actually but my daughter absolutely loved it and was up and down for at least 10 times. We were told that there were also rental family bikes that we could rent to ride around the resort. We didn't try it as our daughter just recovered from a cold and it was winter. However, winter in Haikou is really not WINTER... pretty comfortable and breezy!

We stayed in the resort and didn't go out to the Haikou City but it's around a 30 minute car ride if you want to try some local places. The food at the resort was good - the Chinese restaurant was excellent in fact - with some tasty local dishes that really make one feel bad about the trip and perhaps need to go on a diet after. We also tried the Japanese restaurant which was decent but not as outstanding as the Chinese.

Overall, it's an extremely well-presented family resort with plenty of activities on offer. It's only an hour away from Hong Kong and very good value for money for a family get-away. I know we'll very likely go back again... hopefully this time with some other families so I can also get some golf in as well.

Room Tip: All rooms a extremely spacious, but the ones facing the golf course, outdoor swimming and mineral sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest, thanks so much for choosing the Missionhills Haikou for your leisure stay. We're also grateful and impressed with your detailed description for the Missionhills Haikou. Your comments will be the dynamic to motivate us to continuously improve and move on. proactive caution and actions will be implemented according to your precious comments. we are currently giving Englsih traing to our staff for enchancing communication effcicency. we're looking forward to your coming back again, we're also sure that your next stay with us will be definitely more memorable~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haikou
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Disclosure: I've been working with Mission Hills Group for nearly two years at this point.

Since I live 15 miles away and don't play golf, there was never any reason to go out to the resort for much longer than a meeting or a meal.

Last month's Haikou International Dining Club was held at Mission Hills and I didn't want to leave early so I booked in to the hotel.

Usually when I stay at a top-notch hotel, a client is footing the bill. This time, I not only spent my own money to stay but would do so again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for choosing the Missionhills Haikou for your leisure stay again. And we are sincerely grateful for what you commented. We'll continuously improve our service and facilities to meet the higher standards. Looking forward to your coming back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

From the rooms to the service to the food, this resort is first rate. The course condition is outstanding. The rooms are large with very good beds. The cleanliness is first rate. English speaking ability of the staff is well above average for the area. The hot springs are a plus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have a short stay in mission Hills haikou during the match between Tiger the Mcilroy. So many people there~~ But the service is excellent!
We spent 3 days 2 nights there, the first day we have spent all day in golf course haha, the weather is good, not too hot. Temp between 27-30, a little bit cool to swimming~~and after the match we went to the Hot springs. It's really nice experience!

Room Tip: Dont carry too many luggages because You can buy everything in the hotel pro shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Hills Resort Haikou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Hills Resort Haikou

Address: No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua District, Haikou 571100, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#11 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mission Hills Resort Haikou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the grandeur of the island’s tropical volcanic landscape, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou features an 18-storey luxurious hotel and annex with breathtaking panoramic golf course views. The complex also houses numerous world-class sports, leisure, entertainment and dining facilities, an executive lounge, and a panoramic gallery, establishing itself as one of the most sought-after leisure destinations in China. Free parking on site and free Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms are both provided.Conveniently located in Haikou city, the administrative and legislative hub of Hainan, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou is just 15 minutes from the city center and from the Haikou Meilan International Airport.Positioned as one of the finest luxury hotels on Hainan Island, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou comprises 539 spacious guest rooms and suites. All these tastefully appointed rooms and suites celebrate Hainan’s environment with unique designs and amenities to ensure guests enjoy the highest level of comfort. Each guest room or suite features a balcony with an unobstructed view of the panoramic golf course and the resort’s natural greenery. Interactive HD TV system with cable, pay-per-view programs, and minibar are provided for your entertainment. Special inter-connecting rooms are also available - ideal for families and friends alike.Guests have access to the recreation center and spa center for leisure and relaxation. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool, an outdoor swimming pool with fun-filled obstacle water park, a man-made beach, a gym, a foot reflexology center, a Kids’ Club, games rooms, and much more. In addition, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou features 168 hot and cold mineral spring pools, making it the “World’s Largest Mineral Springs Resort” accredited by Guinness World Records. The grand ballroom at the resort caters up to 1,600 delegates. The 13 spacious functions rooms and media center feature floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views, creating an exceptional backdrop for any event.Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou offers a wide selection of international cuisines in the most refined ambiance. Silver Moon Chinese Restaurant features Cantonese specialties and local dishes from Hainan while Ukiyo offers a variety of Japanese cuisine. Come and enjoy a divine and exquisite dining experience that will impress the most discerning taste buds. What's more, the hugely popular Mission Hills ▪ Huayi Brothers ▪ Feng Xiaogang Movie Town which features 1942 Republican China Street, Socialism Street, Nanyang Street, memorable Movie Set and Landscape Districts; the Mission Hills ▪ Lan Kwai Fong where the "World's No. 1 Golf Club" joins the globally-renowned entertainment brand to create "LKF Entertainment Zone", "Fashion Avenue", "China Grove", Village Lane" and "Quarry Lake"; and the Duty Free Center, a true shopping paradise with endless opportunities for retail therapy - are due to open throughout 2014 within Mission Hills ▪ Haikou, to offer each and everyone of us an array of international brands, gourmet cuisine, fine dining, entertainment, shopping, cinemas, cafes, music stores, wine cellars, souvenir shops and boutique hotels all in one location (due to open throughout 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mission Hills Resort Haikou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hills Hotel Haikou
Mission Hills Resort Haikou Hainan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Hills Resort Haikou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.