We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally Spent the Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Hills Resort Haikou

Save Saved
You added Mission Hills Resort Haikou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua District, Haikou 571100, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 488 hotels in Haikou
haikou
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Finally Spent the Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Disclosure: I've been working with Mission Hills Group for nearly two years at this point.

Since I live 15 miles away and don't play golf, there was never any reason to go out to the resort for much longer than a meeting or a meal.

Last month's Haikou International Dining Club was held at Mission Hills and I didn't want to leave early so I booked in to the hotel.

Usually when I stay at a top-notch hotel, a client is footing the bill. This time, I not only spent my own money to stay but would do so again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for choosing the Missionhills Haikou for your leisure stay again. And we are sincerely grateful for what you commented. We'll continuously improve our service and facilities to meet the higher standards. Looking forward to your coming back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
15
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

From the rooms to the service to the food, this resort is first rate. The course condition is outstanding. The rooms are large with very good beds. The cleanliness is first rate. English speaking ability of the staff is well above average for the area. The hot springs are a plus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have a short stay in mission Hills haikou during the match between Tiger the Mcilroy. So many people there~~ But the service is excellent!
We spent 3 days 2 nights there, the first day we have spent all day in golf course haha, the weather is good, not too hot. Temp between 27-30, a little bit cool to swimming~~and after the match we went to the Hot springs. It's really nice experience!

Room Tip: Dont carry too many luggages because You can buy everything in the hotel pro shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A fabulous location for a golf getaway... Karry the assistant spa manager and Dr. Nng, Chinese Dr very helpful.... Did not play Blackstone, however look amazing as walking it watching Tiger v Rory. Play course #7 set amongst a old gold mine field... The breakfast buffet tasty, the Lava Grill was ok (however menu challenging to read).. Overall team very friendly, just need a little more English language training, however 95% of business looks local and happy.... Will have to return for a another long weekend...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

During my trip to Hainan I stayed at several hotels and I can honestly say that Mission Hills was the only hotel that actually lived up to its reputation.
The property looked well taken care off, the room was clean and very spacious and the view from the balcony was simply gorgeous.
The staff was extremely helpful and polite, they could improve on their English though. The taxi driver who brought me to the hotel tried to cause trouble, but the manager on duty, after midnight, was extremely helpful; he made sure that I was checked in asap and he took care of the situation with the taxi driver.

Again, of the several hotels I have stayed at, this was most definitely the best one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and son and I were invited to join a group of friends dining at Mission a Hills. We had a magical night celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary. The staff who could speak English were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. The other staff who didn't speak English were less quick but a word with the management and everything was sorted. Ravi the manager and sorry but can't remember the names of the English speaking Chinese girls who were there to help, but they were all brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comment on Mission Hills. It was a great support and an encouragement to us. We will continue to provide an excellent standard of service to our guest. Look forward to seeing you soon at Mission Hills. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just came back from a four night stay @ Mission Hills Haikou - absolutely disappointed with the experience which we decided on after reading the reviews on this website! Seriously suspect that earlier reviewers were in some way related to the hotel! Food in the restaurants was very ordinary except for Silver Moon Chinese restaurant. We were one of only two family groups staying in the hotel over HKG mid-term school vacation which was surprising! None of the facilities - incl. swimming pools/wave pool/water slides/lazy river /volcanic hot springs were operating! under questioning staff just offered us comments form to complain! Seems they are quite used to unsatisfied guests. At best we would rate this as a 3 Star facility - unfortunately with a 5 star price tag! To be avoided!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Normally speaking, for your safety reason, if the weather was really bad, the mineral spring, swimming pool and the lazy river will be closed temporarily, which concerns about safety reason. Thank you for your comments to Mission Hills. Actions and pre-cautions will be implemented according to your comments. We assure you that your next stay at Mission Hills will be memorable. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mission Hills Resort Haikou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Hills Resort Haikou

Address: No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua District, Haikou 571100, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#1 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#1 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#11 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mission Hills Resort Haikou 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the grandeur of the island’s tropical volcanic landscape, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou features an 18-storey luxurious hotel and annex with breathtaking panoramic golf course views. The complex also houses numerous world-class sports, leisure, entertainment and dining facilities, an executive lounge, and a panoramic gallery, establishing itself as one of the most sought-after leisure destinations in China. Free parking on site and free Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms are both provided.Conveniently located in Haikou city, the administrative and legislative hub of Hainan, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou is just 15 minutes from the city center and from the Haikou Meilan International Airport.Positioned as one of the finest luxury hotels on Hainan Island, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou comprises 539 spacious guest rooms and suites. All these tastefully appointed rooms and suites celebrate Hainan’s environment with unique designs and amenities to ensure guests enjoy the highest level of comfort. Each guest room or suite features a balcony with an unobstructed view of the panoramic golf course and the resort’s natural greenery. Interactive HD TV system with cable, pay-per-view programs, and minibar are provided for your entertainment. Special inter-connecting rooms are also available - ideal for families and friends alike.Guests have access to the recreation center and spa center for leisure and relaxation. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool, an outdoor swimming pool with fun-filled obstacle water park, a man-made beach, a gym, a foot reflexology center, a Kids’ Club, games rooms, and much more. In addition, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou features 168 hot and cold mineral spring pools, making it the “World’s Largest Mineral Springs Resort” accredited by Guinness World Records. The grand ballroom at the resort caters up to 1,600 delegates. The 13 spacious functions rooms and media center feature floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views, creating an exceptional backdrop for any event.Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou offers a wide selection of international cuisines in the most refined ambiance. Silver Moon Chinese Restaurant features Cantonese specialties and local dishes from Hainan while Ukiyo offers a variety of Japanese cuisine. Come and enjoy a divine and exquisite dining experience that will impress the most discerning taste buds. What's more, the hugely popular Mission Hills ▪ Huayi Brothers ▪ Feng Xiaogang Movie Town which features 1942 Republican China Street, Socialism Street, Nanyang Street, memorable Movie Set and Landscape Districts; the Mission Hills ▪ Lan Kwai Fong where the "World's No. 1 Golf Club" joins the globally-renowned entertainment brand to create "LKF Entertainment Zone", "Fashion Avenue", "China Grove", Village Lane" and "Quarry Lake"; and the Duty Free Center, a true shopping paradise with endless opportunities for retail therapy - are due to open throughout 2014 within Mission Hills ▪ Haikou, to offer each and everyone of us an array of international brands, gourmet cuisine, fine dining, entertainment, shopping, cinemas, cafes, music stores, wine cellars, souvenir shops and boutique hotels all in one location (due to open throughout 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mission Hills Resort Haikou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hills Hotel Haikou
Mission Hills Resort Haikou Hainan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Hills Resort Haikou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.