We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was a wonderful little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hainan Museum

Hainan Museum
No.68 Guoxing Avenue, Qiongshan District, Haikou 570203, China
0898-65238880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 96 things to do in Haikou
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“it was a wonderful little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The design was excellent, and I liked the exhiibits

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Museum of fine quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Modern, beautiful architecture, impressive building. Displays wonderfully creative and informative. i especially liked the history of the village life on Hainan.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Free Entrance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

It displays the history of Hainan Island, from culture, architecture and art.
Entrance Fee is Free
No English tour available.
It's remarkable architecture.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haikou
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wowie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The descriptions of pieces in the permanent exhibitions are minimalist but the docents are well educated. You will need to either speak Chinese or bring a translator.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Return from the end of earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

One main attraction of Hainan Island to me is the Beach, be it at Boao Town Bay, Yalong Bay or East China East Bay. When we were there, the weather was hot and the beach was full of people. We could imagine what cooler weather would bring. But the beach was clean and sand, white and fine. It would be wonderful if we could laze around and catch the sea breeze while taking a coconut drink which is plentiful here.

Another is the big Guanyin complex in the vicinity of Tian Ya. The towering statue of Guanyin stands majestically just off the sea in this complex. But the complex is so huge that we could not see it until we reach nearer the entrance and it was a wonderful sight to behold.

We went to as near as possible to pay our respects to Guanyin. The guide there gave us pointers on how to pay our respects. We were to walk round the feet of Guanyin and at his feet, we were supposed to touch one and bow, clasping our hands. We did that and felt a sense of calmness and gratitude that life has been good to us!

On the way out, the entrance to the complex seems far away. No worries. There is the environmentally friendly tram which takes you right to the entrance, pass the prayer junction before we entered the statue area.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hainan Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hainan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hainan Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.