We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Osroc Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Osroc Hotel to your Saves list
New Osroc Hotel
No.12 Haixiu Road, Longhua District, Haikou 570206, China (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 556 Hotels in Haikou
singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“location is everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights ... the buffet breakfast is say 4/10 ... room is ok and bed is not that hard ... say 7/10.

however, when we checked-in, my dad went to the toilet and found out the hard way that the WC was spoiled !! managed to clear it before asking the hotel people to come and fix it. so now go new practice of checking the toilets once you check into the room.

location is eveything .... just a 3 min walk from the hotel through a walkway, you will see many shopping centers and even a electronics shopping center where we bought our prepaid phone cards. (RMB 60 for 1GB + 580mins of local calls)

the wet market is also about 15-20 mins walk away on the left of the hotel (if you are facing the front of the hotel, its your left.) ordered a whole roast pig about 5 kgs RMB 480.

as for internet connection, as with most hotels there is wired port in the hotel room with cable provided. so if you want wifi, the got to bring your own mini-router or just buy one at the DC city infront of the hotel !

but it was pretty disappointing to find that the hotel still uses the old CRT TVs ... and programs provided free are not "watchable" at all !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

To prevent any further confusion after reading several reviews of this hotel, this hotel is called "Oscar Hotel" and not "New Osroc Hotel" as stated in this Tripadvisor website.

This hotel is surrounded by several old residential buildings and is about 30mins drive from Haikou Airport. The hotel itself is old and rundown and is located a distance away from the main road. At the hotel reception desk, it states that it is a 4-Star hotel. But seriously, it felt more like a 3-Star hotel instead. The room and furniture were rather old and outdated. The toilet in the room is those portable type that you often see in cruise cabins that can be easily dismantled. There were also spiders and cockcroaches in the toilet. TV had hundreds of channels, but none of them international ones.

Breakfast spread was decent though. There were soya milk, carrot cake, steamed buns, noodles, etc and an omelette station. However, the restaurant was rather small and finding a seat can be difficult. The waitresses were also slow in clearing the tables.

I will likely give this hotel a miss if I am heading back to Haikou next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Located at the heart of Haikou, Hainan, China

I booked the lowest category room and believed I got the most out of it due to the fantastic location of the hotel as it was behind Pearl Plaza.

This is great for my friends and I as we came back at 12am-1am from late night shopping at the famous night market (at Cai Long Chen). Took those trishaw rides ($5) back to Pearl Plaza and walked into the back to the hotel.


What I loved about it:
1) Located directly behind Pearl Plaza - Fantastic for shopping and eating, great to have KFC 24hr outlet at Pearl Plaza where anytime you can go down and grab a bite. Easy to travel out from hotel and back to hotel as you can tell the taxi driver to alight you at Pearl Plaza. Take a public bus down to the famous food street (bus stop called Cai Long Chen within 2-3 bus stops from pearl plaza) where also a night market that starts at approx 1030pm to 1am!

2) Beautifully lit up polished lobby for a small hotel

What I didn't like:
1) Breakfast was.... disappointing, enough said. Not much variety, food edible. Other than that, nothing else to comment

2) Room a little small as my friends and I (3 pax) were stayig in it. But with the well below market rate set by other hotels in the area, I have to say, it is very very affordable!

Room Tip: When booking, clarify the room size. For families, they may need a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johor bahru
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

take bus from airport to city terminal(about 1hr) and take a 15min walk. it is close to everthing room is good too(with city view), clean, new. breakfast is good. fruit is provided every day, and warm milk and biscuit is provided every evening. we always took a bus(3,4 stops) to nearby Qi Lou Xiao Shi Jie, for lunch/dinner. Plenty of food there and reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haikou, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Room has no heating, so in winter rooms can be cold.
Fridge in room can not cool below 16 centigrade (room was often below 15) and, despite numerous complaints to management nothing was done. note: Manufacturer states this fridge should cool to 5 to 8 degrees. Cold water from tap was colder than from fridge.
room had an over bath shower but there was no plug for bath, so showering is your only choice
Breakfast was a buffet only option with same choice every day. It was relatively expensive. No option for a proper Chinese breakfast. Poor for a hotel claiming to be top quality.
Chinese restaurant on 3rd floor was awful. Service was poor( My Chinese friend had to ask 4 times for menu), food was served cold and had to be returned to kitchen.
Good things were room makeup was quick and well done. Front desk staff prompt and polite.
Room was clean but bathroom showing signs of mould around bath.
Room generally noisey walls/ door allow a lot of noise to enter.
They really need to look at what their competition (less than 300m away offer - better standard, better service, fridges that work and all for less money.
Embaressing to invite my Chinese friends to my room or eat here.
This is first and last time I will stay here.
Very poor for a hotel from 2008.

Room Tip: If all rooms are like this then pick a different hotel. Eat elsewhere if you want variety and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel recently. We find it really hard to get non smoking rooms in Hainan, but this hotel reserved 3 non smoking rooms for us. The rooms are clean and newly renovated. Bathrooms are clean though a little small. As compared to another 5 star hotel in Haikou this is so much better. This is definitely a value for money hotel. Though the breakfast has a little less in varieties but it is sufficient. The location is good as it is situated to the shopping belt. We were told by our guide that there are very good electronic shops nearby.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Strangely, it did not took me too long to select this hotel as a better location was the main criterion for selecting a hotel when travelling. This was our first visit to Haikou with my parents, and I was thrilled to learn that the Hotel New Osroc has a two room suite in its top most floor, 19th floor. The other suite, 1902, has only one master bedroom and probably a larger sitting hall and dinner hall.

Upon arriving at the Haikou Meilan airport, we were shocked not to find an official taxi rank waiting for customers. Only touts were around offering rides from RMB 60-120 - luckily, I never took the bite as these are probably unlicensed cabs, didn't want to take risks esp. with parents who are in their 60's and 70's.

Then I remembered someone had commented on Tripadvisor that we should take a lift or escalator to the Arrivals Hall where cabs were letting off passengers (they wouldn't want to go back to the city empty handed). Luck was on our side and I finally found one, paying RMB 60 to the Hotel, plus another RMB 5 tip, for good service.

Check in a little slow and choatic as another Singaporean tour group was also checking in. Even though there were some 6-7 counter staff, they seemed quite helpless. But we were simply thrilled when we finally open the doors to one of only two suites on the 19th floor, room 1901.

The suite has a spacious master bedroom with its ensuite (with jacuzzi), big common siting hall and a small bedroom. All rooms were separated by doors, thus, ensuring total privacy. There was even a guest powder room in the Hall, as was the case with most Hotel suites. Altogether, there were 3 big flat screen Samsumg TVs in the suite, awesome!

As dad was very hungry after the flight, I called to the Chinese restaurant but no one had answered the call. Then I tried the Western one and was told that there is a wedding at the Hotel .... So ordered 2 set dinners at RMB77 total, good food and good value, too! Note - weddings are very common during weekends at this Hotel.

In order to get to the Mingzhu Guang Zhang, you would have to head straight towards the DC Centre, which is right in front of the Hotel's lobby. Then ask around about a 'short cut' to the Mingzhu where there is a huge supermarket at its basement. The other 6 or 7 storeys at the Mingzhu sell clothings, shoes, sportsware etc.

The breakfasts offered in the small Hotel restaurant was only of average quality, most of the local and Chinese fare. But items offered do change slightly the two mornings we were there. Space is a little hard to find even though we went down at 8am (started at 7am though) as the Hotel is popular with tour groups.

Basically, we had found Haikou to be quite a boring place. Other than the Wugong Che, Wan Luyuan and Impressions Hainan show, there is not much else to offer. I did not want to tire my parents out, hence, chose to stay two nights in Haikou first before taking a high speed train to Sanya for our last night (stayed at Le Parker Hotel) - great choice as we took a direct train from Sanya to Haikou Meilan airport the next day, very convenient indeed!

The Hotel New Osroc is indeed located in a much better area, say compared to my second choice hotel, the Meritus Mandarin (where we had a RMB 900+ dinner, great but expensive). There is nothing much in the vicinity of the Meritus and its lobby though huge and grand, was very dark and lack of atmosphere! In contrast, the Hotel New Osroc's common areas are much more brighter and hence, very impressive and welcoming.

If you are travelling with a family, do consider the Suite 1901, you won't regret it. At only RMB 1380, we thought it represents very good value for your money! Besides another suite on the 19th floor, there is also a mid-sized gym and huge outdoor terrace (no views) on the same floor. Only gripes of staying here - check in/out is slow, do allow at least 15-20 minutes, bed was rock hard (add comforter on top) and ask for a separate blanket and it was fine for a good night's sleep (very quiet!), no mirror in the smaller bedroom. Overall, a nice two nights stay in Haikou.

Room Tip: Pick suite 1901 if travelling with family, but do book early as there is only one such suite in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Osroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Osroc Hotel

Address: No.12 Haixiu Road, Longhua District, Haikou 570206, China
Location: China > Hainan > Haikou > Downtown , Longhua District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 556 Hotels in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your New Osroc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Osroc Hotel Haikou, Hainan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Osroc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.