We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Bad for us....typhoon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yintan Avenue, Yinhai District, Beihai 536000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Beihai
4.0 of 5 stars 49 Reviews
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too Bad for us....typhoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Well, actually this is a pretty good hotel for the money. If you are a five star person, go to the Shang! We got nailed with a typhoon and were lucky to get some beach time for half a day, who's sand is nice, water is turgid and unfortunately unsafe/prohibited to sea swimmers like me ! :-)

The downside was upon arrival late that evening, we were put into a garden view room with twin beds when I requested a king for my wife and after a bit of unfortunate pushing,I got upgraded to a floor which smelled as if it had been aired out and occupied, as opposed to the aforementioned two rooms and floors, which smelled dusty. Their second room attempt had some giant air con system on the balcony.....sigh

I would come back as it is quiet, the staff are friendly, the hotel is clean and the beach is very nice

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012. Hotel is not in downtown area and also some distance from Beihai port. But a short walk across the road to a nice sandy beach. Beds were traditional Chinese style quite hard. The cabled internet in the room worked wonderfully well and very fast. Lots of activities available within the hotel. Very little English at Reception which makes it difficult but they try hard. Had some logistics issues and found a hotel manager whose English was good and did an excellent job to sort completely - impressed. Used my Visa card without any issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhanjiang, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The hotel is not located in downtown, but it is just opposite to Yintan (Silver Beach). If you want to go to Yintan, this hotel is convenient for you.

We stayed in a Grand Double Room with Sea View, which is nice! The whole color, facilities and decoration are very good, but it is just a little bit expensive. There is a computer set in the room, but the internet speed is too low. You can't open more than one website, otherwise the whole screen would be frozen.

It was my first to order room service/food all of my experience of staying in hotels so far. The service was good! They have free outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre.

Parking costs 10 RMB per night if you are a guest and 20 RMB for non-guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This hotel is big, clean, ,pleasant and directly opposite the most beautiful beach in China. Unfortunately the check-in staff seem incapable of understading international credit cards and no-one that I met there understood English.

Every day I was told that my card payment had been refused and I must pay again. I checked with VISA and I had paid 4 times in all ! I spent many hours making international calls to VISA and arguing with incompetent counter staff and management. This experience ruined what should have been a pleasant stay.

I advise pay in cash. (There is an ATM outside the lobby.)

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Yintan Avenue, Yinhai District, Beihai 536000, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Beihai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Beihai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.