We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short biz trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Zhuzilin, Shennan Avenue, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China (Zhuzilin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 2,132 Hotels in Shenzhen
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good for a short biz trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good location, so so rooms but clean, easily accessible via subway, and quite central to business areas. Staff are nice and accommodating but the room air conditioning, oh my, just dunno what to do with it. Had to call engineering dept to come help me with the aircon.

I come to Shenzhen often and I'd perhaps return to Novotel bauhinia hotel to Venice hotel more than the grand mercure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureGM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about your stay in our hotel. I am glad to read that you were overall satisfied with our services, at the same time I am very sorry for your experience with the air-conditioning. Please rest assured that I will forward your comments to our engineering team to adress the problem and to avoid any future occurrence.
Thank you very much again and
Best regards,
Adam Hipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    254
    97
    30
    13
See reviews for
42
46
39
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel with the nice viev on a Deep Bay and Hong Kong. Close to Business and Industrial part o Shenzhen with the meaning of the 16 milion citizensTown. Very good Services and hospitality, breakfast with hundrets choices. Complicated use of a Airconditioning at the room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureGM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Indeed, our average room size is very generous and it is very convenient to discover the city from where we are. We are also very close to Nanshan High Tech Park, which is the home of business life in Shenzhen.
Thank you very much with your comments, I will be very happy to share them with the Team.
Kind regards,
Adam Hipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel in November 2013 for business. The rooms were well appointed and I had fantastic views of Shenzhen due to being really high up. The only negative I experienced was the absolute chaos at breakfasts, as the whole area seems a little small given the size of the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureGM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment on your recent stay in our Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza Shenzhen! I am pleased to read that you were overall happy with our hotel. At the same time I am very sorry about the breakfast experience. Please be informed that we have enlarged our breakfast area, there is now indeed more space available for diners.
Thank you very much again and I trust we can welcome you back soon!
Best regards,
Adam Hipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunks, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Is the second time I stay at Mercure hotel this year and visibly can see the falling on service.
especially at the the reception and the lounge, were you see people running around in panic ,looking like they do not know what is going on. I am not asking for a smiling faces, but at least a polite posture.
You can feel there is lack of management, my previous time was not outstanding but acceptable,no more now.
Moreover there is one thing bother me, my friend from hong kong that joined me at the lounge, told me about the hotel manager, something like he make his wife dance half-naked in front of the company leaders for their enjoyment and consensus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureGM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for your time to post your review about your recent stay in our hotel. I am very sorry that the service at the Front Desk and in the Lounge did not meet your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies. Please be assured that we have already taken the necessary corrective actions and have strengthen our management presence in these areas.
Similarly, I am truly disappointed to read about the rumor you heard from your friend. My wife - being a professional dance instructor - did train our hotel's management team to perform on the Chinese New Year gala of the hotel and it's owning company. I am very sorry for the misinterpretation of some of our team members, I can fully assure you that the rumor is groundless. Should you need any further assurance, please feel free to contact me directly at gm@grandmercureshenzhen.com
Thank you again for raising your concerns and I trust you will give us another try to serve you better in the near future.
Best regards,
Adam Hipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Overall our stay here was good.
We stayed in a room on one of the executive floors and those had access to the executive lounge for breakfast and happy hour. Good choices for breakfast and the food at happy hour certainly provides enough variety for a meal in the evening. Good coffee available - great double espresso shots.

On the downside, the rooms are looking a little tired, with the shower being over the bath rather than a separate shower. The bed was incredibly hard and while the room was quiet, it made for restless nights.

Located quite well - close to train stations, and close to the freeway from the airport.

The hotel concierge offered to organise transport to HK airport - 1800 RMB for private car (reduced to 1200 RMB), or a bus for 200 RMB each. WE decided to take the bus option which turned out to be 7 seater cars - the first one takes you to a shopping centre where you wait up to 30 mins for another 7 seater car to pick you up along with enough other people to fill the car.
Then getting through the border at Shenzhen Bay can take a while - took us about an hour to get through here so allow plenty of time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureGM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you very much for your kind review, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza. Your comment on the bed is also well noted, allow me please to suggest you to request a mattress topper when next staying with us, I am sure that it will make our bed much more comfortable for you.
Thank you very much again and best regards,
Adam Hipp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza

Address: West Zhuzilin, Shennan Avenue, Futian District, Shenzhen 518040, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Zhuzilin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shenzhen
#27 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#48 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#68 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza is located in the Futian business district, next to Zhuzlin metro station and only 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel features 481 rooms with a choice of bay or mountain views, 3 restaurants, 4 bars, a nightclub, fitnesscentre, sauna and indoor heated swimming pool. The port of Huanggang and the Shenzhen Convention and Exhibition Centre are only 15 minutes away. Conference and meeting facilites are also available for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Oriental Ginza Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen
Grand Accor Oriental Ginza Shenzhen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Shenzhen Oriental Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.