We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Shenzhen business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haide Third Road, Houhaibin Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China (Shenzhen Bay Port)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 2,143 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great choice for Shenzhen business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Grand and beautiful lobby, and check-in was easy. The rooms are comfortable, nicely designed. Biggest challenge to me is that Wi-fi is come and go, and even with the ethernet cable, internet access was spotty. Nice lunch buffet on 2nd floor. Expensive mini-bar, and not enough plugs in the room, but a reasonable fitness center. Great shuttle service available from hotel to HKG, for only 200 RMB, great deal. All in all, one of the better experiences I've had in Shenzhen.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your nice review of our hotel. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently yet we are naturally concerned the area where we need to further improve. It is certainly beneficial to receive such constructive comments and we can assure you we shall continuously endeavour to improve our services commensurate with a Kempinski Hotel.

Dear Valued Guest, we are delightful to notify you that we have just completed our internet upgrade. So hopefully when you stay with us next time you will enjoy a stable and speedy Wi-Fi and LAN internet service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen again in the near future.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    298
    51
    15
    1
See reviews for
2
10
21
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Reviewed 10/14/2013

An excellent hotel with a very attentive front-office staff, concierge team, and club floor staff, all exceeding my expectations.

I am a regular customer at the Kempinski hotel with loyalty program status. The benefits of GHA Black level are amazing. Personalized check-in where their staff recognize my personal preferences exceeds expectation. I'm able to leave my personal computer and Wi-Fi equipment at the hotel between visits and they will have it set-up and connected waiting for me when I return on business.

My most recent visit was for 15 days during a business trip in Sept/2013. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with a beautiful view of the city from the higher floors. All staff at GHA Black level, from check-in, to housekeeping, room service, and food service were polite and prompt and are able to anticipate your needs. I can’t say enough about the level of service they continue to provide to me when I visit.

The Kempinski is centrally located with a shopping center (5 floors) next door and numerous restaurants within walking distance. The hotel and surrounding area feel safe. I would definitely recommend this property as an excellent choice for business travel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear TomKingJr,

It was indeed our great pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen and we thank you for choosing the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen as your preferred choice of accommodation in this vibrant city.

We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing with us your very positive reviews which shall motive us to improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

If I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me via lynn.xiao@kempinski.com at any time of your convenience.

Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

With many thanks and best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel has a beautiful lobby and helpful staff. Room was good but not to a 5 star rating. My Engineer staying there went to the dinner buffet and was shocked to find out a $70 dinner bill and a $10 coke charge from the hotel bar added to the room cost. Breakfast buffet was included and had a wide variety of food. Service was fair and had to request refills on the coffee to get any. Hotel is located next to a large open air mall and the subway which is very helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Inspec180,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen.

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your time to share with us your valued comments and suggestions which are truly appreciated.

Naturally, we are sincerely pleased that you were content with our services and wish to express that we shall endeavor to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations. Just as you mentioned, there are always space to improve from good to better!

Dear Inspec180, once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen in the near future.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I arrived the hotel very late at night. The first thing i noticed was people were smoking at the lobby which totally ruined the beatifully-decorated lobby. They didn't have enough staff at the front desk; i waited for close to 15 mins before someone was available to help me and he wasn't exactly welcoming either. I had a suite. The room was huge with two washrooms, a walk-in closet. However, the room wasn't well-maintained. The furniture and toiletery felt cheap to me. The breakfast didn't have enough international choices. This hotel isn't as international as the chain advertises.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear moumou199,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen.

Thank you for taking your precious time to share with us your kind feedback. It is certainly beneficial to receive your constructive comments and we shall continuously endeavour to improve our services commensurate with a Kempinski Hotel.

Dear moumou199, once again our sincere apologies for the inconvenience during your recent stay and if we can be of any assistance, in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me via lynn.xiao@kempinski.com at any time of your convenience.

With many thanks and best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Located next to a large mall and a metro station, this hotel is central to much of Shenzhen and the border crossing at Shenzhen bay. Staff is great, a mix of Europeans and locals. The housekeeping staff earned a special place in my heart as they were friendly and attentive.

The exec. lounge is under used, but quite nice, and the breakfast was all you could ask for.

No complaints from me!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear WorldTraveller550,

Thank you very much for staying with Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen. It is our great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your positive comments regarding our good location, friendly staff and breakfast, shall be a great motivation to encourage us for further improvement.

Dear World Traveller550, if I could be any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me via: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com

Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards,
Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've added the chance for 5 months in Shenzhen and took this opportunity to stay in a suite at the Kempinski. Central and perfect to discover the city and so close from the direct bus to Hong-Kong when you want to escape from the Big City!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Ben_Bailly,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Shenzhen. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. Your nice comments and kind encouragement shall be our great motivation to continuously improve towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

Mr.Ben_Bailly, if I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me via my email: lynn.xiao@kempinski.com .

Once again, many thanks for your valued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed there from 23 to 28 October and enjoyed the stay throughout. The staff were attentive and went out of their way to assist us with directions to various places. They even accommodated our request to print our airline boarding pass at their Business Centre for 10 RMB. The hotel is strategically located beside the Haikou MRT. Transportation is cheap and convenient. The Coastal City Mall is also beside the hotel, within walking distance. There are lots of food choices there, although if you are looking for something that is authentic you may have to travel out of the Nanshan District.

If you have time, catch the latest performance at the Shenzhen Poly Theatre. We managed to catch the Taiwanese rock duo Power Station performing there, so that was an added bonus to our trip!

Be prepared to travel with RMB in hand, as the queue in the bank to change your currency can take up to 2 hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynnXiao, Public Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sigemuk,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Hotel during your recent visit to Shenzhen.

We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review to share with us your valued comments. It is with great pleasure to know that you were content with our services and we wish to express that we shall endeavour to continuously make further progress.

Dear Sigemuk, if I could be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me via: lynn.xiao@kempnski.com. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen.

Best regards,

Lynn Xiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen

Address: Haide Third Road, Houhaibin Road, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518054, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen Bay Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#13 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#19 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#83 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen is located in Nanshan District. The hotel has convenient accessibility to the Shenzhen Bay Bridge providing immediate access to Hong Kong. The hotel design was inspired by a well-known poem by Southern Song Dynasty poet Xin Qiji. To be one of the city’s leading luxury hotels, the Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen comprises of 390 super-king comfort bed guestrooms featuring flat screen TV and in-bath television in all suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shenzhen Kempinski Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Shenzhen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.